لماذا استخدام الهاتف المحمول حتى الأيدي الحرة أثناء القيادة هو خطير جدا

هل يستخدم الهاتف المحمول المحمول باليد خطيرًا عند القيادة؟

نعم فعلا. في الواقع ، الأدلة لا يمكن دحضها. مئات of بحث دراسات وقد أجريت في جميع أنحاء العالم ، وجميعهم يوافقون على أن استخدام الهواتف المحمولة أثناء القيادة أمر خطير ومنتشر. الباحثون لديهم مقدر أن دقائق 50 من الدردشات في الشهر تؤدي إلى زيادة بمقدار خمسة أضعاف في احتمال حدوث عطل.

كما يبدو أن الرسائل النصية والقيادة مشكلة كبيرة ، خاصة بين السائقين الأصغر سناً ("نص التوليد"). الدراسات التي أجريت في كل من المحاكاة وفي العالم الحقيقي أظهرت أن السائقين على الهاتف المحمول يقللون من مسحهم البصري للطريق إلى الأمام ، هم أكثر عرضة للنسج في حاراتهم على الانحناءات ، وأبطأ من الاستجابة للأخطار.

من السهل أن نفهم لماذا يعد استخدام الهاتف المحمول باليد مشكلة: فبالإضافة إلى وجود عينك على الطريق ، فمن ناحية ، فإنه من الصعب التنقل بين الانحناءات والرد على الأخطار. بالنسبة لكثير من الناس ، هذا هو السبب الواضح وراء حظر المكالمات المحمولة أثناء القيادة.

ولكن هناك مشكلة أخرى: فعل المحادثة نفسه هو إلهاء. إذا كان مستوى الصعوبة على الطريق يتطلب قدراً معيناً من تركيز السائق (أو "المعالجة المعرفية") ، لكن تعقيد المحادثة يتطلب أيضاً عمق التفكير ، فعندئذ فإن كلا النشاطين سوف يتنافسان على كمية محدودة من الموارد المعرفية. لا يمكننا حضور كل شيء في العالم في نفس الوقت ، لذلك يجب علينا إعطاء الأولوية لبعض المحفزات على الآخرين. إذا وضعنا الأولوية لمحادثة حول السلامة على الطريق ، فإننا نخاطر بحدوث تعطل.

فقط الكثير من الدماغ

واحد من بلادي الدراسات المفضلة في هذا المجال قام به مارسيل جوست في جامعة كارنيجي ميلون. قاد المشاركون على طول طريق متعرج في محاكاة بدائية ، يتم التحكم فيها عن طريق الماوس ، بينما كانوا مستلقين في ماسح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي لتسجيل نشاط الدماغ. في شرط واحد ، كان على المشاركين المشاركة في مهمة استيعاب الجمل أثناء القيادة ، على غرار الانخراط في محادثة هاتف محمول. بالمقارنة مع تجربة التحكم ، كان سلوك التوجيه في حالة "المهمة المزدوجة" أسوأ بكثير ، مع تصادمات أكثر تكرارًا مع حواف الطريق.

عندما نظروا إلى نشاط الدماغ ، أصبح واضحا لماذا. في حالة التحكم ، كان هناك الكثير من النشاط في الفص الجداري من الدماغ ، التي تعتبر حيوية للتجهيز المكاني. خلال المهمة المزدوجة ، أصبح التنشيط واضحا في الفص الصدغي ، مما يعكس معالجة الرسائل السمعية. هذه الزيادة في تنشيط الفص الصدغي تقابل انخفاضًا ملحوظًا في تنشيط الفص الجداري ، مما يشير بوضوح إلى أن المهمة السمعية كانت تولي الاهتمام ، وتحويلها بعيدًا عن مهمة القيادة الحرجة للسلامة.

كثير من هذا القبيل دراسات أثبتت أن مطالب إجراء محادثات ذات مغزى يمكن أن تستأثر بمبلغ كبير ، إن لم يكن الأغلبية ، من المخاطر المتزايدة أثناء القيادة. التأثير الضمني الواضح هو أن المكالمات الهاتفية بدون استخدام اليدين قد تكون بنفس خطورة الاتصال اليدوي. هذا الخطر أقل وضوحاً لدى الجمهور ، خاصة وأن حظر المكالمات الهاتفية المحمولة باليد يمكن أن يُنظر إليه على أنه بديل بديل "أكثر أماناً".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وبفضل هذا الحظر ، فإن السائقين على الأقل يعرفون أنهم يقومون بشيء غير قانوني ويحتمل أن يكونوا خطرين عند إجراء مكالمة محمولة ، لذا قد يتمنى المرء أن يهدئوا سلوكهم في القيادة للتعويض - عن طريق إبطاء السرعة ، على سبيل المثال. لكن السائقين المشاركين في محادثة خالية من اليدين قد يكون لديهم إحساس زائف بالأمن بسبب الدعم الضمني للقانون لهذه الوسيلة.

قد يجادل المعجبون بمكالمات التحدث الحر بأن مثل هذه المحادثات لا تختلف عن تلك التي يتم إجراؤها مع أحد الركاب في السيارة. ال دليلومع ذلك، يطرح للاختلاف. أحد الاختلافات الكبيرة بين المحادثات داخل السيارة والمحمول هو أن الراكب يمكنه رؤية ما يراه السائق. إذا كان السائق يحاول الدخول إلى طريق سريع سريع التدفق من طريق زلة ، فقد يغلق الراكب لمدة دقيقة حتى تنتهي المناورة.

ومع ذلك ، لا يستطيع القائمون بالتحدث عن بعد الوصول إلى هذه "المساحة المرئية المشتركة" ، وقد يستمرون في التحدث طوال الوقت. في الواقع، دليل يشير إلى أنه إذا أصبح السائق هادئًا في أوقات ارتفاع الطلب ، فقد يزيد الشريك البعيد مستوى اتصاله لملء الفراغ الاجتماعي الصامت. وبالتالي يمكن للمحادثة النقالة أن تتطلب المزيد من الاهتمام ، في أسوأ وقت ممكن.

القانون اليدوي ضروري ومهم ، ولكن إذا لم يتم دمجه مع تحذيرات حول مخاطر المكالمات دون استخدام اليدين ، فقد يؤدي ذلك دون قصد إلى الترويج لسلوك تشتيت وخطير بنفس الدرجة. لذا ، إذا كنت تميل إلى إجراء مكالمة أو التحدث بدون استخدام اليدين ، ففكر مرة أخرى. يمكن أن تقتل.

المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ديفيد كروندال ، أستاذ علم النفس ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترينت

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = defensive driving؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Using Even A Hands Free Mobile Phone While Driving Is So Dangerous

Is using a hand-held mobile phone really that dangerous when driving?

Yes. In fact, the evidence is irrefutable. Hundreds of research studies have been conducted around the world, and they all agree that use of mobile phones while driving is dangerous and pervasive. Researchers have estimated that 50 minutes’ of chatter a month leads to a five-fold increase in the likelihood of a crash.

Texting and driving also appears to be a significant problem, especially among younger drivers (“generation-text”). Studies conducted in both simulators and in the real world have shown that drivers on a mobile phone reduce their visual scanning of the road ahead, are more likely to weave within their lane on bends, and are slower to respond to hazards.

It is easy to understand why using a hand-held phone is a problem: in addition to having your eye of the road, with one hand on the wheel it is harder to navigate bends and respond to hazards. For many people, this is the obvious reason why hand-held calls are banned while driving.

But there is another problem: the act of conversation itself is a distraction. If the level of difficulty on the road demands a certain amount of driver concentration (or “cognitive processing”), but the complexity of the conversation also requires a depth of thought, then both activities will compete for a finite amount of cognitive resources. We cannot attend to everything in the world at the same time, so we must prioritise some stimuli over others. If we prioritise a conversation over road safety, then we risk a crash.

Only so much brain

One of my favourite studies in this area was undertaken by Marcel Just at Carnegie Mellon University. Participants drove along a winding road in a rudimentary simulator, controlled via a mouse, while lying in an fMRI scanner to record brain activity. In one condition, participants had to engage in a sentence comprehension task while driving, similar to engaging in a mobile phone conversation. Compared to a control trial, steering behaviour in this “dual-task” condition was much worse, with more frequent collisions with the road edges.

When they looked at brain activity, it became apparent why. In the control condition, there was a lot of activity in the parietal lobe of the brain, considered to be vital for spatial processing. During the dual task however, activation became apparent in the temporal lobes, reflecting the processing of the auditory messages. This increase in temporal-lobe activation corresponded with a significant decrease in parietal-lobe activation, clearly suggesting that the auditory task was commandeering attention, and diverting it away from the safety-critical driving task.

Many such studies have demonstrated that the demands of a meaningful conversation can account for a large amount, if not the majority, of the increased risk during driving. The obvious implication is that hands-free phone calls may be almost as dangerous as a hand-held call. This danger is less obvious to the public, especially as a ban on hand-held calls can be seen to support the “safer” hands-free alternative.

Thanks to the ban, at least drivers know they are doing something illegal and potentially dangerous when making a hand-held call, so one might hope that they moderate their driving behaviour to compensate – by slowing down, for example. But drivers who are engaged in a hands-free conversation may have a false sense of security due to the implicit support of the law for this medium.

Fans of hands-free calls may also argue that such conversations are no different to those held with a passenger in the car. The evidence, however, begs to differ. One big difference between in-car and mobile phone conversations is that the passenger can see what the driver sees. If the driver is trying to enter a fast-flowing motorway from a slip road, the passenger might, quite sensibly, shut up for a minute until the manoeuvre is complete.

The remote conversationalist, however, has no access to this “shared visual space”, and may continue talking throughout. Indeed, evidence suggests that if the driver becomes quiet at times of high demand, the remote partner may increase their level of communication to fill the silent, social void. Thus a mobile conversation can demand even more attention, at the worst possible time.

The hand-held law is necessary and important, but if it is not combined with warnings about the dangers of hands-free calls, then it may inadvertently promote an almost equally distracting and dangerous behaviour. So if you’re tempted to make or take a hands-free call, think again. It could kill.

The Conversation

About The Author

David Crundall, Professor of Psychology, Nottingham Trent University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Mindful Defensive Driving
behaviorAuthor: Gerald A. Hamel
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

ADVANCED DEFENSIVE DRIVING: Good Driving doesn’t happen by accident
behaviorAuthor: Bill Kennedy
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Independently published
List Price: $17.00

Buy Now

Learn to Drive Like a Pro: Lessons for Smart and Skillful Driving by a Leading Defensive Driving trainer (Volume 1)
behaviorAuthor: Anthony J Scotti
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: PhotoGraphics Publishing
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now