وقد وضعت علماء النفس طريقة جديدة لاختبار التعاطف باستخدام الصور المؤلمة

وقد وضعت علماء النفس طريقة جديدة لاختبار التعاطف باستخدام الصور المؤلمة

طور علماء النفس اختبارات جديدة ونماذج رياضية للمساعدة في التقاط وتحديد الأحكام الخاطئة والمعنوية التي نتخذها طوال الوقت ، مثل مشاهدة لقطات من بلد مزقته الحرب.

يمكن لبعض الحالات أن تؤدي إلى تقييمات فورية معنوية ومتعاطفة ، حتى عندما يتم توجيهها لمواجهة هذه المشاعر ، وفقًا لسلسلة من الدراسات التي تبحث في الأحكام الأخلاقية البديهية للناس والاستجابات التعاطفية.

يقول داريل كاميرون ، الذي يدير مختبر التعاطف الأخلاقي والمعنوي كأستاذ مساعد في علم النفس وأحد الباحثين المشاركين في أخلاقيات الصخرة: "لقد نشأت هذه الدراسات بالفعل عن سؤال الصورة الكبيرة: كيف يتفاعل الناس أخلاقياً مع العالم من حولهم؟" المعهد في ولاية بنسلفانيا.

"على الرغم من أن العديد من النظريات تركز على التفكير كجزء مهم من الحياة الأخلاقية ، في إطار علم النفس في العقدين الماضيين ، تم تطوير الكثير من النظريات الجديدة التي تشير إلى الأهمية المركزية لردود الفعل البديهية في حياتنا الأخلاقية".

"كيف تعرف شخصًا يشعر بالتعاطف؟ يمكنك فقط أن تسألهم ولكن قد يكون لديهم الدافع للرد بطريقة معينة ... "

ويضيف كاميرون أنه على الرغم من أنه لا يزال هناك الكثير من العمل ، إلا أن هذه الإجراءات من أجل الحكم الأخلاقي البسيط والتعاطف يمكن أن تؤدي إلى اختبارات تساعد علماء الإجرام وعلماء النفس على فهم السلوكيات المرضية بشكل أفضل. يعمل مختبر كاميرون حالياً على توسيع المهام لفهم الحدس الأخلاقي والتعاطف مع الألم في المجموعات السريرية والسجناء.

يقول كاميرون: "في حالة المرضى النفسيين المجرمين ، فإنهم أناس يمكن أن يخبروك بالضبط بما هو صحيح وصحيح أخلاقياً ، لكنهم غالباً ما يفتقرون إلى هذه البديهيات العاطفية التي تحافظ على السلوك المناسب أخلاقياً". "ربما ، في المستقبل ، يمكن أن نجد طريقة لالتقاط هذه التفاعلات الهضمية الفورية والتي يمكن أن تساعدنا بدورنا في تعلم كيفية التنبؤ بمن سيتصرف في المواقف الأخلاقية".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ويتجنب اختبار التعاطف الجديد التقرير الذاتي الذي يمكن أن تؤثر عليه المصادر الخارجية ، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك فيكتوريا سبرينغ ، وهو طالب دراسات عليا في علم النفس ويعمل مع كاميرون.

"كيف تعرف شخصًا يشعر بالتعاطف؟ يمكنك فقط أن تسألهم ولكن قد يكون لديهم الدافع للاستجابة بطريقة معينة بسبب ما يعتقدون أن الباحث أو المجتمع يتوقع منهم أن يقولوه ". دعونا نقيس التدابير الضمنية ، مثل مهمة تحديد الألم ، في قياس التعاطف بطريقة غير مكلفة وسريعة ولا تعتمد على التقرير الذاتي. "

الحكم الأخلاقي السريع

الباحثون ، الذين تقرير النتائج التي توصلوا إليها في الدراسة على الحكم الأخلاقي في مجلة معرفةإنشاء مهمة ضمنية تقيس الحكم الأخلاقي بدون تقرير ذاتي ، تسمى مهمة التصنيف الأخلاقي. لقد قاموا بتوظيف أشخاص من 444 للمشاركة في الدراسة.

كجزء من المهمة ، يرى المشاركون كلمتين - وهما هدف رئيسي وهدف - تومض على شاشة الكمبيوتر في تتابع سريع. ظهرت الكلمة الأولى ، أو البرايمر ، لأول مرة عن 100 ميلي ثانية - حوالي طول فترة غمضة عين - متبوعة بكلمة ثانية ، أو كلمة مستهدفة.

يُطلب من المشارك أن يتجاهل البرايم وأن يتخذ حكماً أخلاقياً حول ما إذا كانت الكلمة المستهدفة خاطئة أو محايدة ، أو في مكان ما بينهما ، في أقل من ثانية. شملت الشروط الخاطئة أخلاقياً "الإبادة الجماعية" و "السرقة" و "التعذيب" ، وغيرها. كان "الصفير" و "وقت الفراغ" و "المرور" من بين المصطلحات المحايدة أخلاقياً.

يقول كاميرون: "في التجربة ، يتم إخبارك بالرد بأسرع ما يمكن وعدم الرد على تلك الكلمة الأولى". "ما نراه ، على نحو موثوق في جميع التجارب ، هو أن الناس يظهرون تأثيرًا أساسيًا. المحتوى الأخلاقي لتلك الكلمة الأولى ينحاز إلى حكمك حول أخلاقية الكلمة الثانية. لذا ، إذا رأيت الكلمة ، فإن "القتل" يضيء بسرعة ، على الرغم من أنه يُطلب منك تجاهلها ، فغالبًا ما ستحكم عن طريق الخطأ على الكلمة المستهدفة - على سبيل المثال ، "الخبز" - كخطأ أخلاقي . هذا الحدس العاطفي لديك أن الكلمة هي تنزف خطأ وأنت ارتكبت خطأ في الحكم.

أخذ الباحثون هذه البيانات وخلقوا نموذجًا إحصائيًا يمكن أن يُظهر ما إذا كان الأداء في المهمة مرتبطًا بالتفاعلات الأخلاقية المعوية أو ما إذا كانت تفاعلات المشاركين مرتبطة بعوامل أخرى قد تؤثر على التحكم.

يقول كاميرون: "على سبيل المثال ، ربما إذا كنت متعبًا ، فقد تم تخفيض الرقابة التنفيذية الخاصة بك والتي قد تشكل أدائك".

ووجد الفريق أن البديهيات الأخلاقية التلقائية ، كما تم الاستيلاء عليها بواسطة النموذج الرياضي ، تم تخفيضها للأشخاص الذين قيموا أعلى في الاعتلال النفسي وزادت بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يشعرون بالذنب أكثر. كما أظهر النموذج أن هذه الحدس تتوافق مع سلوك التصويت الحقيقي في العالم.

أي صوت للتعبير عن الألم

وجد الباحثون تأثيرات مشابهة في الدراسة على التعاطف. التعاطف هو القدرة على المشاركة في تجارب الآخرين وصدها ، مثل الألم.

في تلك السلسلة من الدراسات ، نشرت في المجلة عاطفةتم تجنيد المشاركين 617 لإكمال تدبير ضمني للتعاطف دون الاعتماد على تقرير الذات ، ودعا مهمة تحديد الألم. هذا النهج مشابه للدراسة حول الحكم الأخلاقي ، إلا أن المشاركين يرون الصور بدلاً من الكلمات.

عرضت الموضوعات مرة أخرى مع صورة أولية ، تليها صورة مستهدفة ، وأخبر بعدم السماح لرئيس الوزراء بتغيير إجابته. كانت الصور الرئيسية أو المستهدفة إما صورة لإبرة تخترق يدها بألم ، أو فرشاة Q-tip ضد الإصبع.

كان من المتوقع من المشاركين ، الذين طُلب منهم تجاهل الصورة الأولى ، الإجابة في أقل من ثانية عما إذا كانت التجربة المعروضة في الصورة المستهدفة مؤلمة أم لا.

يقول كاميرون: "لقد تبين في الكثير من دراسات علم الأعصاب المذهلة أنه إذا رأيتك في ألم ، فإنني أشارك في ألمك". "لقد أدلى آدم سميث بملاحظة مشهورة من أواخر القرن 18th أنه إذا شاهدت ضربة جسدية تقريبًا لضرب شخص ما ، فإنك تتراجع عن نفسك قليلاً. وهذا ما كنا نحاول تصويره في هذه الدراسة ".

يقول كاميرون إن الصورة الأساسية — سواء كانت مؤلمة أو غير مؤلمة — قد أثرت على استجابة الشخص للصورة المستهدفة. كان التعاطف التلقائي ، كما تم التقاطه في النموذج الرياضي ، مرتبطًا أيضًا بالتبرعات الخيرية.

يقول كاميرون: "إن هذه الإجراءات من التفاعلات الأخلاقية والتعاطفية البديهية ، عن طريق تجاوز تقرير الذات واستخدام النمذجة الرياضية لتحديد هذه العمليات ، يمكن أن تحفز التطورات النظرية والتطبيقات العملية الجديدة في دراسة الأخلاق البشرية".

في الدراسة حول التعاطف ، عمل كاميرون أيضًا مع أندرو ر. تود من جامعة أيوا. في الدراسة على التقييمات الأخلاقية ، عمل مع باحثين من جامعة نورث كارولينا. جامعة ديوك؛ وجامعة تورنتو.

مصدر: ولاية بنسلفانيا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = develop empathy؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Psychologists Have Developed A New Way To Test Empathy Using Painful Images

Psychologists Have Developed A New Way To Test Empathy Using Painful Images

Psychologists have developed new tests and mathematical models to help capture and quantify the snap moral and empathetic judgments we make all the time, such as when seeing footage from a war-ravaged country.

Certain situations could trigger instant moral and empathetic assessments, even when they were directed to counteract those feelings, according to a series of studies looking at people’s intuitive moral judgments and empathic responses.

“The studies were really sparked by this big picture question: How do people morally react to the world around them?” says Daryl Cameron, who directs the Empathy and Moral Psychology Laboratory as an assistant professor of psychology and a research associate in the Rock Ethics Institute at Penn State.

“Although many theories focus on reasoning as an important part of moral life, within psychology in the past two decades, a lot of new theories have been developed that point to the central importance of intuitive reactions in our moral lives.”

“How do you know someone is feeling empathy? You could just ask them but they might be motivated to respond in a certain way…”

Cameron adds that although much work remains, these measures for intuitive moral judgment and empathy could lead to tests to help criminologists and psychologists better understand pathological behavior. Cameron’s laboratory is currently extending the tasks to understand moral intuitions and empathy for pain in clinical and incarcerated populations.

“In the case of criminal psychopaths, these are people who can tell you exactly what is morally right and wrong, but they often appear to lack these emotional intuitions that sustain ethically appropriate behavior,” says Cameron. “So, perhaps in the future, we can find a way to capture these immediate gut reactions and that could, in turn, help us learn how to predict who is going to behave in moral situations.”

The new test of empathy avoids self-report, which outside sources can influence, says coauthor Victoria Spring, a graduate student in psychology who works with Cameron.

“How do you know someone is feeling empathy? You could just ask them but they might be motivated to respond in a certain way because of what they think the researcher or society expects them to say,” says Spring. “Implicit measures, such as the pain identification task, let us measure empathy in a way that is inexpensive, quick, and doesn’t rely on self-report.”

Quick moral judgment

The researchers, who report their findings on the study on moral judgment in the journal Cognition, created an implicit task that measures moral judgment without self-report, called the moral categorization task. They recruited 444 people to take part in the study.

As part of the task, participants see two words—a prime and a target—that flashed on a computer screen in quick succession. The first word, or prime, appeared for about 100 milliseconds—about as long as a blink of an eye—followed by a second word, or target word.

The participant is asked to disregard the prime and make a moral judgment on whether the target word is wrong or neutral, or somewhere in between, in under a second. Morally wrong terms included “genocide,” “stealing,” and “torture,” among others. “Whistling,” “leisure,” and “passage” were among the morally neutral terms.

“In the experiment, you’re being told to respond as fast as possible and not to respond to that first word,” says Cameron. “What we see, reliably across all the experiments, is that people show a priming effect. The moral content of that first word biases your judgment about the morality of the second word. So, if you see the word, ‘murder’ flash up really quickly, even though you’re told to ignore it, you’re then much more likely to mistakenly judge the target word—for example, ‘baking’—as morally wrong. That affective intuition you have that a word is wrong bleeds over and you make a mistake in judgment.”

The researchers took this data and created a statistical model that could show whether the performance on the task was related to gut moral reactions or whether the participant’s reactions were related to other factors that could affect control.

“For example, maybe if you’re tired, your executive control is reduced and that might shape your performance,” Cameron says.

The team found that automatic moral intuitions, as captured by the mathematical model, were reduced for people who rated higher on psychopathy and increased for people who tend to feel more guilt. The model also showed that these intuitions matched up with real-world voting behavior.

Ouch

The researchers found similar effects in the study on empathy. Empathy is the ability to share in and resonate with others’ experiences, such as pain.

In that series of studies, published in the journal Emotion, 617 participants were recruited to complete an implicit measure for empathy without relying on self-report, called the pain identification task. This approach is similar to the study on moral judgment, except that participants see images instead of words.

The subjects were again presented with a prime image, followed by a target image, and told not to allow the prime to change their answer. The prime or target images were either a picture of a needle painfully piercing a hand, or a Q-tip brushing against a finger.

Participants, who were asked to disregard the first image, were expected to answer in under a second whether the experience displayed in the target image was painful or not.

“It’s been shown in a lot of fascinating neuroscience studies that if I see you in pain, I vicariously share in your pain,” says Cameron. “Adam Smith made a famous observation from the late 18th century that if you see a physical blow about to hit someone, you flinch back yourself a little. And that’s what we were attempting to capture in this study.”

Cameron says that the prime image—whether painful or not—did influence the person’s response to the target photo. Automatic empathy, as captured in the mathematical model, was also associated with charitable donations.

“These measures of intuitive moral and empathic reactions, by moving beyond self-report and using mathematical modeling to quantify these processes, can hopefully spur new theoretical developments and practical applications in the study of human morality,” says Cameron.

In the study on empathy, Cameron also worked with Andrew R. Todd of University of Iowa. In the study on moral evaluations, he worked with researchers from the University of North Carolina; Duke University; and the University of Toronto.

Source: Penn State

Related Books

The Art of Empathy: A Complete Guide to Life's Most Essential Skill
attitudesAuthor: Karla McLaren
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Sounds True
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

Developing Empathy: A Biopsychosocial Approach to Understanding Compassion for Therapists and Parents
attitudesAuthor: Katharina Manassis
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $49.95

Buy Now

Through Other Eyes: Developing Empathy and Multicultural Perspectives in the Social Studies (Pippin Teacher's Library)
attitudesAuthor: Joan Skolnick
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Pippin Publishing
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}