ما تقوله ثقافة الاغتصاب عن الذكورة

ما تقوله ثقافة الاغتصاب عن الذكورة
الصورة الائتمان: ريتشارد بوتس (CC by 2.0)

تستحضر عبارة "ثقافة الاغتصاب" استجابات قوية. ومن أبرزها الارتباك ، والسخرية ، والغضب ، وحتى الزجاجة المجهولة المصدر من "الحاقدين" على الإنترنت. عندما نشرت على فيسبوك أنني كنت أبحث عن رجال مؤيدين للنسوية للمشاركة في مشروع بحثي حول ثقافة الاغتصاب ، شاركني المحقق ، جاكوب بيودرو ، ووجدت أنفسنا أن نكون على الطرف المتلقي لرسالة عبر البريد الإلكتروني التي تضمنت تهديدًا بالقتل. كان هناك بريد إلكتروني واحد فقط كان مفاجأة.

الحجة التي نطرحها هي أنه في حين أن النساء اللواتي تعرضن للاغتصاب يتحملن الآثار الدائمة للضرر النفسي والعاطفي ، فإن مشكلة الاغتصاب ليست "مشكلة المرأة". إنها مشكلة الرجل بشكل مباشر. في أعقاب قصص الرعب الأخيرة عن الرجال في السلطة الذين يسيئون معاملة النساء - مثل هارفي وينشتاين - نقدم بعض النتائج التي توصلنا إليها بشأن ثقافة الاغتصاب وبعض الاقتراحات للرجال لإجراء التغيير.

بشكل متوقع ، سيقدم الرافضون ثلاثة اعتراضات رئيسية. واحد هو: "ولكن ماذا عن الاتهامات الباطلة؟" ردي هو: حدثوا. هم نادرونلكنها تحدث. لا ينبغي تجاهلها ، ولكن لا ينبغي أن يصرفنا عن الحقيقة الموضوعية المهاجمين هم الرجال بأغلبية ساحقة والضحايا من الفتيات والنساء بشكل ساحق.

النقطة الثانية هي أن الرجال يمكن أن يتعرضوا للاغتصاب أيضاً. هذا صحيح. بعض الرجال يتعرضون للاغتصاب من قبل رجال آخرين وتعاني من أضرار عاطفية من وصمة العار وفقدان الهوية لدى الرجال. بعض اضطر الرجال لممارسة الجنس مع النساءكما أفاد الباحث القانوني سيبهان ويري ، ولكن تجاربهم تقلل من شأنهم وأصبحوا غير معترف بهم في القوانين والبرامج الجنائية لمساعدة ودعم ضحايا الاعتداء الجنسي. يجب أن يتغير.

قد يكون هناك اعتراض ثالث على أن الرجال "السيئين" فقط هم الذين يغتصبون - التفاحة السيئة الشائعة - وأن معظم الرجال هم رجال "جيدين" لا يغتصبون. كما يعقوب وأنا لقد جادل بالفعلمن المؤكد أن غالبية الرجال لا يغتصبون النساء. إذن ما هو إذن "الثقافة" في "ثقافة الاغتصاب؟"

النظر في استعارة من الابهام والأصابع. جميع الإبهام أصابع ولكن ليست كل أصابع الإبهام. وبالمثل ، فإن جميع الاغتصاب هو جزء من ثقافة الاغتصاب لكن ثقافة الاغتصاب لا تقتصر على الاغتصاب الفعلي. وبعبارة أخرى ، تشمل ثقافة الاغتصاب مجموعة أوسع من السلوكيات والمعتقدات والأعراف من الاغتصاب الفعلي.

ما هي ثقافة الاغتصاب؟

ما وجدناه من محادثاتنا مع رجال 16 الذين يعرِّفون أنفسهم إما أنصارًا نسويًا أو مؤيدًا للنسوية كان أنه بينما لم يكن أي منهم من رافضي ثقافة الاغتصاب ، لم يتمكن معظمهم من تحديد "ثقافة الاغتصاب" أو ما قد يعنيه بشكل واضح. تبدو عندما يرون ذلك.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يشمل الجانب الثقافي مقاييس النوع الاجتماعي التي تثبت أن الرجال هم ملاذات ومواقف جنسية تنظر إلى النساء على أنهن فتوحات جنسية يتم من خلالها إضفاء الشرعية على الرجولة وأن يتم الاعتراض على النساء ("قبل الزواج"). وقد يعني ذلك تصوير وسائل الإعلام للنساء على أنهن مملوكات أو ممتلكات جنسية أو طرق للتواصل تقلل من آثار الاغتصاب. النظر ، على سبيل المثال ، "أنا أشعر بالاغتصاب"القمصان والتعليقات بين اللاعبين مثل" لقد اغتصبتك فقط "بدلاً من" لقد ضربتك فقط ".

الثقافة هي نص اجتماعي نتعلمه بمرور الوقت. إنها تعلمنا بشكل غير رسمي عن القيم والمعتقدات والسلوكيات التي ينظر إليها على نطاق واسع على أنها "طبيعية" أو "حس عام". وتشمل أمثلة ثقافة الاغتصاب النكات التي تقلل من آثار الاغتصاب على النساء وموسيقى البوب ​​التي يخبر الرجال فيها النساء "بأنك تعلم ويتضمن ذلك تصريحات تشجب "المأساة" عندما تدمر حياة الرياضيين الجامعيين الذين أدينوا بالاغتصاب. وتشمل التحريفات للاغتصاب بأنها "دقائق 20 من العمل"أو" الجنس فقط "وجميع أنواع إلقاء اللوم على الضحية بناء على ما ترتديه المرأة أو مقدار شربها.

بدلا من تعليمها كيفية تجنب الاغتصاب ، ربما ينبغي إيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام يعلمه كيف لا للاغتصاب.

في حين أن جميع الرجال الذين قابلناهم يعتقدون أن ثقافة الاغتصاب حقيقية ، لاحظنا وجود فجوات في المعرفة. على سبيل المثال ، ركز أحدهم على "القضايا العاطفية التي يتعين على النساء العمل من خلالها ... بالإضافة إلى تجاربهن اليومية من التزاوج ...". وأشار آخر إلى حالة المضيف السابق في CBC جيان غومشي ، الذي تمت تبرئته بتهمة الاعتداء الجنسي ، كمثال على ثقافة الاغتصاب وإلقاء اللوم على الضحية في العمل. كما أشار آخر إلى دونالد ترامب على أنه رمز للمشكلة ، لا سيما بالنسبة للتباهي الشهير الذي يمكنه أن يمسك به أي امرأة من قبل "الهرة" كما يشاء ، دون موافقتها.

المؤسسات تغذي ثقافة الاغتصاب

لم يبرز سوى القليل من الاستجابة من هؤلاء الرجال العوامل الاجتماعية والمؤسسية الأوسع التي تسهم في ثقافة الاغتصاب. لاحظ أحد المشاركين كيف أن الكليشيه "الأولاد سيكونون أولاد" يثبت مجموعة واسعة من السلوكيات ، بما في ذلك التحرش الجنسي. لكنه لم يصل إلى حد ربطه بمعايير الذكورة الأوسع نطاقاً التي تبرر مثل هذه السلوكيات في المقام الأول.

ما يسمى بسياقات "homosocial" ، مثل البطولات الرياضية للذكور والأخوياء في الحرم الجامعي ، تميل إلى أن تكون أماكن يمكن أن تزدهر فيها ثقافة الاغتصاب. ليس من قبيل الصدفة ، على سبيل المثال ، أن النساء اللواتي يخدمن في الذكور يهيمن على المهن مثل مكافحة الحرائق و ال عسكر قد يواجه تحرشًا جنسيًا مستمرًا.

كاتب نسوي تلاحظ جيسيكا فالنتي أن واحدة من كل خمس نساء يتعرضن للاعتداء الجنسي في الحرم الجامعي. تكتب: "ليس كل الرجال الذين ينضمون إلى فرات (أو فرق رياضية جامعية) هم مفترسون ، [لكن] عندما يتركز الكثير من العنف الجنسي حول منطقة واحدة من حياة الحرم الجامعي ، يجب القيام بشيء ما".

تقوم الجامعات في جميع أنحاء كندا بصياغة وتنفيذ سياسات بشأن الاعتداء الجنسي في أعقاب شكاوى حقوق الإنسان المقدمة من الضحايا ضد مؤسساتهم. جامعات كولومبيا البريطانية, فيكتوريا, تورونتو (Toronto), دالهوزي, كارلتون . سانت ماري هي من بين هذه المؤشرات ، لكن المؤشرات تدل على أن السياسات غير فعالة ولا يتم اتباعها بشكل صحيح. مجموعة طلابية على مستوى الأمة سياسات جامعية متدرجة عبر كندا، وكان متوسط ​​C-.

ربما سياسات الجامعة بشأن الاعتداء الجنسي قد تولي اهتماما أكبر لتثقيف الرجال كاستراتيجية رئيسية للحد من الاعتداء الجنسي على النساء في الحرم الجامعي. لا يجب النظر إلى إعادة تعليم الأعراف والقيم والسلوكيات المتعلقة بالجنس على أنها تهديد للرجولة ، كما يقترح الكارهون المجهولون من خلال النقد اللاذع عبر الإنترنت وكراهية النساء.

اختيار فعال للحد من ثقافة الاغتصاب

الثقافة لا تحدد معتقداتنا وسلوكنا. يؤثر فقط عليهم. الرجال لديهم خيارات تتجاوز معايير الذكورة المقررة من الناحية الثقافية. وكما يوضح رجال 16 الذين قابلناهم بشكل جماعي ، فإن الرجال يستطيعون تحدي قيمهم ومعتقداتهم وسلوكهم - وأولئك الرجال الآخرين - عندما يتعلق الأمر بمواقفهم الجنسية تجاه النساء ، بما في ذلك في مسائل الموافقة.

بالنظر إلى دليل ثقافة الاغتصاب في المجتمع اليومي ، تبدو النظرة قاتمة. إن بصيص الأمل الذي تقدمه أبحاثنا هو أنه يمكن تعليم الأولاد والرجال أن يكونوا رجالا للضمير ، سواء بشكل رسمي أو غير رسمي.

المحادثةالعمل على تخفيف أضرار ثقافة الاغتصاب ليس عن كره الرجال. إنها ببساطة حول تحمل المسؤولية عن كيف نتصرف ، مثل الرجال ، في العالم. هارفي وينشتاينوكان آخر سمسار السلطة في هوليوود يسقط من النعمة بسبب موجة من المضايقات الجنسية والاعتداءات الجنسية ، قد استفاد من مثل هذا التعليم. النساء اللواتي استهدفهنن كان سيحققن الفوائد أيضا.

عن المؤلف

جيرالد والتون ، أستاذ مشارك في تعليم النوع الاجتماعي والحياة الجنسية والهوية ، جامعة ليكهيد

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = ثقافة الاغتصاب ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

What Rape Culture Says About Masculinity

What Rape Culture Says About Masculinity
Photo credit: Richard Potts (CC by 2.0)

The phrase “rape culture” elicits strong responses. Prominent among them are confusion, scoffs, anger and even anonymous vitriol from internet “haters.” When I posted on Facebook that I was seeking pro-feminist men to participate in a research project on rape culture, my co-investigator, Jacob Beaudrow, and I found ourselves to be on the receiving end of an email diatribe that included a death threat. That there was only one such email was a surprise.

The argument we make is that while women who have been raped endure the lasting effects of psychological and emotional harm, the problem of rape is not a “woman’s problem.” It is squarely a man’s problem. In the wake of recent horror stories about men in power who abuse women — like Harvey Weinstein — we offer some of our findings on rape culture and some suggestions for men to make change.

Predictably, naysayers will offer three main objections. One is: “But what about false accusations?” My response is: They happen. They are rare, but they happen. They should not be ignored, but neither should they distract us from the objective fact that assailants are overwhelmingly men and victims are overwhelmingly girls and women.

A second point is that men can get raped, too. That’s true. Some men are raped by other men and suffer emotional damage from stigma and a loss of identity as men. Some men have been forced to have sex with women, as legal scholar Siobhan Weare reports, but their experiences are belittled and go unrecognized in criminal codes and programs to assist and support victims of sexual assault. That needs to change.

A third objection might be that only “bad” men rape — the proverbial bad apple — and that most men are “good” men who do not rape. As Jacob and I have already argued, it is certainly the case that the majority of men do not rape women. So what, then, is the “culture” part of “rape culture?”

Consider the metaphor of thumbs and fingers. All thumbs are fingers but not all fingers are thumbs. Similarly, all rape is part of rape culture but rape culture is not limited to actual rape. In other words, rape culture encompasses a much broader range of behaviours, beliefs and norms than actual rape.

What is rape culture?

What we found from our conversations with 16 men who identify themselves as either feminist or pro-feminist was that while none of them were rape culture naysayers, most of them were not able to clearly identify what “rape culture” might mean or what it might look like when they see it.

The culture aspect includes gender norms that validate men as sexual pursuers and attitudes that view women as sexual conquests by which manhood is legitimized and women are objectified (“bros before hos”). It might mean media depictions of women as sexual objects to be owned or used or ways of communicating that minimize the effects of rape. Consider, for example, “I’m feeling rapey” T-shirts and comments among gamers such as, “I just raped you” instead of “I just beat you.”

Culture is a social script that we learn over time. It informally educates us about values, beliefs and behaviours that are broadly seen as “normal” or “common sense.” Examples of rape culture include jokes that minimize the effects of rape on women and pop music in which men tell women that “you know you want it.” It includes statements that decry the “tragedy” when the lives of college athletes who are convicted of rape are ruined. They include misrepresentations of rape as “20 minutes of action” or “just sex” and all manner of victim-blaming based upon what a woman wore or how much she drank.

Instead of teaching her how to avoid getting raped, perhaps more attention should be paid to teaching him how not to rape.

While all of the men we interviewed believe that rape culture is real, we noticed gaps in knowledge. One focused, for instance, on “the emotional issues that women have to work through … as well as their daily experiences from catcalling ….” Another pointed to the case of former CBC host Jian Ghomeshi, who was acquitted on charges of sexual assault, as an example of rape culture and victim-blaming in action. Still another pointed to Donald Trump as emblematic of the problem, particularly for his famous brag that he could grab any woman by the “pussy” as he pleased, without her consent.

Institutions feed rape culture

Little of the response from these men highlighted broader social and institutional factors that contribute to rape culture. One participant noted how the cliché “boys will be boys” validates a wide variety of behaviours, including sexual harassment. But he stopped short of connecting it to broader gender norms of masculinity that justify such behaviours in the first place.

What are called “homosocial” contexts, such as the male sports leagues and campus fraternities, tend to be places where rape culture can thrive. It is no accident, for instance, that women who serve in male dominated professions such as firefighting and the military may face ongoing sexual harassment.

Feminist writer Jessica Valenti notes that one in five women are sexually assaulted on campus. She writes: “Not all men who join frats (or varsity sports teams) are predators, [but] when so much sexual violence is centered around one area of campus life, something has to be done.”

Universities across Canada are in the process of drafting and implementing policies on sexual assault in the wake of human rights complaints filed by victims against their institutions. The universities of British Columbia, Victoria, Toronto, Dalhousie, Carleton and St. Mary’s are among them, but indications are that policies are ineffective and not followed properly. A nation-wide student group graded university policies across Canada, the average of which was C-.

Perhaps university policies on sexual assault might pay more attention to educating men as a key strategy to reduce sexual assault of women on campus. Re-learning gender norms, values and behaviours need not be perceived as a threat to manhood, as anonymous haters would suggest through online vitriol and misogyny.

Actively choosing to diminish rape culture

Culture does not determine our beliefs and behaviours; it only influences them. Men have choices beyond culturally prescribed norms of masculinity. As the 16 men who we interviewed collectively demonstrate, men can challenge their own values, beliefs and behaviours — and those of other men — when it comes to their sexual attitudes towards women, including in matters of consent.

Given the evidence of rape culture in everyday society, the outlook seems grim. The ray of hope that our research offers is that boys and men can be educated to be men of conscience, both informally and formally.

The ConversationWorking to mitigate the harms of rape culture is not about hating men. It is simply about taking responsibility for how we, as men, behave and act in the world. Harvey Weinstein, the most recent Hollywood power broker to fall from grace by a tide of sexual harassment and assault allegations, would have benefited from such an education. The women he targeted would have reaped the benefits too.

About the Author

Gerald Walton, Associate Professor in Education of Gender, Sexuality and Identity, Lakehead University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Asking for It: The Alarming Rise of Rape Culture--and What We Can Do about It
behevior modificationAuthor: Kate Harding
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong Books
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Transforming a Rape Culture
behevior modificationBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Milkweed Editions
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

Beyond Blurred Lines: Rape Culture in Popular Media
behevior modificationAuthor: Nickie D. Phillips
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
List Price: $38.00

Buy Now