مرض الزهايمر والخرف: البدء في مسار روحاني جديد

مرض الزهايمر والخرف: البدء في المسار الروحي
تصوير: بيدرو ألفيس. (CC BY 2.0)

بعضنا يعيش حياة مزدحمة وسريعة الإيقاع ، مزدحمة ، بوتيرة متقدة إلى الأمام. بعضنا يقود حياة مركزة بشكل مقصود ، مليئة بالعزلة والبراغماتية. بعضنا يعيش حياة الخدمة ، سواء كان ذلك في وظيفة أو عقيدة ، أو لشركائنا ، أو لأطفالنا ، أو لأفراد العائلة الآخرين. البعض منا يعيش حياة منفصلة عن مثل هذه الشبكات ، على خيطنا الخاص ، ومستقل وغير متأثر بتلك المعايير.

مهما كانت الحياة ، فإن مرض الزهايمر يغيرها. يبطئ بعض الأشياء لأسفل. إنه يغير قدرة المرء على التركيز. يتحول استعراض الحياة في التلخيص الحشوي. نحن لا نقوم فقط بمراجعة حياتنا في أفكارنا ، حيث يقوم دماغنا وجسمنا بمراجعة كل خطوة تنموية قمنا بها في حياتنا وسفكها جسديا. لكن في نفس الوقت ، بغض النظر عمن كان الشخص ، هناك جوهر يبقى.

مرض الزهايمر: بداية في طريق روحية جديدة؟

من نواح عديدة ، فإن التحول الضروري الذي يواجهه الشخص المصاب بمرض الزهايمر يشبه التحول إلى مسار روحي جديد. سوف تجعل الحاجة الوجودية الأساسية للعثور على إجابات بعض الأفراد يختارون بوعي الانضمام إلى مجموعة دينية أو أمر للعثور على هذه الإجابات. قد يعرض بعض الأفراد الذين يعانون من عملية الخرف أوجه تشابه قوية مع الأفراد الذين يختارون عن وعي مسار التأمل القائم على المعتقدات ويدخلون الدير أو الدير المنعزل. لديهم تجربة مماثلة ، على الرغم من أن السببية مختلفة جدا.

النظر في نطاق التغيير المطلوب للقيام بذلك. كنت تضع ممتلكاتك الدنيوية والعمل بجد لفترة من الوقت على المهام الدنيوية متعددة. يأخذك التزامك الروحي بعيدًا عن العائلة والأصدقاء الذين تحب قضاء بعض الوقت معهم ، إلى مركز التأمل وإلى شركة النظام الروحي.

وبمجرد الوصول إلى هناك ، يجب عليك البقاء لساعات طويلة في وقت واحد في التأمل ، والانتقال إلى أعماق ذكريات الماضي - الفرز ، والتسامح ، والترك في سياق هذه الحياة ، حتى تشعر تمامًا بالسلام والسلام. . أنت تستغني عن كل الأذهان والانتقال إلى مساحات في التأمل الذي لا يمكنك التعبير عنه للآخرين - الأماكن التي تجعلك تشعر بأنك متصل بالهيبة التي تصفها بأنها لا تهم. كما نعلم ، هناك أفراد يقدمون هذا النوع من الالتزام. وهو أقل شيوعًا في العصر الحالي ، لكنه لا يزال يحدث في أماكن مختلفة حول العالم.

"بعد أن كانت غاضبة من والدتي غاضبة ، سألها عامل مسكن:" أراك غاضبًا ، وأتساءل لماذا؟ " قالت ، "أنا أقيم محادثة مع الله ، والناس يواصلون المقاطعة." (يد على عجلة التظاهر). '' وكأنني أقود مع أربعة ركاب في السيارة ، وأنا أحاول التحدث إلى الشخص في المقعد الأمامي ، ويواصل الشخصان في المقعد الخلفي الحديث حولنا '. "- ليندا ، ابنة

أريدك الآن أن تتخيل أنك كنت شيخًا مصابًا بالخرف وأنك كنت متشوقًا لتتبع مسارًا روحيًا ، لكن حياتك أخذت منعطفات أخرى وتطلبت مهامًا أخرى. في حين أن جميع هؤلاء يشعرون بأنهم جيدون وعاديون للغاية ، إلا أنك ما زلت بحاجة إلى هذه الفرصة لتشعر بالكمال. بالنسبة لبعض الناس ، قد يسمح صمت الخرف بذلك.

لقد عملت مع أفراد يعانون من الخرف الذين شعروا بأنهم انتقلوا إلى مكان عميق داخلهم ويعملون على مستوى آخر في أنفسهم بدون الدنيوي ، الثرثرة. هم ، في جوهرها ، "منعزلة" من تجربة الخرف.

الخرف: الطريق إلى الصفاء؟

يبدأ الكثير من كبار السن الذين يعانون من فقدان الذاكرة ، والذين ينتقلون إلى هذه المرحلة الروحية ، بالاستراتيجيات المعتادة للحرمان والإنكار. في وقت لاحق ، حول المرحلة الوسطى ، يتغير هذا الشخص ويظهر الشخص بهدوء هادئ.

الأمراض الناتجة عن القلق تذوب بعيدا. توقف الدواء عن هذه الأمراض. لم يعد الشخص يعاني من الربو وارتفاع ضغط الدم واضطرابات الجهاز الهضمي التي كانت مادية جداً وموثقة إكلينيكياً - بدون الضغط العاطفي الناجم عن أساليب المواجهة السابقة ، مثل هذه المشاكل تختفي. إنهم يدخلون الحاضر بشكل كامل بحيث أن العناص والمخاوف التي ابتليت بهم لم يعد لها يد.

يبدأ نوع من الامتنان اللطيف بالظهور ، إلى جانب التقدير للآخرين في التفاعلات اليومية. تختفي التجاعيد ، ويبدو أن الشيخوخة تنحسر - الصفة الشبابية التي تنقل وجود جانب خلوي من هذا الشخص. من المعروف أنها تبتسم بإصرار. يظل وجهه ، الذي يجلس بمفرده ، يعكس هذا الأساس من التناغم. عندما يتفاعل شخص ما معهم ، تتوسع الابتسامة.

سيعلق أفراد العائلة أن هذا هو أسعد ما رأوه على الإطلاق. أو أن والدهم إيجابي للغاية ويريد فقط أن يعانقهم أو يمسك أيديهم.

الأزواج في بعض الأحيان تجربة هذا أيضا ، ولكن يميل إلى أن يكون أكثر صعوبة لزوج. هذا بسبب كل العمل الشخصي الذي يتعين عليهم القيام به لاستيعاب ما هو مختلف في واقعهم وتوقعاتهم وخسائرهم الخاصة. في بعض الأحيان ، أرى الأزواج يرتكبون هذه القفزة ويستمتعون بالوقت الذي يقضونه مع هذا الشخص ، ويشعرون بالهدوء ويسمحوا له بالمرور.

الذين يعيشون في العوالم اثنين

عاش مسن في مؤسستنا لمدة ست سنوات. أرادت في البداية أن تغادر وكانت مقتنعة بالطريق السريع إلى منزلها وكان الزوج على حق هناك وأنها بحاجة إلى مغادرة الآن. وقد أضرت سكتة دماغية بذاكرتها لكن شفاءها الجسدي كان على ما يرام ، وكانت نشطة وقادرة بقدراتها اليومية على ارتداء الملابس ، واستخدام الحمام ، والاستحمام ، وما إلى ذلك.

كانت قد فقدت عن 10 سنوات من الزمن ، وخلال ذلك العقد توفي زوجها. لقد عملنا لمساعدتها على التكيف والحصول على منافذ لطاقتها والتحقق من مشاعرها فيما يتعلق بالتغييرات. عاشت على الساحل الشرقي ولم تستطع دمج حقيقة أنها تعيش الآن في غرب الولايات المتحدة ولم يعد زوجها على قيد الحياة.

ببطء ، انتقلت إلى الحاجة إلى المزيد من المساعدة ، والتي بدأت في تقديرها. لقد بدأنا نرى هذه الابتسامة المستمرة. وهي تميل إلى البحث عن الكثير ، وهناك بعض المسائل المتعلقة بالإدراك البصري التي نعمل معها لمساعدتها على المشي أو تناول الطعام ، لكنها سلمية بشكل لا يصدق.

يزور ابنها وشريكه غالبًا ويقضيان وقتًا معها للاستمتاع بوقتهم معًا. وهم يدركون تمام الإدراك أنها تنتقل إلى مرحلة لاحقة وتعلم أن الأمور سوف تستمر في التغير وأن هناك بعض التحديات الصعبة التي تنتظرنا. لكنهم أيضاً مدركون للجودة الروحية التي تنبثق عنها في هذه المرحلة. إنها مثل ملاك متوهج يستريح في واقعنا. لم تكن قد انتقلت بعد ، ولكن هناك شيء عنها يشعر وكأنه يرافقها بالكامل في هذا الجانب. عندما يحين الوقت ، سيكون هناك إطلاق للجسم ولكن روحها تعيش بالفعل في كلا المكانين. نحصل على هدية من هذا المجال الزائر لنا من خلالها.

"يقال أن كارل جونغ ربما يعتبر الزيادة في الخرف والتوحد كوظيفة تعويضية - تحقيق التوازن بين أقصى ما وجدنا أنفسنا فيه ، في تركيزنا على التفكير الخطي. يتم تخفيف العقل بطريقة تسمح للكليات الأخرى بالظهور. "- إلين ، مدير حالة الشيخوخة

ترجمات عن طريق إضافة InnerSelf

© 2015 by Megan Carnarius. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
Findhorn الصحافة. www.findhornpress.com.

المادة المصدر

نظرة أعمق على مرض الزهايمر وغيرها من الخرف: أدوات عملية مع رؤى روحية من ميغان Carnarius.نظرة أعمق على مرض الزهايمر وغيرها من الخرف: أدوات عملية مع رؤى روحية
من ميغان كارناريوس.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

ميغان كارناريوسميغان كارناريوس هي ممرضة مسجلة (RN) ، ومسئولة دار رعاية مرخص (NHA) ، ومعالج تدليك مرخص (LMT). تمكنت ميغان من الإعداد الأول للتمريض في مجال العناية الماهرة بالذاكرة في مقاطعة بولدر ، وذلك لسنوات 6-1 / 2. عملت في لجنة التعليم لمرض ألزهايمر لسنوات 15 ، وتواصل تقديم دورات تدريبية ومحاضرات حول جميع الموضوعات المتعلقة برعاية الذاكرة. وهي المديرة التنفيذية لقرية بلفور تشيريوود ، وهي رعاية آمنة للذاكرة ، ومساكن معيشة بمساعدة شيوخ 52 التي توفر أيضًا رعاية نهارية للبالغين للمشاركين من المجتمع المحيط. وتواصل تقديم التدريب على طرق التدليك والروائح لمقدمي الرعاية للاستفادة من رعايتهم للأفراد المصابين بالخرف.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Alzheimer’s and Dementia: Initiation Into A New Spiritual Path

Alzheimer’s and Dementia: Initiation Into A Spiritual Path
Photo Credit: Pedro Alves. (CC BY 2.0)

Some of us lead frenetic, fast-paced, busy lives, at a pace that is full steam ahead. Some of us lead purposely focused lives, filled with solitude and pragmatism. Some of us lead a life of service, whether it be to a job or a faith, our partners, our children, or other family members. Some of us lead lives disconnected from such webs, on our own thread, independent and not influenced by those norms.

Whatever life has been, Alzheimer’s changes it. It slows certain things down. It changes one’s ability to focus. It turns life review into a visceral recapitulation. We are not just reviewing our life in our thoughts, our brain and body are reviewing each developmental step we made in our life and physically shedding it. Yet at the same time, whoever the person has been, there is an essence that remains.

Alzheimer's: An Initiation Into A New Spiritual Path?

In many ways, the necessary transformation that a person with Alzheimer’s under­goes is akin to being initiated into a new spiritual path. The basic existential need to find answers will cause some individuals to consciously choose to join a religious group or order to find those answers. Some individuals experiencing the dementia process may display strong similarities to individuals who consciously choose a faith-based contemplative path and enter a cloistered monastery or convent. They are having a similar experience, although the causation is very different.

Consider the scope of change required to do that. You lay down your worldly posses­sions and work really hard for a period of time on multiple mundane tasks. Your spiritual commitment takes you away from family and friends with whom you love to spend time, to a meditation center and into the company of the spiritual order.

Once there, you have to stay really still for hours at a time in meditation, moving deep into the recollections of the past—sorting, forgiving, and letting go within the context of this present life, so that you feel completely resolved and at peace. You dispense with all mind-chatter and move into spaces in your meditation that you cannot articulate to others—places that make you feel so connected to the Divine that describing it doesn’t matter. As we know, there are individuals who make this kind of commitment. It is less common in the current era, but it does still occur at different places around the world.

“After one of my mother’s angry rants, a hospice worker asked her, ‘I see you are angry, and I wonder why?’ She said, ‘I am having a conversation with God, and people keep interrupting.’  (Hands on a pretend wheel.) ‘It’s like I am driving along with four passengers in the car, and I’m trying to talk to the person in the front seat, and the two people in the backseat keep talking over us.’”  — Linda, Daughter

I want you now to imagine that you are an elder with demen­tia and have had a longing to follow a spiritual path, but your life took other turns and required other tasks. While these all felt very good and normal to you, you still need this opportunity to feel complete. For some people, the silence of dementia may allow this.

I have worked with individuals with dementia who have felt that they have moved into a deep place within and are working at another level in themselves without the mundane, the chatter. They are, in essence, “cloistered” by the experience of dementia.

Dementia: A Path to Serenity?

Many elders with memory loss who move into this spiritual phase begin with the usual vigorous denial and ego-engaging will strategies. Later, around Middle Stage, that changes and the person appears blissfully serene.

Illnesses resulting from anxiety melt away. Medication ceases for these maladies. The person no longer suffers from asthma, high blood pressure, and digestive disorders that were very physical and clinically documented—without the emotional stress triggered by their earlier coping methods, such problems disappear. They enter the present so fully that the cares and concerns that plagued them no longer have a handhold.

A kind of gentle gratitude starts to manifest, along with appreciation for others in daily interactions. Wrinkles disappear, and aging seems to recede—the youthful countenance conveying the presence of a timeless aspect of this person. They are known to smile insistently. Sitting on their own, their face still re­flects this baseline of harmony. When someone interacts with them, the smile broadens.

Family members will comment that this is the happiest they have ever seen their mother. Or that their father is so positive and just wants to hug them or hold their hand.

Spouses sometimes experience this as well, but it tends to be a bit harder for a spouse. That’s because of all the personal work they have to do to assimilate what is different in their own reality and their own expectations and losses. At times, though, I see spouses make that leap and enjoy the time they spend with this person, feeling their peacefulness and letting it soak in.

Living In Two Realms

An elder in my facility has lived with us for six years. She initially wanted to leave and was convinced the highway to her home and spouse was right out there and that she needed to leave right now. A stroke had damaged her memory but her physical recovery went well, and she was active and capable with her daily abilities to dress, use the bathroom, shower, and so on.

She had lost about 10 years of time, and during that decade her husband had died. We have worked to help her adjust and have outlets for her energy and to validate her emotions regarding the changes. She had lived on the East Coast and could not integrate the fact that she now lives in the western United States and her spouse was no longer alive.

Slowly, she has transitioned to needing more assistance, which she has started appreciating. We have begun seeing this constant smile. She tends to look up a lot, and there are some visual per­ception issues that we work with to help her walk or eat, but she is incredibly peaceful.

Her son and his partner visit often and spend time with her, enjoying their time together. They are mindful that she is moving into a later stage and know that things will continue to change and that there may be some hard challenges ahead. But they are also aware of the spiritual quality that she emanates at this point. She is like a glowing angel resting in our reality. She has not made her transition yet, but there is something about her that feels as if she is fully accompanied on this side. When the time comes, there will be a release of the body but her spirit already lives in both places. We get the gift of that realm visiting us through her.

“It is said that Carl Jung would possibly regard the increase in dementia and autism as a compensatory function — balancing out the extreme we’ve found ourselves in, in our emphasis on linear thinking. The mind is loosening in a way that allows other faculties to manifest.” — Ellen, Geriatric Case Manager

Subtitles by added InnerSelf

©2015 by Megan Carnarius. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Findhorn Press. www.findhornpress.com.

Article Source

A Deeper Perspective on Alzheimer's and other Dementias: Practical Tools with Spiritual Insights by Megan Carnarius.A Deeper Perspective on Alzheimer's and other Dementias: Practical Tools with Spiritual Insights
by Megan Carnarius.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Author

Megan CarnariusMegan Carnarius is a registered nurse (RN), a licensed nursing home administrator (NHA), and a licensed massage therapist (LMT). Megan managed the first skilled memory care nursing setting in Boulder County, for 6-1/2 years. She served on the Alzheimer’s education committee for 15 years, and continues to provide trainings and lectures on all topics related to memory care. She is the executive director for Balfour Cherrywood Village, a secure memory care, assisted living residence for 52 elders that also provides adult daycare to participants from the surrounding community. She continues to provide training in massage and aromatherapy approaches for caregivers to draw upon in their care of individuals with dementia.