قضية الاختلالات المعيقة: التركيز على المجتمع والتعاون

قضية الاختلالات المعيقة: التركيز على المجتمع والتعاونمجمع Duwamish Cohousing في غرب سياتل ، واشنطن.
الصورة الائتمان: جو مابل

في السنوات الأخيرة ، بدأنا نشهد حالات مشاركة واعدة وممارسات تعاونية تقع في شراك أساليب التفكير والقيام الليبرالية الجديدة: تحويل أفكار السيارات والوقت إلى بنوك مثل Uber و TaskRabbit ، مفاهيم الإسكان المشترك المنتجة والمجتمعات ذات البوابات الحصرية ، وما إلى ذلك.

كيف يجب أن نمنع الإمكانات الاجتماعية لتقاسم الممارسات من أن يتم تحييدها من خلال قوة الأفكار النيوليبرالية والاقتصاد؟ كيف يمكن أن تنتشر الممارسات التعاونية الواعدة مع الحفاظ على قيمتها الاجتماعية ، أي المساهمة في الانتقال نحو مجتمع مرن ومستدام؟

للإجابة عن هذه الأسئلة ، من المفيد تقديم ثلاثة مفاهيم مترابطة: المنظمات التعاونية والسلع العلائقية والمشاعات الاجتماعية.

متعاون المنظمات ذات صلة لنا لسببين. كونها تستند إلى التعاون ، فإنها تسمح لنا بمواجهة المشاكل الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية المستعصية. كما أنها تولد قيمة اجتماعية. في الواقع ، عندما يتعاون الناس للحصول على نتيجة - مثل رعاية الأطفال أو كبار السن أو إقامة ورش عمل مجتمعية - قد ينتجون أيضًا ، كنوع من الآثار الجانبية ، السلع العلائقية - السلع غير المادية مثل الثقة ، والتعاطف ، والود ، والاهتمام - يعتمد وجودها على جودة التفاعلات البشرية.

في المقابل ، يمكن أن تضيف هذه السلع العلائقية في المجتمع حيث تم إنشاؤها ، بافتراض قيمة اجتماعية أكبر. أي أنها تصبح مشاعات اجتماعية. بتعبير أدق: يتم إنتاج المشاع الاجتماعية وزراعتها من خلال شبكة من التفاعلات بين الناس ، وبين الناس والأماكن التي يعيشون فيها. فهي متنوعة تمامًا ، تتراوح من الشعور بالسلامة في المدينة أو الثقة المتبادلة في الحي إلى وجهات النظر المشتركة حول حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية ، أو المواقف المفتوحة والشاملة للقادمين الجدد. قد يكون لديهم أيضا كفاءات محددة مثل الإبداع ، والقدرة على التصميم ، أو ريادة الأعمال. وعندما ينتشرون بشكل كاف في مجتمع ، يصبحون أحد جوانبها المميزة.

المشاع الاجتماعية هي الصمغ الذي يبقيها معا ، مما يعطي التماسك والمرونة الاجتماعية. ومن ثم ، فإن القيمة الاجتماعية للمنظمات التعاونية هي المساهمة التي قد تقدمها إلى عملية بناء المشاع الاجتماعية هذه.

يمكن للمنظمات التعاونية أن تنتج ما هو مطلوب بشدة لمكافحة المرض الاجتماعي من فرط التفرد ، وفقدان التماسك الاجتماعي ، والهشاشة التي تميز بشكل متزايد المجتمعات الحالية. القضية هي بكل وسيلة مشكلة تصميم. إذن ، كيف نجعل هذه القيمة الاجتماعية المحتملة حقيقية؟ وليس فقط في المراحل الأولية للممارسات الواعدة ، ولكن أيضًا عندما تنضج وتنجح ، كيف نجعلها تنتشر؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لتقييم المنظمات التعاونية ، يجب النظر في البعدين: فعاليتها وقيمتها الاجتماعية. تشير الفعالية إلى النتائج التي تحققها فيما يتعلق بالجهود التي تطلبها من الجهات الفاعلة المعنية والقيمة الاجتماعية التي تقف على قدرتها على إنتاج السلع ذات الصلة.

فاعلية / قيمة القيمة الاجتماعية

إنتاج القيمة الاجتماعية ليست مجانية. فالسلع العلائقية التي بنيت عليها تتطلب وقتًا واهتمامًا - وهما موردان محدودان جدًا. لذلك ، في تصور المنظمات التعاونية ، تظهر المقايضة بين الفاعلية والقيمة الاجتماعية: البحث عن تعظيم المستوى الأول ، بهدف تقليل الوقت والوقت المطلوبين ، تخفيض الدرجة الثانية. والعكس بالعكس.

في واقع الأمر ، لتكون أكثر سهولة وقدرة على الاعتماد من قبل عدد كبير من الناس ، يُطلب من المنظمات التعاونية أن تكون أكثر فعالية. وباسم هذه الفعالية ، يميلون إلى فقدان قيمتها الاجتماعية. والنتيجة هي أنه على الرغم من نجاحها من الناحية العملية ، وليس توليد السلع ذات الصلة ، فإنها لا تساهم في عملية بناء المشاع الاجتماعي. وبالتالي ، فإن انتشارها لا يساهم في تحسين الجودة الاجتماعية من حيث التماسك والمرونة.

على العكس من ذلك ، إذا كانت القيمة الاجتماعية عالية جداً ، فإن التعاون مطلوب للغاية (من حيث الوقت والاهتمام) ، ولهذا السبب نفسه ، فعاليته وإمكانية الوصول إليه - أو يُنظر إليه على أنه منخفض -. لذلك ، ليس لدى الكثير من الناس إمكانية و / أو الرغبة في المشاركة. والنتيجة هي أن مثل هذه الحالات ، على الرغم من أن المنظمات يمكن أن تقوم بعمل مثير للاهتمام وذات مغزى ، فإنها لا تساهم في تحسين المجتمع بشكل عام. في الواقع ، فإن السلع العلائقية التي تنتجها ، والتي تقتصر على مجموعات صغيرة من الجهات الفاعلة الملتزمة للغاية ، لا تتراكم أو تصل أو تصبح مشاع اجتماعية.

ولذلك ، فإن جوهر أي استراتيجية تصميم تهدف إلى نشر المنظمات التعاونية دون فقدان قيمتها الاجتماعية يتمثل في تحديد ، كل حالة على حدة ، أنسب التوازن بين الفعالية والقيمة الاجتماعية. ويجب أن تكون فعالة بما يكفي للوصول إلى أعداد أكبر من الناس ، وفي نفس الوقت ، يجب أن تُمنح تلك السلع العلائقية التي قد يقدرها الأشخاص الذين يمكن أن يكونوا متورطين في الإنتاج وتكون متاحة للإنتاج. عندما يتم العثور على هذا التوازن بنجاح ، تنتشر هذه المنظمات التعاونية والقيم الاجتماعية ذات الصلة أيضًا ، وتتعاون في عملية بناء المشاعات الاجتماعية.

لنأخذ على سبيل المثال ، 500 أو حدائق المجتمع في مدينة نيويورك التي تضم عددًا كبيرًا من الأشخاص الذين يعملون بروح المجتمع. هذا النوع من السلوك التعاوني لديه القدرة على الاستمرار عبر الزمن - حيث توجد الآن بعض الحدائق لأكثر من سنوات 30. لقد تم الحصول على هذه النتيجة الرائعة بفضل الفهم المتبادل لأولئك المعنيين ، والأهم من ذلك ، وبدعم من منظمة عامة ، إبهام أخضرالتي تعزز بلطف المجتمعات من البستانيين وتعطيهم بعض القواعد البسيطة.

في رأيي ، يخبرنا هذا المثال بوضوح كيف يمكن تحقيق التوازن بين الفعالية والقيمة الاجتماعية من خلال نظام مصمم بشكل مناسب - أو حتى أفضل ، مصمم بشكل مشترك - للمنتجات والخدمات والإجراءات والقواعد والدعم الاقتصادي. كونه معروفًا جدًا ، فإن هذا المثال له ميزة تتطلب فقط بضع كلمات ليتم تقديمها.

لحسن الحظ ، يمكن العثور على العديد من الأنواع الأخرى الأقل شهرة في جميع مجالات الحياة اليومية. واحد من المفضلة هو برنامج للحياة التعاونية المتقدمة في ميلانو من قبل مؤسسة الإسكان الاجتماعي التي يمكن اعتبارها تطوراً ناضجًا لفكرة الإسكان المشترك. في هذه الحالة ، تم دعم مئات العائلات ، في العديد من المشاريع المختلفة ، في عمليات بناء المجتمع التي حدثت بالتوازي مع عمليات بناء المنازل المستقبلية. وكان الهدف هو دعم تعاونهم في تصميم منازلهم ومساحاتهم المشتركة وإدارتها. وفي هذه الحالة أيضًا ، كان دور مؤسسة - مؤسسة الإسكان الاجتماعي - هو إنشاء نظام تمكيني قادر على دعم عملية التعلم برفق: فالناس ، الذين لم يكونوا يعرفون في البداية بعضهم البعض ، كان عليهم تعلم كيفية التعاون في طريقة فعالة (في التصميم ومن ثم في الإدارة التعاونية لمنازلهم). أنشأ البرنامج تفاعلات ودية وانفتاح بين المجموعة.

ما الذي توضحه لنا هذه الأمثلة ، والعديد من الأمثلة المشابهة الأخرى التي يمكن اقتراحها؟

وفيما يتعلق بمسار الابتكار ، فإنها تكشف أنه من الممكن الانتقال من حلول مناسبة لعدد قليل من الأشخاص الملتزمين (الأبطال الاجتماعيين الذين بدأوا تطبيقاتهم الأولى) ، إلى النظم البيئية التي توفر فرصًا لحل المشكلات التي تنتج القيم الاجتماعية للعديد من المشاركين الأقل التزامًا : الأشخاص العاديون الذين تتناقض خياراتهم العادية مع الاتجاهات السائدة نحو فرط الفردانية والهشاشة الاجتماعية. سأتصل بالشروط الخاصة جداً التي يمكن فيها القيام بهذه الاختيارات "طبيعية مدمرة".

تصميم لحالة طبيعية مزعجة

إنني أعني بحالتها الطبيعية المدمرة مجموعة من الممارسات التي قد تصبح ، رغم أنها قد تصبح طبيعية في سياق معين (وبالتالي يمكن أن تنتشر محليًا) ، مدمرة في سياقات أخرى ، حيث لا تزال الممارسات السائدة هي المسيطرة. على سبيل المثال ، في العديد من الأماكن في العالم اليوم ، كما هو الحال في مثال مدينة نيويورك ، لا تحتاج إلى أن تكون بطلا اجتماعيا إذا كنت ترغب في قضاء بضع ساعات في الأسبوع في حديقة المجتمع.

وينطبق الشيء نفسه على اعتماد بعض أشكال الحياة التعاونية أو الذهاب مع أسرتك لشراء البقالة في سوق المزارعين. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأفراد والأسر الذين يقومون بذلك ، مع اختياراتهم ، مع الحياة الطبيعية - بالنسبة لهم - من أفعالهم ، تحدث ثورة في التخطيط والإدارة الحضرية ، والوقوف ضد الشركات الزراعية الغذائية الكبيرة وغير المستدامة.

بالنظر إلى ذلك ، ما الذي يمكن فعله لتمديد الحالة الطبيعية المدمرة إلى مناطق أكبر؟ في رأيي ، تكمن الإجابة في تطوير ثلاثة أنشطة تصميم مترابطة:

1. تجد ، كل حالة على حدة ، أفضل توازن بين الفعالية والقيمة الاجتماعية.

2. تحسين النظام البيئي الاجتماعي - التقني الحالي من أجل خلق بيئة يمكن أن تظهر فيها المنظمات التعاونية وتنشر. وهذا يعني تصور وتطوير العناصر المادية وغير المادية المناسبة مثل المنصات الرقمية والمنتجات والأماكن والخدمات والمعايير والحوافز.

3. توليد السرد على الرفاهية التعاونية وعلى السلع العلائقية والمشاعات الاجتماعية التي ينبغي أن تستند إليها. في الواقع ، لتوسيع مجالات الحالة الطبيعية المدمرة ، نحتاج إلى كل من الممارسات الجديدة والأفكار الجديدة. بتعبير أدق ، نحن بحاجة إلى ممارسات تخريبية تستند إلى أفكار جديدة على الرفاهية.

في الختام ، أود أن أؤكد على هذه النقطة الأخيرة: على الرغم من أن قضايا التصميم العملي للفعالية وإمكانية الوصول مهمة لتصميم المنظمات التعاونية ، إلا أن القضايا الثقافية لا تقل أهمية. إنهم يمنحون هذه المنظمات فرصة للنمو والحفاظ على قيمة اجتماعية ذات معنى. في الواقع ، عند إنشاء منظمات تعاونية لتقديم خدمة ، فإن رؤية مشتركة لما يتم القيام به معًا ولماذا يجب القيام به هي قيمة للغاية. على وجه الخصوص ، نحن بحاجة إلى رؤية تعترف بقيمة السلع العلائقية والمشاعات الاجتماعية لكل من رفاهنا الشخصي والاجتماعي.

بالنظر باهتمام من حولنا ، يمكننا ملاحظة أن هذه الرؤية آخذة في الظهور. ولكنني أرى أنها لا تزال ضعيفة وأحيانًا ضحلة. للمساعدة في جعلها أقوى وأعمق هي قضية تصميم مهمة للغاية.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على وللمشاركة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أسس إزيو مانزيني ، وهو مفكر بارز في التصميم من أجل الاستدامة ، DESIS ، وهي شبكة دولية للتصميم من أجل الابتكار الاجتماعي والاستدامة. وهو أستاذ فخري في Politecnico di Milano ، وأستاذ كرسي في جامعة لندن للفنون ، وهو حالياً أستاذ زائر في جامعة Tongji ، بشنغهاي ، وجامعة Jiangnan ، في Wuxi.


كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = community sustainability؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Case for Disruptive Normality: Focusing on Community and Collaboration

The Case for Disruptive Normality: Focusing on Community and CollaborationThe Duwamish Cohousing complex in West Seattle, Washington.
Photo credit: Joe Mabel

In recent years, we’ve started to see cases of promising sharing and collaborative practices falling into the traps of neoliberal ways of thinking and doing: carpooling and time-banking ideas transforming into the likes of Uber and TaskRabbit, co-housing concepts producing closed and exclusive gated communities, and so on.

How should we prevent the social potential of sharing practices from being neutralized by the power of the neoliberal ideas and economy? How can promising collaborative practices spread while maintaining their social value, which is to contribute in the transition toward a resilient and sustainable society?

To answer these questions, it is helpful to introduce three interlinked concepts: collaborative organizations, relational goods, and social commons.

Collaborative organizations are relevant for us for two reasons. Being based on collaboration, they permit us to face otherwise intractable social, environmental, and economic problems. They also generate social value. In fact, when people collaborate to get a result — like taking care of kids or the elderly or setting up community workshops — they may also produce, as a kind of side effect, relational goods — immaterial goods such as trust, empathy, friendliness, and attention — the existence of which depends on the quality of human interactions.

In turn, these relational goods can add up in the community where they have been generated, assuming a larger social value. That is, they become social commons. More precisely: Social commons are produced and cultivated by a mesh of interactions between people, and between people and the places where they live. They are quite diverse, ranging from the sense of safety in a city or the mutual trust in a neighborhood to common views on human rights and democracy, or to open and inclusive attitudes newcomers. They may also have specific competences such as creativity, design capability, or entrepreneurship. And when they are sufficiently spread in a society, they become one of its characterizing aspects.

Social commons are the glue that keeps it together, giving cohesion and social resilience. The collaborative organizations’ social value is, therefore, the contribution they may give to this social commons building process.

Collaborative organizations may produce what is desperately needed to fight the social disease of hyper-individualization, loss of social cohesion, and fragility that are increasingly characterizing present societies. The issue is by all means a design issue. So, how do we make this potential social value real? And not only in the promising practices initial stages, but also when it matures and is successful, how do we make it spread?   

To evaluate collaborative organizations, two dimensions must be considered: their effectiveness and their social value. Effectiveness indicates the results they achieve in relation to the efforts they ask of involved actors and social value stands for their ability to produce relational goods.

The effectiveness/social value trade off

Social value production is not for free. The relational goods on which it is built requires time and attention — two resources that are very limited. Therefore, in conceiving collaborative organizations, a trade off between effectiveness and social value appears: the search for maximizing the first, aiming at reducing also the requested time and attention, downgrades the second. And vice versa.

As a matter of fact, to be more accessible and capable to be adopted by a large number of people, collaborative organizations are asked to be more effective. And in the name of this effectiveness, they tend to lose their social value. The result is that, even though they are successful in practical terms, not generating relational goods, they do not contribute to the social commons building process. And therefore, their spread doesn’t contribute to improve the social quality in terms of cohesion and resilience.

On the contrary, if social value is very high, collaboration is highly demanding too (in terms of time and attention) and, for this same reason, its effectiveness and accessibility is — or is perceived to be — low. Therefore, not many people have the possibility and/or the will to participate. The result is that cases like these, even though the organizations could be doing interesting and meaningful work, they do not contribute to the overall society improvement. In fact, the relational goods they produce, being confined in small groups of highly committed actors, do not accumulate, connect, or become social commons.

Therefore, the core of any design strategy aiming at spreading collaborative organizations without losing their social value consists in defining, case by case, the most appropriate balance between effectiveness and social value. They must be effective enough to be accessible to larger numbers of people and, at the same time, they must be endowed with those relational goods that the people who could potentially be involved might appreciate and be available to produce. When this balance is successfully found, these collaborative organizations spread and the related social values too, collaborating in the social commons building process. 

Take, for example, the 500 or so community gardens in New York City that involve a large number of people operating with a spirit of community. This kind of collaborative behaviour has the capacity to last through time — some gardens have now existed for more than 30 years. This fantastic result has been obtained thanks to the mutual understanding of those involved and, most importantly, and by the support of a public organization, GreenThumb, which gently strengthens the communities of gardeners and gives them some simple rules.

In my view, this example clearly tells us how the balance between effectiveness and social value can be made possible by an appropriately designed — or, even better, co-designed — system of products, services, procedures, norms, and economic support. Being very well known, this example has the advantage of requiring only a few words to be presented.

Luckily, several other lesser-known ones can be found in all areas of everyday life. One of my favorites is a program of collaborative living developed in Milan by the Social Housing Foundation that can be seen as a mature evolution of the co-housing idea. In this case, hundreds of families, in several different projects, have been supported in community-building processes that happened in parallel to the their future home-building processes. The aim has been to support their collaboration in designing and managing their houses and common spaces. In this case, too, the role of an institution — the Social Housing Foundation — was to create an enabling system capable of gently supporting a learning process: people, who initially didn’t know each other, had to learn how to collaborate in an effective way (in the design and then in the collaborative management of their homes). The program established friendly interactions and openness among the group.

What do these examples, and the many other similar ones that could be proposed, show us? 

In terms of innovation trajectory, they reveal that it is possible to move from solutions suitable for a few, committed people (the social heroes who started their first applications), to ecosystems offering opportunities to solve problems producing social values to many, less committed participants: normal people whose normal choices contradict the mainstream trends towards hyper-individualization and social fragility. I will call the very special conditions in which these choices can be done “disruptive normality.”

Design for a disruptive normality

By disruptive normality I mean a set of practices that, even though they might become normal in a given context (and therefore can locally spread), could be disruptive in other contexts, where mainstream practices are still dominant. For instance, in several places in the world today, as in the New York City example, you do not need to be a social hero if you like to spend a few hours per week in a community garden.

The same is true to adopt some forms of collaborative living or to go with your family to buy groceries in a farmers’ market. Nevertheless, individuals and families who do it, with their choices, with the normality — for them — of their actions, revolutionize urban planning and managing, and stand up against the large and unsustainable agro-food corporations.

Given that, what can be done to extend disruptive normality to larger areas? The answer, in my view, is to develop three interlinked design activities:

1. Find, case by case, the best equilibrium between effectiveness and social value.

2.  Improve the existing socio-technical ecosystem in order to create an environment where collaborative organizations can emerge and spread. This means to conceive and develop appropriate material and immaterial elements such as digital platforms, products, places, services, norms, and incentives.

3. Generate narratives on collaborative wellbeing and on the relational goods and social commons on which it should be based. In fact, to extend the areas of disruptive normality we need both new practices and new ideas. More precisely, we need disruptive practices based on new ideas on wellbeing. 

To conclude, I would like to underline this last point: Even though the practical design issues of effectiveness and accessibility are important to designing collaborative organizations, the cultural issues are just as important. They give such organizations a chance to thrive and maintain a meaningful social value. In fact, when creating collaborative organizations to deliver a service, a common vision of what is being done together and why it needs to be done is very valuable. In particular, we need a vision that recognizes the value of relational goods and social commons for both our personal and social well-being.

Looking attentively around us, we can observe that this vision is emerging. But, in my view, it is still weak and, sometimes, too shallow. To help in making it stronger and deeper is a very important design issue.

This article originally appeared on Shareable

About The Author

Ezio Manzini, a leading thinker in design for sustainability, founded DESIS, an international network on design for social innovation and sustainability. He is Honorary Professor at the Politecnico di Milano, Chair Professor at University of the Arts London, and currently guest Professor at Tongji University, Shanghai, and Jiangnan University, Wuxi.


Related Books

Planning for Sustainability: Creating Livable, Equitable and Ecological Communities
behaviorAuthor: Stephen M. Wheeler
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $81.00

Buy Now

Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future
behaviorAuthor: Bill McKibben
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Breakthrough Communities: Sustainability and Justice in the Next American Metropolis (Urban and Industrial Environments)
behaviorBinding: Paperback
Publisher: The MIT Press
List Price: $34.00

Buy Now