توسيع حدود وجهة نظرنا القياسية

توسيع حدود وجهة نظرنا القياسية

مع نمو الأطفال في العالم الحديث ، نتعلم من خلال دراستنا وخبرات التنشئة الاجتماعية لتقدير التقنيات الملموسة لجمع المعلومات ومعالجتها. نحن نتعلم كيفية التحليل والتصنيف والاستدلال بدلاً من الاستدلال. إننا نحثّنا على قبول الاتفاق الشامل والموافق حول طبيعة الواقع على أنه شيء يشبه "ما تراه هو ما تحصل عليه": أن العالم هو عالم ملموس ، أكثر وصفًا وفهماً مفيدًا من حيث الثنائية. هذا أو ذاك ، ونادرًا في الوقت نفسه.

عندما نواجه بشيء يزعجنا أو نربكنا ، فإننا نميل إلى عزو افتقارنا إلى الفهم لعدم وجود ما يكفي من الحقائق أو الأدلة ، أو نحيله إلى كومة خردة للطبيعة. هذه هي طرق التوضيح المتاحة لنا داخل حاوية وجهة نظرنا القياسية.

ما نعتبره خارقًا هو ما ينجو من حدود نظرتنا للعالم ، أي ما يتجاوز حدود خرائطنا حقيقي العالمية. لا تظهر هذه الخرائط مكانًا لجهة غير معروفة. يبدو الأمر كما لو أننا نعيش على خريطة لعالم مسطح ، وإذا ذهبنا بعيداً ، فسوف نقع على الحافة في مياه مجهولة وخطيرة.

في الثقافة الغربية نميل إلى الخصم والتنازل عما هو غامض أو متناقض. فالفنانون والشعراء وعلماء اللاهوت والفلاسفة بيننا هم الأكثر قبولا من المجتمع لتعبيرهم عن العالم بخلاف المصطلحات الميكانيكية والعقلانية.

توسيع نظرتنا للعالم

الجميع مدعومون من خلال نظرته إلى العالم ، والجميع مرتبطون به. فمن ناحية ، يجعل هذا المرشح الإدراكي من الممكن لنا أن نعيش وأن نتصرف بطريقة أكثر توافقاً متماسكة وتوافقية مع سائر البشر في ضواحينا المحلية. في حدود البارامترات ، يمكننا العيش معاً في اتفاق عام حول طبيعة الواقع. ومع ذلك ، فإن الثمن الذي ندفعه لهذا الاتفاق العام هو أننا ننسى أن نظرتنا للعالم ، على الرغم من قدرتها على اختراق أعمق تجليات وعينا ، ليست الحقيقة الوحيدة ولا الحقيقة الكاملة للواقع.

لتوسيع رؤيتنا للعالم ، يمكننا أن نأخذ هذه الخريطة ثنائية الأبعاد مسطحة ، وننقلها إلى كرة ، مثل شكل الأرض والشمس والقمر وعجلة الفصول. يمكننا أن نضمّن الغموض وعدم نفيه إلى العالم السفلي. لا توجد هاوية يمكن أن تضيع في ميؤوس منها ؛ هناك فقط الكل ، حيث كل شيء يحتفظ بالمركز ويعود ما يدور حوله ، مراراً وتكراراً. يمكن لهذا التحول في المنظور أن يحول الطبيعة الخارقة إلى شيء متعدد الأبعاد ، حيث يصبح الغموض سهلًا ، ولكن ليس على حساب الرعب والعجب.

في إحدى الأمسيات على العشاء في مطعم ، استمتعنا بمحادثة متحركة مع الأصدقاء كما وصفنا بعض أبحاثنا واستكشافاتنا حول الطقس. عندما توقفت النادلة لإعادة ملء كأس النبيذ لدينا ، سألها صديقها ستيف إذا كان لديها أي اهتمام بالطقس - وإذا كانت قد حاولت التأثير على الطقس. توقفت ثم أجبت ، "ربما". بعد وقت قصير من عودتها بوجباتنا ، لوحت بذراعها بشكل كبير نحو النافذة الكبيرة وقالت: "دع المطر يكون هناك!" ضحكنا وذهبت لتناول العشاء.

بعد عشر دقائق نظرنا إلى النافذة ورأينا المطر يسقط! على الفور أشرنا إلى نادلة لدينا ، الذي بدا كما فوجئت. دش المطر كان لطيف وانتهى الوقت الذي خرجنا من المطعم.

ماذا حدث هنا؟ حتى عندما سألنا هذا السؤال ، أدركنا أنه لا يمكن أن يكون هناك إجابة مطلقة ، أن الغلبة ستسود. يحمل الحادث رحابة من الغموض يمكن أن تستوعب أكثر من نظرتنا العادية للعالم. يمكن أن ننظر إلى هذا كمصادفة مثيرة للاهتمام ، أو يمكن أن ننظر إلى هذه اللحظة من منظور آخر ، نموذج آخر للواقع ، ونجد إمكانية تدريس من أرواح الطقس: هذا الطقس يسمع ويستجيب لنا ، وهذا الطقس على قيد الحياة والتواصل معنا ، على الرغم من أننا قد نعتزم أو لا ننوي ذلك.

New Worldview: نحن جميعا ذات الصلة

نحن نؤثر على العالم بأسره ، بما في ذلك الطقس ، من خلال علاقتنا به بطرق لا تعد ولا تحصى ، على الأرجح من خلال ما نفعله بما لا نفعله. عندما نلتزم بشكل صارم بنظرة عالمية معينة ، عندما نكون غير راغبين أو غير قادرين على تغيير وجهة نظرنا ، يمكننا أن نمارس تأثيرًا غير مرغوب فيه على العالم الخارجي بما يتجاوز نوايانا الفردية ، سواء أكان ذلك ذا معنى جيدًا أو غير ذلك.

ماذا لو نظرنا إلى عناصر الطقس بنظرة عالمية أخبرتنا أننا مرتبطون؟ يحيط شعب يامانا في منطقة الأمازون علما بالطقس الخاص الذي يصاحب ولادة طفل. في نظرتهم للعالم ، قد يكون للفرد المولود خلال الطقس "الجيد" علاقة خاصة بهذا النوع من الطقس - جرعة إضافية من الارتباط - وسيطلب في بعض الأحيان أن يستأنف "أرواح الطقس الجيدة" نيابة عن تواصل اجتماعي. إن أولئك الذين يولدون في ظروف مناخية "سيئة" يُراقبون بعناية عن نوبات من السلوك غير المنضبط ، حيث أن مثل هذا السلوك قد يستدعي ظروف الطقس "السيئة". [من يقظة المجاعة: علم المناخ الديني للهنود Warao بقلـم جوهان ويلبرت

Tamra Andrews يكتب في أساطير الأرض والبحر والسماء:

نحن نأخذ قوة الطبيعة كأمر مسلم به. نحن نرى شروق الشمس ونسميها العلم. شهد القدماء نفس شروق الشمس ووصفوه بأنه معجزة. لقد فقدنا الاتصال بالمعجزات. لم نعد نتعرف على المقدس. كان للقدماء علاقة حميمة مع السماء. كانوا يعيشون بالقرب من الأرض واحترموها ، لأنهم تعلموا أنه في ضوء الاحترام الواجب ، فإن الأرض تلبي احتياجاتهم.

نظرتنا السلفية لا تضيع

يمكن أن تظهر لنا رؤيتنا للعالم السلفي في الشوق لمزيد من التجارب الشخصية للمقدس. ربما سمعنا مرة أغنية في الريح ونستمع إلى أغنية أخرى. إن قوة عاصفة ثلجية لتهدئة أفعال المدينة أو شدة البرق والرعد الغالبة قد تتحدث إلى أماكن في أرواحنا حيث نتوق إلى نفس منعش من الفوضى ، وحيث تنشط وحشية الطبيعة قلوبنا. يمكن أن تكون متنزهات المدينة أماكننا المفضلة للزيارة ، حيث نجد الحيوانات لمراقبة والأشجار على المشي أو الجلوس تحت.

في كل نوع من الخلفية الثقافية ، نشأت تقاليدنا من تلك التي عرفنا فيها وأكرمنا قرابتنا مع كائنات جميع ميادين الأرض ، الطقس ، الخلق. لم نرى أنفسنا بصرف النظر عن جسد ضواحينا ، لأننا عرفنا أننا ننتمي إلى الكل. يمكننا أن نكون وحدنا ولكننا لسنا منفصلين ، ولكن من أجل البقاء والازدهار ، فقد قيمنا المجتمع واعتمدنا على العلاقات المتبادلة التي تعزز حياتنا.

من منظور هذه النظرة العالمية ، تمكنا من الاستمتاع والاستفادة من شعورنا بالقرابة الحقيقية مع العالم الخارجي وكذلك مع عالم الروح غير المرئي. وكما هو الحال مع العديد من العائلات العادية ، إن لم يكن معظمها ، بعض الأقارب الروحانيين الذين يمكن أن نربطهم بطريقة أسهل وأكثر توازناً من الآخرين. وفوق كل شيء ، فهمنا أن كل فعل من أفعالنا ، وحتى أفكارنا ، كان له تأثير ما في العالم.

الذين يعيشون في علاقة جيدة مع عالمنا

نحن غارقون جدا في نظرة العالم إلى ولادتنا بأننا كممارسين شامانيين في العصر الحديث ، علينا أن نكافح من أجل أن نثق بإخلاص في حقيقة العالم الروحي النومي الذي عرفه أسلافنا ويتعلقون به بشكل جيد. من غير المحتمل أن يكون الشامان من ثقافات السكان الأصليين في حيرة أو معاناة بهذه الطريقة. ومع ذلك ، يمكننا جميعًا أن نتعلم كيف نعيش في علاقة جيدة مع عالمنا ، في تطورنا الحالي للذات والأوقات.

نحن بحاجة إلى معرفة كيفية استعادة التوازن حيث فقدت للأسف. من أجل تسليط الضوء على ما يمكن أن تقدمه لنا الروح المعنوية التي تعلمنا كيف ندير حياتنا بطرق مستدامة ومنسجمة ، نبدأ بتوسيع وتحويل نظرتنا للعالم إلى نموذج أكثر شمولاً. إنه تحد هائل ، ولا يمكن أن تكون المخاطر أكبر.

الطقس هو بوابة دائمة لهذا الغرض. الأحداث المناخية المتطرفة لديها طريقة غير مستقيمة من أجل هدم أسوار نظرتنا للعالم وبالتالي أمننا المتصور. إنهم يملأوننا بالرعب - هذا النوع من الرهبة المستوحاة من الخوف التي يمكن أن تقذفنا من منطقة الراحة ، بعيداً عن حدود انشغالاتنا المألوفة. في هذه اللحظات ، نكون قادرين على فقدان مفاهيمنا المسبقة لطبيعة الأشياء ، والفرصة تنتظر الدخول في رحابة كيان لا يتوفر عادة لنا ، إذا تمكنا من توجيه المخاوف من البقاء على قيد الحياة الشخصية أو فقدان الممتلكات. شهيتنا للحياة مشحونة ، إحساسنا بالتقدير يرتفع ونحن ننظر إلى العالم ، بعضنا البعض ، وأنفسنا بأعين جديدة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه في أعقاب العاصفة الكارثية ، ينتقل العديد من الناس بسهولة إلى مكان للتعاطف مع بعضهم البعض ، سواء في القرى أو المدن الكبرى. تخرج من عوالمنا العادية المتعلقة بالعالم ، ونحن ندخل في انفتاح واسع للقلب.

تأمل قصة جون نيوتن ، قائد قبطان السفينة الخاص به وتاجر العبيد. لقد واجه هو وطاقم السفينة ، إلى جانب حمولتهم من الأفارقة المعاصرين ، عاصفة في أعالي البحار ، عاصفة شديدة ومخيفة إلى درجة أن نيوتن تخلى عن الأمل وأبلغ طاقمه بأنهم جميعا في يد القدير. لكنهم نجوا من تلك العاصفة ، وحدث تغيير جذري لجون نيوتن. قد تقول أن نظرته للعالم قد تحولت ، لأنه تخلى عن العبودية كليًا ، وأصبح وزيراً بروتستانتياً ، وهب العالم بأغنية محبوبة النعمة المذهلة

تحول وعينا يؤثر على العالم من حولنا

منذ آلاف السنين ، تعمد الشامان أن يعلق ، كما تشاء ، حدود النظرة العادية للعالم ، ومن خلال اختبار هذه الحالة النشوة من الوحدانية ، تمكن من إعادة جزء آخر من لغز الطبيعة الحقيقية لكوننا. . في كل مرة يكون أي منا قادراً على تجربة هذا الشعور بالوحدة ، فنحن نتطرق إلى حالة من الوئام وتتغير.

يعرف الشامان جيداً أن أي تغيير أو تحول في وعينا يؤثر على العالم من حولنا ، أحياناً ببراعة وأحياناً بشكل مثير. مراراً وتكراراً ، يسعى الشامان إلى خوض تجارب لإشعال نار الإضاءة ، وعيًا باهرًا. بالنسبة لنا جميعًا ، تقدم الحياة نفسها في هذا العالم المتوسط ​​عددًا لا يحصى من المداخلات ولحظات من البهجة والشعور المنتشيين ، إذا تمكنا من تخفيف قبضتنا على نظرتنا العملية إلى العالم.

نحن مدربون على رؤية رؤية واحدة فقط للعالم. يتم تدريب بعض الثقافات لرؤية الآخر فقط. إنه تحدنا ومسؤوليتنا أن نتعلم أن هناك أكثر من نظرة عالمية واحدة ، لنرى ما هو أبعد من تنوعنا الاجتماعي إلى ما هو موجود بالفعل. هذا حقا هو تعبير عن الوحدانية التي يمكن أن تساعدنا على إقامة علاقة عمل مستدامة مع الحياة ، مع الطبيعة ، ومع الطقس.

في عالم يكافح من أجل النجاة من تجاوزاتنا وتجاوزاتنا ، نحتاج الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى إلى جعل الناس مستعدين وقادرين على رأب الصدع بين الطبيعة وأنفسنا. إن نظرة العالم إلى الشامانية تزودنا بطريقة فعالة وعميقة لإعادة التواصل مع الطبيعة ومع القوة والحكمة الموجودة في العالم الروحي ولتعلم العيش في انسجام مع كل الأشياء وكل الكائنات على هذا الكوكب.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر ، بير أند كو ،
وهي فرع من التقاليد الداخلية الدولية.
© 2008. www.innertraditions.com

المادة المصدر

الشامانية الطقس: مواءمة لدينا اتصال مع العناصر
بواسطة نان موس مع ديفيد كوربن.

الشامانية الطقس بواسطة موس نان مع ديفيد كوربنالطقس الشامانية هو حول التحول - من أنفسنا ، وبالتالي عالمنا. إنه يتعلق بكيفية تطوير رؤية عالمية موسعة تكرم الحقائق الروحية من أجل خلق شراكة عمل مع أرواح الطقس ، وبالتالي المساعدة في استعادة الرفاهية والانسجام على الأرض. من خلال مزيج فريد من البحوث الأنثروبولوجية والرحلات الشامانية والقصص الشخصية والنوادر ، أظهر نان موس وديفيد كوربن كيف كان البشر والطقس يؤثرون دائمًا على بعضهم البعض ، وكيف يمكن التأثير على الطقس.

للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب

حول المؤلف

نان موسديفيد كوربنوكانت نان موس وديفيد كوربن أعضاء هيئة التدريس مايكل Harner في مؤسسة للدراسات الشامانية منذ 1995 وأيضا تدريس دورات في Esalen المعهد في ولاية كاليفورنيا و نيويورك فتح مركز. لقد كانوا يبحثون ويدرسون الجوانب الروحية للطقس منذ 1997 وكان لديهم ممارسة الشامانية الخاصة الواقعة في ميناء كلايد ، ولاية ماين. (توفي ديفيد في 2014.) زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في www.shamanscircle.com.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Expanding the Boundaries of Our Standard Worldview

Expanding the Boundaries of Our Standard Worldview

As children growing up in the modern world, we learn through our schooling and experiences of socialization to value concrete techniques of gathering and processing information. We are taught to analyze, classify, and deduce rather than intuit. We are urged to accept the overall, consensual agreement about the nature of reality as something akin to “what you see is what you get”: that the world is a tangible realm, most usefully described and understood in terms of dichotomy—something is either this or that, and rarely both at the same time.

When confronted with something that perplexes or confounds us, we tend to attribute our lack of understanding to not having enough facts or evidence, or we relegate it to the scrap heap of the supernatural. These are the modes of explanation available to us within the container of our standard worldview.

What we consider supernatural is that which escapes the boundaries of our worldview, that which leaps beyond the contours of our maps of the real world. These maps show no place for an unknown entity. It is as if we live on a map of a flat world, and if we go too far, we’ll fall off the edge into uncharted and dangerous waters.

In Western culture we tend to discount and disavow that which is ambiguous or paradoxical. It is the artists, poets, theologians, and philosophers among us who are most readily sanctioned by society to convey their sense of the world in other than rational, mechanical terms.

Expanding Our Worldview

Everyone is supported by his or her own worldview, and everyone is in bondage to it. On the one hand this perceptual filter makes it possible for us to live and behave in a more or less coherent, consensual way with the other human inhabitants of our local environs. Within its parameters, we can live together in general agreement as to the nature of reality. However, the price we pay for this general agreement is that we forget that our worldview, though capable of penetrating the deepest recesses of our consciousness, is neither the only truth nor the entire truth of reality.

To expand our worldview, we can take that flat, two-dimensional map and round it out into a sphere, like the shape of the earth, the sun and the moon, and the wheel of the seasons. We can include the mysterious and not have it banished to the netherworlds. There is no abyss to become hopelessly lost in; there is only the whole, where all things hold center place and what goes around comes back around, again and again. This shift in perspective can transform the supernatural into something multidimensional, where the mystery becomes approachable, but not at the cost of awe and wonder.

One evening over dinner in a restaurant, we enjoyed an animated conversation with friends as we described some of our research and explorations about the weather. When the waitress stopped by to refill our wineglasses, our friend Steve genially asked her if she had any interest in the weather—and if she had ever tried to influence the weather. She paused and then answered, “Maybe.” Shortly after returning with our meals she waved her arm expansively toward the large window and said, “Let there be rain!” We chuckled and went on to eat our dinner.

Ten minutes later we looked out the window and saw rain falling! Immediately we beckoned to our waitress, who seemed just as surprised. The rain shower was gentle and ended by the time we emerged from the restaurant.

What happened here? Even as we asked this question, we realized there could be no absolute answer, that mystery would prevail. The incident carried a spaciousness of ambiguity that could accommodate more than our normal worldview. We could look at this as an interesting coincidence, or we could view this moment from another perspective, another paradigm of reality, and find the possibility of a teaching from the spirits of weather: that weather hears and responds to us, and that weather is alive and in communication with us, though we may or may not intend it so.

New Worldview: We Are All Related

We affect the entire world, including the weather, by our relationship to it in countless ways, likely as much by what we do as by what we do not do. When we rigidly hold to a given worldview, when we are unwilling or unable to shift our perspective, we can exert an untoward effect on the outer world beyond our individual intentions, be they well meaning or otherwise.

What if we looked at the elements of weather with a worldview that told us we are related? The Yamana people of the Amazon region take notice of the particular weather that accompanies the birth of a child. In their worldview, an individual birthed during “good” weather may have a special connection to that kind of weather—an extra dose of relatedness—and will, at times, be asked to appeal to the “good weather spirits” on behalf of the community. Those born under “bad” weather conditions are carefully watched for episodes of unruly behavior, as such behavior may actually call in “bad” weather conditions. [Mindful of Famine: Religious Climatology of the Warao Indians by Johannes Wilbert]

Tamra Andrews writes in Legends of the Earth, Sea, and Sky:

We take nature’s power for granted. We see the sunrise and call it science; the ancients witnessed the same sunrise and called it a miracle. We have long lost touch with miracles. We no longer ­recognize the sacred. The ancients had an intimate relationship with the sky. They lived close to the land and they respected it, because they learned that given proper respect, the earth fulfilled their needs.

Our Ancestral Worldview Is Not Lost

Our ancestral worldview can surface in a longing for more personal experiences of the sacred. Perhaps we once heard a song in the wind and are listening for another. The power of a snowstorm to quiet a city’s doings or the overriding intensity of lightning and thunder may speak to places in our souls where we are longing for a fresh breath of chaos, and where the wildness of Nature enlivens our hearts. City parks can be our favorite places to visit, where we find animals to observe and trees to walk by or sit under.

In every sort of cultural background, our traditions originated from those in which we recognized and honored our kinship with the beings of all the domains of the earth, of the weather, of Creation. We did not see ourselves as apart from the body of our environs, for we knew that we belonged to the whole. We could be alone but not separate, yet to survive and thrive, we valued community and depended upon its life-enhancing interrelationships.

From the perspective of this worldview, we were able to enjoy and benefit from our sense of real kinship with the outer world as well as with the unseen spirit realm. And as with many, if not most, ordinary-reality families, some spirit kin we could relate to in an easier, more congenial fashion than others. Above all, we understood that every one of our acts, and even our thoughts, had some kind of effect in the world.

Living In Good Relationship With Our World

We are so engulfed by the worldview of our birth that as ­modern-day shamanic practitioners we have to struggle to wholeheartedly trust the reality of the numinous spiritual world our ancestors knew and related to so well. It is unlikely that the shamans from indigenous cultures were as perplexed or suffered in this way. Nonetheless, we can all set out to learn how to live in good relationship with our world, in our present evolution of self and times.

We need to know how to restore balance where it is so sadly lost. To bring to light what the compassionate spirits can teach us about how to conduct our lives in sustainable and harmonious ways, we begin by expanding and transforming our worldview into a more inclusive paradigm. It is an enormous challenge, and the stakes couldn’t be higher.

The weather is an ever-present portal to this end. Extreme weather events have an unerring way of shaking down the walls of our worldview and hence our perceived security. They fill us with awe—the kind of fear-inspired awe that can hurl us out of our comfort zone, away from the confines of our familiar preoccupations. In these moments we are capable of losing our preconceptions of the nature of things, and the opportunity awaits to enter into a spaciousness of being that is not normally available to us, if we manage to steer around fears of personal survival or loss of property. Our appetite for life is whetted, our sense of appreciation soars as we look at the world, each other, and ourselves with new eyes.

It is notable that in the aftermath of a calamitous storm so many people readily move into a place of compassion for one another, whether in villages or big cities. Thrust out of our normal realms of relating to the world, we enter into an expanded openness of the heart.

Consider the story of John Newton, captain of his own schooner and a slave trader. He and his ship’s crew, along with their cargo of suffering Africans, encountered a storm on the high seas, a storm so fierce and frightening that Newton gave up hope and communicated to his crew that they were all in the hands of the Almighty. But they survived that storm, and something drastically changed for John Newton. You might say his worldview shifted, because he renounced slavery altogether, became a Protestant minister, and gifted the world with the well-loved song Amazing Grace.

Shifting Our Awareness Affects The World Around Us

For thousands of years the shaman has deliberately set about to ­suspend, at will, the confines of ordinary worldview and, through experiencing that ecstatic state of oneness, has been able to bring back one more piece of the puzzle of the true nature of our cosmos. Each time any of us is able to experience this sense of unity, we touch upon a state of harmony and are changed.

The shaman well knows that any change or shift in our awareness affects the world around us, sometimes subtly and sometimes dramatically. Again and again, the shaman seeks experiences to bring on that fire of illumination, of brilliant awareness. For all of us, life itself in this middle world offers countless initiations and moments of ecstatic insight and feeling—if we can manage to relax our hold on our operative worldview.

We are trained to see only one worldview. Some cultures are trained to see only the other. It is our challenge and responsibility to learn that there is more than one worldview, to see beyond our socialization to what is really there. This truly is the expression of oneness that can help us to establish a working, sustainable relationship with life, with Nature, and with weather.

In a world that is struggling to survive our abuses and excesses, we need now more than ever to have people willing and able to heal the rift between Nature and ourselves. The worldview of shamanism provides us with an effective and profound way to reconnect with Nature and with the power and wisdom found in the spiritual world and to learn to live in harmony with all things and all beings on the planet.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Bear & Co.,
a division of Inner Traditions International.
©2008. www.innertraditions.com

Article Source

Weather Shamanism: Harmonizing Our Connection with the Elements
by Nan Moss with David Corbin.

Weather Shamanism by Nan Moss with David CorbinWeather Shamanism is about transformation--of ourselves, and thus our world. It is about how we can develop an expanded worldview that honors spiritual realities in order to create a working partnership with the spirits of weather and thereby help to restore well-being and harmony to Earth. Through a unique blend of anthropological research, shamanic journeys, and personal stories and anecdotes, Nan Moss and David Corbin show how humans and weather have always affected each other, and how it is possible to influence the weather.

For more info or to order this book

About the Authors

Nan MossDavid CorbinNan Moss and David Corbin have been faculty members of Michael Harner’s Foundation for Shamanic Studies since 1995 and also taught courses at Esalen Institute in California and the New York Open Center. They have been researching and teaching the spiritual aspects of weather since 1997 and have had a private shamanic practice located in Port Clyde, Maine.  (David passed away in 2014.) Visit their website at www.shamanscircle.com.