ماذا حدث عندما قدمنا ​​في سن الرابعة من العمر إلى منزل قديم

ماذا حدث عندما قدمنا ​​في سن الرابعة من العمر إلى منزل قديم
انهض واذهب قناة 4 (UK)

الكذب على الأرض يتظاهر بأنه هدير مثل الأسد يمكن أن يفعل العجائب لرفاهية الرجل المسن. هذه ليست حقيقة علمية ، لكنها كانت واحدة من اللحظات المدهشة والتي لا تنسى أثناء قيامنا بعمل برنامج تلفزيوني قدم مجموعة من الشباب مع سكان قرية تقاعد.

حلقتين من منزل الشعب القديم ل 4 سنة أولدز انطلاق لاستكشاف ازدياد عزلة كبار السن في مجتمعاتنا.

وقد تبين بالفعل تأثير الأطفال الصغار وكبار السن الذين يشاركون مرافق الرعاية النهارية إيجابية بشكل عام. ولكن هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها إجراء تجربة داخل المملكة المتحدة لقياس تأثير التفاعل بين الأجيال على صحة وسعادة المجموعة القديمة.

تم جمع عشرة أطفال يبلغون من العمر أربعة أعوام وأفراد من 11 في أواخر 80s لمدة ستة أسابيع في دار حضانة جديدة داخل مجتمع تقاعد في مدينة بريستول. قبل أن نبدأ ، تم قياس المشاركين من كبار السن على إدراكهم والمزاج والاكتئاب ، فضلا عن القدرات البدنية بما في ذلك التوازن والقدرة على النهوض والمشي ("Timed Up and Go"). تم أخذ هذه القياسات مرة أخرى في ثلاثة أسابيع ومرة ​​أخرى في نهاية برنامج الأسابيع الستة.

تألف البرنامج من جدول زمني للأنشطة التي أعطيت الأجيال والزمان للمشاركة الجسدية والاجتماعية. وشملت الألعاب ، التي تتطلب في بعض الأحيان الأفراد النزول على الأرض وخارجها ، والمشي في الهواء الطلق ، والتنزه والمشاركة في الأنشطة الداخلية باستخدام مجموعة متنوعة من الحرف اليدوية والأعمال الفنية. تضمن الأسبوع الأخير أيضًا يومًا رياضيًا مشتركًا بين الأجيال وإنتاجًا مسرحيًا قصيرًا.

بعد ثلاثة أسابيع ، في منتصف الطريق ، كانت هناك تحسينات ملحوظة في درجات قياس السكان. كشفت القياسات النهائية عن تحسن كبير في غالبية المقاييس ، حيث أظهر 80٪ من السكان تحسنا في "Timed Up and Go". كانت نقاط قوة التحمل مرتفعة بشكل عام ، وأظهرت نتائج تعقب النشاط أن السكان أصبحوا نشطين بشكل متزايد خلال فترة 24-hour. وفي يوم رياضي ، شوهدت امرأة لا تتذكر آخر مرة خرّضت فيها ، وهي تقفز مع رفيقها البالغ من العمر أربع سنوات من أجل التغلب على المنافسة.

في بداية التجربة ، تم تحديد جميع السكان تقريبا كاكتئاب ، اثنان منهم بشدة. بعد ستة أسابيع ، لم يتم تسجيل أي منهم على أنه مكتئب. لقد غيروا تماما نظرتهم للحياة وفي أملهم في المستقبل. حتى أكثر الأشخاص تشككا داخل المجموعة ، الذين سمعوا أنهم يقولون "لا أستطيع حقا رؤية ذلك يحدث فرقا كبيرا لنا" ، اعترفوا بأن الأطفال جلبوا "فرحة كبيرة".

رفع الروح المعنوية

لم تكن هذه تجربة علمية أو مشروع بحث أكاديمي تقليدي. كانت تجربة اجتماعية تضم مجموعة صغيرة جدًا من الناس. لكن النتائج أظهرت تغيرات ملحوظة في قدرة السكان المادية والمزاج.

عندما تصبح كبيرًا في السن ، تصبح أقل حركة ، ويموت الأصدقاء ، ولا يمكنك الخروج للقاء الناس. إذا كنت تعيش في منزل رعاية ، فإن الأشخاص الأصغر سنًا الذين ترونهم كل يوم هم من الموظفين. هذا هو السبب في أن الاكتئاب هو وباء الشيخوخة - ومن المهم بالنسبة لنا أن نقدم الفرص لهم للقاء الشباب.

الأطفال منفتحين. انهم يحبون الاهتمام ويهتمون بالبالغين. في الوقت نفسه ، يتعلم الأطفال مهارات ناضجة جدًا من البالغين ، لذا فإن هذا التواصل بين الأجيال متبادل.

لا يمكنك علاج التهاب المفاصل بشكل كامل ، ولكن يمكنك زيادة الثقة ، وبمساعدة الأطفال وتشجيعهم ، رأينا أهلنا الأكبر سناً يقومون بأشياء لم يتصوروا أبداً أنهم سيقومون بها مرة أخرى - القفز والرقص واللف على الأرض.

نتيجة لتجربتنا التلفزيونية ، هناك تطورات مهمة جارية في إطار الثقة التي شاركت في البرنامج. تم التشجيع على التواصل مع الأطفال وعائلاتهم واستمراره. انهم يحققون طرق إضافية لزيادة التنشئة الاجتماعية للسكان مع المجتمعات المحيطة بها. وتوجد خطط لبناء حضانة دائمة في أحد منازل الثقة.

المحادثةيعيش العديد من كبار السن حياة مكتئبة في عزلة مع الحزن واليأس و مشاعر سلبية تجاه الذات. وقد أظهرت هذه التجربة أنه في غضون إطار زمني قصير - وحيث يتشارك الناس في رؤية مماثلة للخلط بين الأجيال - من الممكن تحقيق تحسن كبير في رفاهية كبار السن.

عن المؤلفين

ميلروز ستيوارت ، محاضر في العلاج الطبيعي ، جامعة برمنغهام ومالكولم جونسون ، أستاذ علم الشيخوخة والرعاية النهارية ، جامعة باث

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = الأطفال والأجداد المحبون ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

What Happened When We Introduced Four-year-olds To An Old People's Home

What Happened When We Introduced Four-year-olds To An Old People's Home
Get up and go. Channel 4 (UK)

Lying on the floor pretending to roar like a lion can do wonders for an elderly man’s well-being. That’s not a scientific fact, but it was one of the surprising and memorable moments we observed while making a television program which introduced a group of very young people with residents of a retirement village.

The two episodes of Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds set out to explore the increasing isolation of older people within our communities.

The impact of young children and older people sharing daytime care facilities has already been shown to be generally positive. But this was the first time an experiment was undertaken within the UK to measure the impact of inter-generational interaction on the health and happiness of the older group.

Ten four-year-old children and 11 people in their late 80s were brought together for six weeks in a new nursery set within a retirement community in the city of Bristol. Before we started, the elderly participants were measured on their cognition, mood and depression, as well as physical abilities including balance and the ability to get up and walk (“Timed Up and Go”). These measurements were taken again at three weeks and once more at the end of the six-week programme.

The programme consisted of a timetable of activities in which the two generations were given time and space to engage physically and socially. It included games, occasionally requiring individuals to get down on and off the floor, walking outdoors, picnicking and participating in indoor activities using a variety of craft and art work. The final week also included an inter-generational sports day and a short theatrical production.

After three weeks, the halfway point, there were noticeable improvements in the residents’ measurement scores. Final measurements revealed significant improvements in the majority of metrics, with 80% percent of residents showed improvement in the “Timed Up and Go”. Grip strengths were up generally and activity tracker scores showed that the residents had become increasingly active over a 24-hour period. On sports day, one woman who could not recall the last time she ran, was seen sprinting off with her companion four-year-old in order to beat the competition.

At the start of the experiment, nearly all of the residents were identified as depressed, two of them severely. After six weeks, none of them was registered as depressed. They had completely changed their outlook on life and in their hope for the future. Even the most sceptical person within the group, who had been heard to say “I can’t really see it making any great difference to us”, admitted that the children had brought “great joy”.

Lifting spirits

This was not a scientific trial or a traditional academic research project. It was a social experiment involving a very small group of people. But the results showed marked changes in the residents’ physical ability and mood.

When you get very old you become less mobile, friends die, and you can’t get out to meet people. If you live in a care home, the only younger people you see every day are staff. That’s why depression is the epidemic of old age – and it’s important for us to present opportunities for them to meet young people.

Children are open minded. They love attention and take an interest in adults. At the same time, children learn quite mature skills from adults, so this inter-generational engagement is reciprocal.

You can’t cure arthritis completely, but you can increase confidence and, with the help and encouragement of the children, we saw our older folks doing things they never imagined they’d do again – jumping, dancing and rolling around on the floor.

As a consequence of our television experiment, significant developments are underway within the trust which took part in the program. Contact with the children and their families has been encouraged and continued. They are investigating additional ways to increase socialisation of the residents with surrounding communities. And plans are even in place to build a permanent nursery in one of the trust’s homes.

The ConversationMany older adults live depressed lives in isolation with sadness, hopelessness, and negative feelings toward the self. This experiment has shown that, within a short timeframe – and where people share a similar vision of intergenerational mixing – it is possible to bring about significant enhancement in the well-being of older people.

About The Authors

Melrose Stewart, Lecturer in Physiotherapy, University of Birmingham and Malcolm Johnson, Professor in Gerontology and End of Life Care, University of Bath

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

I Wish You More
leisureAuthor: Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Chronicle Books
List Price: $14.99

Buy Now

Grandparenting: Loving Our Children's Children (Lifeguide Bible Studies)
leisureAuthor: Phyllis J. Le Peau
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: IVP Connect
List Price: $9.00

Buy Now

Catholic Goldtone-Edged Adhesive Old and New Testament Bible Indexing Tabs
leisureBinding: Misc. Supplies
Publisher: Tabbies
List Price: $5.00

Buy Now