هناك ارتباط بين الذكاء والقنب استخدام

هناك ارتباط بين الذكاء والقنب استخدام
الصورة النقاط: فيليب مورفي, جامعة إيدج هيل

ذكرت دراسة جديدة أن الأطفال ذوي القدرات الأكاديمية العالية والمتوسطة في سن 11 هم أكثر عرضة لاستخدام الحشيش في أواخر فترة المراهقة مقارنة بالأطفال ذوي القدرات الأكاديمية المنخفضة. نشرت في BMJ مفتوحة.

قام الباحثون ، من جامعة كوليدج لندن ، بفحص السجلات المدرسية لأكثر من الأطفال 6,000. أظهر تحليلهم أن الأطفال ذوي القدرات الأكاديمية المتوسطة في سن 11 كانوا أكثر عرضة لمستخدمي القنب من حين لآخر أو مستمرين من الأطفال ذوي القدرات الأكاديمية المنخفضة. كان هذا هو الحال بالنسبة لكل من المراهقة المبكرة (من سن 13 إلى 17) وفي أواخر المراهقة (18 إلى 20 سنوات من العمر).

بالنسبة للأطفال ذوي القدرات الأكاديمية العالية في سن 11 ، كانت النتائج أقل ثقة. على الرغم من أنهم كانوا أكثر عرضة من الأطفال ذوي القدرة المنخفضة لاستخدام الحشيش في مرحلة المراهقة المبكرة ، إلا أن الفرق بين المجموعتين لم يكن ذو دلالة إحصائية. بعبارة أخرى ، كان من الممكن أن تكون الرابطة مصادفة. ومع ذلك ، فبالنسبة للفترة بين 18 و 20 من السنوات ، كانت المجموعة ذات القدرة العالية أكثر احتمالاً أن تكون من مستخدمي القنب العرضية أو الثابتة أكثر من مجموعة القدرة المنخفضة.

وقد وجد بحث سابق وجود صلة واضحة بين القدرة الأكاديمية و ذكاءلذلك تشير الدلائل إلى أن الأطفال الأكثر ذكاءً يميلون إلى تدخين الحشيش أكثر من أقرانهم الأقل موهبة. السؤال الكبير هو لماذا؟

يتفق مؤلفو تقرير BMJ على أن النتائج التي توصلوا إليها لا تحدد بوضوح أسباب وجود صلة بين القدرة الأكاديمية واستخدام القِنَّب في مرحلة المراهقة. ومع ذلك ، تشير نتائج هذه الدراسة الأخيرة إلى أننا قد نتعلم المزيد إذا حولنا هذا السؤال رأسًا على عقب. لماذا يقل احتمال إصابة الأطفال الذين لديهم إنجازات أكاديمية أقل في عمر 11 بتدخين الحشيش في أواخر فترة المراهقة؟

هذا يفتح مجموعة جديدة من التفسيرات المحتملة لهذا الرابط. على سبيل المثال ، انخفاض القدرة الأكاديمية المرتبطة بضعف الوعي بإمكانيات استكشاف تجارب جديدة ورغبة أقل في تحدي المعتقدات الأرثوذكسية للمجتمع مقارنة بالأطفال ذوي القدرة المتوسطة والعالية؟ هذا لا يزال تكهنات - لكنه يحدد مجموعة جديدة من الأسئلة لمزيد من البحث.

لماذا هذه النتائج مهمة؟

القنب هو أكثر المخدرات المحظورة شعبية في المملكة المتحدة. 2016 مسح وزارة الداخلية أفاد أن أكثر من 1.8m في انجلترا وويلز ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 إلى 24 سنوات ، قد استخدموا القنب مرة واحدة على الأقل في حياتهم ، على الرغم من أن الأرقام المستخدمة في العام الماضي (975,000) والشهر الماضي (476,000) كانت أصغر بكثير . ولذلك ، فإن أقلية كبيرة من الشباب في المملكة المتحدة قد استخدموا دواءًا نعرف الآن أنه مرتبط به تغييرات في بنية الدماغ، مع تغييرات في الطرق التي خلايا المخ التواصل مع بعضها البعض، ومع ضعف الأداء في بعض اختبارات القدرات العقلية مثل الذاكرةمن بين مشاكل أخرى.

إذا كانت هذه النتائج الجديدة في BMJ تدفعنا للتفكير بطريقة جديدة حول العلاقة بين القدرة الأكاديمية واستخدام القِنَّب في مرحلة المراهقة ، فعندئذ سوف يخدمون غرضًا مهمًا للغاية. في العلوم ، كما في الحياة عمومًا ، يعد تحديد السؤال الأكثر ملاءمة خطوة أولى مهمة للعثور على الإجابة الأكثر فائدة.المحادثة


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عن المؤلف

فيليب مورفي ، أستاذ علم النفس ، جامعة إيدج هيل

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = "marijuana use"؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
by ريتو كنوتي وسيباستيان سيبل
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

There's A Link Between Intelligence And Cannabis Use

There's A Link Between Intelligence And Cannabis Use
Photo Credits: Philip Murphy, Edge Hill University

Children with high and medium academic ability at age 11 are more likely to use cannabis in late adolescence compared to children with low academic ability, according to a new study published in BMJ Open.

The researchers, from University College London, examined the school records of more than 6,000 children. Their analysis showed that children of medium academic ability at age 11 were more likely to go on to be either occasional or persistent users of cannabis than children of low academic ability. This was the case for both early adolescence (13 to 17 years of age) and in late adolescence (18 to 20 years of age).

For children with high academic ability at age 11, the results were less certain. Although they were more likely than the low ability children to use cannabis in early adolescence, the difference between the two groups was not statistically significant. In other words the association could have been down to chance. However, for the period between 18 and 20 years, the high ability group was significantly more likely to be either occasional or persistent users of cannabis than the low ability group.

Previous research has found a clear link between academic ability and intelligence, so the evidence suggests that smarter kids are more likely to smoke cannabis than their less gifted peers. The big question is: why?

The authors of the BMJ report agree that their findings do not clearly identify the reasons why there is a link between academic ability and cannabis use in adolescence. However, the results of this latest study indicate that we might learn more if we turn this question on its head. Why are children with a lower academic achievement at age 11 less likely to smoke cannabis in late adolescence?

This opens up a new range of possible explanations for this link. For example, is low academic ability related to a low awareness of the possibilities to explore new experiences and a lesser willingness to challenge the orthodox beliefs of society compared to children of medium and high ability? This is still speculation – but it does identify a new set of questions for further research.

Why do these findings matter?

Cannabis is the most popular prohibited drug in the UK. A 2016 Home Office survey reported that more than 1.8m people in England and Wales, aged between 16 to 24 years, had used cannabis at least once in their lives, although the figures for use in the past year (975,000) and the past month (476,000) were much smaller. Therefore, a significant minority of young people in the UK have used a drug which we now know to be associated with changes in the structure of the brain, with changes in the ways in which brain cells communicate with each other, and with poorer performance on some tests of mental abilities such as memory, among other problems.

If these new findings in the BMJ prompt us to think in a new way about the relationship between academic ability and cannabis use in adolescence, then they will have served a very important purpose. In science, as in life generally, identifying the most appropriate question is an important first step to finding the most useful answer.The Conversation

About the Author

Philip Murphy, Professor of Psychology, Edge Hill University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Cultural/Subcultural Contexts of Marijuana Use at the Turn of the Twenty-First Century
behaviorBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $65.95

Buy Now

Cancer Treatment & Marijuana Therapy: Marijuana's Use in the Reduction of Nausea and Vomiting and for Appetite Stimulation in Cancer Patients. ... on m (Marijuana, Medicine & the Law Series)
behaviorBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Galen Pr
List Price: $23.95

Buy Now

Ganja in Jamaica: The Effects of Marijuana Use; Sponsored by the Center for Studies of Narcotic and Drug Abuse and the National Institute of Mental Health
behaviorAuthor: Vera Rubin
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Anchor

Buy Now