السناجب ، مثل البشر ، استخدم التجميع لتنظيم صواميلهم

السناجب ، مثل البشر ، استخدم التجميع لتنظيم صواميلهم
الصورة الائتمان: LMorland (CC 4.0)

السناجبات الثعلب منظمة أكثر بكثير مما كنا نظن — تخزن أكوام الصواميل الخاصة بها من خلال التنوع والجودة وربما حتى بالأفضلية.

إن الدراسة الجديدة هي أول دراسة تظهر الدليل على أن السناجب ترتب مكافآتها - على الأقل 3,000 إلى 10,000 في السنة - باستخدام "التقسيم" ، وهي استراتيجية معرفية يقوم فيها الناس والحيوانات الأخرى بتنظيم معلومات مكانية أو لغوية أو رقمية أو أي معلومات أخرى إلى أصغر. مجموعات أكثر قابلية للإدارة ، مثل المجلدات الفرعية على جهاز الكمبيوتر.

يقول ميكيل دلغادو ، باحث ما بعد الدكتوراه في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي: "هذا هو أول دليل للقطيعة في حيوان مبعثر ، كما يشير إلى أن السناجب تستخدم استراتيجيات مرنة لتخزين الطعام اعتمادًا على كيفية حصولها على الطعام". المؤلف الرئيسي للدراسة في العلم الملكي المجتمع المفتوح.

من المفترض ، أن تقنيات التخزين المؤقت المتطورة تعمل على زيادة قدرة السناجب على تذكر المكان الذي خزن فيه أغلى الأشياء الثمينة في الوقت الذي أخفّيه فيها عن المحتملين المحتملين.

تقول السيرة الذاتية لوسيا جاكوبس ، أستاذة علم النفس: "قد تستخدم السناجب تشريح بنفس الطريقة التي تضع بها البقالة".

"يمكنك وضع الفاكهة على رف واحد والخضروات على أخرى. ثم عندما تبحث عن بصلة ، عليك فقط أن تبحث في مكان واحد ، وليس كل رف في المطبخ. ”

وعلى مدار عامين ، قام فريق البحث بتتبع أنماط التخزين المؤقت لسناجب 45 والذكور الثعلب ، حيث كانت القوارض ذات اللون الرمادي المحمر ، ذات القُذْب ، تُدفن اللوز ، البقان ، البندق ، والجوز في مختلف المواقع المشجرة.

استخدمت الدراسة مجموعات من المواقع وتسلسل الجوز على مجموعات مختلفة من السناجب الثعلب.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في إحدى التجارب ، على سبيل المثال ، تم تغذية كل من السناجب بكعوس 16 ، واحدة تلو الأخرى ، في ظل حالتين منفصلتين: تم تغذية البعض في المنطقة حيث قاموا بتخزين نسخة من الجوز السابق الذي تم تغذيته لهم بينما تم تغذية آخرين في موقع مركزي واحد ، التي سيحتاجون إلى إعادتها إذا كانوا يريدون نوًا أخرى

أعطيت بعض السناجب 16 المكسرات في الصفوف من أربعة ، ويقول ، اللوز تليها البقان ، تليها البندق ، ثم الجوز ، في حين أن الآخرين تلقوا المكسرات 16 بترتيب عشوائي.

استخدم الباحثون الملاحين GPS المحمولة باليد لتتبع السناجب من موقع البداية إلى موقع التخزين المؤقت ، ثم وضعوا خريطة لتوزيع أنواع الجوز ومواقع التخزين المؤقت لاكتشاف الأنماط.

وكانت السناجب التي نظمت في مكان واحد نظمت في كثير من الأحيان مخابئها من نوع الجوز ، وعادت إلى منطقة اللوز مثلا ، إذا كان ذلك هو نوع الجوز الذي كانت تجمعه ، وحفظ كل فئة من الجوز التي دفنها منفصلة. وفي الوقت نفسه ، تعمدت السناجب التي تدور في مواقع متعددة تجنب التخزين المؤقت في المناطق التي دفن فيها بالفعل المكسرات ، بدلاً من تنظيم المكسرات حسب النوع.

"تشير هذه الملاحظات إلى أنه عندما يفتقر إلى المعرفية المعرفية لمصدر غذائي مركزي ، فإن السناجب الثعلب تستخدم نهجًا مختلفًا وربما أكثر بساطة (نهج حل المشكلات) لتتجنب ببساطة المناطق التي كانت قد خضعت فيها للتخزين المؤقت" ، كما كتب المؤلفون.

مصدر: جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = تجزئة معلومات، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Squirrels, Like Humans, Use Chunking To Organize Their Nuts

Squirrels, Like Humans, Use Chunking To Organize Their Nuts
Photo credit: LMorland (CC 4.0)

Fox squirrels are a lot more organized than we thought—storing their stashes of nuts by variety, quality, and possibly even by preference.

A new study is the first to show evidence that squirrels arrange their bounty—at least 3,000 to 10,000 nuts a year—using “chunking,” a cognitive strategy in which people and other animals organize spatial, linguistic, numeric, or other information into smaller more manageable collections, such as subfolders on a computer.

“This is the first demonstration of chunking in a scatter-hoarding animal, and also suggests that squirrels use flexible strategies to store food depending on how they acquire food,” says Mikel Delgado, a postdoctoral researcher at the University of California, Berkeley, and lead author of the study in Royal Society Open Science.

Presumably, sophisticated caching techniques maximize the squirrels’ ability to remember where they’ve stored their most prized treats while at the same time hiding them from potential pilferers.

“Squirrels may use chunking the same way you put away your groceries,” says senior author Lucia Jacobs, a professor of psychology.

“You might put fruit on one shelf and vegetables on another. Then, when you’re looking for an onion, you only have to look in one place, not every shelf in the kitchen.”

Over a two-year period, the research team tracked the caching patterns of 45 male and female fox squirrels as the reddish gray, bushy-tailed rodents buried almonds, pecans, hazelnuts, and walnuts in various wooded locations.

The study used combinations of locations and nut sequences on various groups of fox squirrels.

In one experiment, for example, each of the squirrels were fed 16 nuts, one after another, under two separate conditions: Some were fed at the locale where they had cached the previous nut fed to them while others were fed at one central location, to which they would need to return if they wanted another nu

Some squirrels were given 16 nuts in rows of four, say, almonds followed by pecans, followed by hazelnuts, and then walnuts, while others received 16 nuts in random order.

Researchers used hand-held GPS navigators to track the squirrels from their starting location to their caching location, then mapped the distribution of nut types and caching locations to detect patterns.

Squirrels who foraged at a single location frequently organized their caches by nut species, returning to, say, the almond area, if that was the type of nut they were gathering, and keeping each category of nut that they buried separate. Meanwhile, the squirrels foraging in multiple locations deliberately avoided caching in areas where they had already buried nuts, rather than organizing nuts by type.

“These observations suggest that when lacking the cognitive anchor of a central food source, fox squirrels utilize a different and perhaps simpler heuristic (problem-solving approach) to simply avoid the areas where they had previously cached,” the authors write.

Source: UC Berkeley

Related Books:

The Time Chunking Method: A 10-Step Action Plan For Increasing Your Productivity (Time Management And Productivity Action Guide Series)
perfectionismAuthor: Damon Zahariades
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Independently published
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

Advanced Flute Studies: The Art of Chunking
perfectionismAuthor: Patricia George and Phyllis Avidan Louke
Binding: Sheet music
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
List Price: $35.00

Buy Now

Conquering the Content: A Blueprint for Online Course Design and Development (Jossey-Bass Guides to Online Teaching and Learning)
perfectionismAuthor: Robin M. Smith
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Jossey-Bass
List Price: $34.00

Buy Now