فيلم موانا Fulfills رحلة ديزني من الأميرة خجول لامرأة مخولة

فيلم موانا Fulfills رحلة ديزني من الأميرة خجول لامرأة مخولةمانا فان الفن الجمعة انجيل روبن ، سي سي

إطلاق ديزني لعيد الميلاد ينقلنا إلى بحار بولينيزيا ، حيث توجد فتاة صغيرة - موانا - تأخذ على عاتقها دور القيادة وتخاطر بكل شيء لإنقاذ قبيلتها ومجتمعها. مثل هذا الدور النسائي القوي بعيد كل البعد عن عمل سنو وايت في غسل الأطباق. كما وجدنا في أعمالنا دراسة حديثة من تصوير المرأة العاملة في أفلام ديزني ، مسارات الرسوم المتحركة في جميع أنواع الطرق الرائعة كيف تغيرت رؤى تمكين المرأة في العمل خلال القرن الماضي.

In سنو وايت والأقزام السبعة (1937) نواجه الأميرة في البداية كخادمة للأغصان - التي تهيمن عليها أمها الشريرة - رفع شلال الماء من البئر. هربت فقط لتجد نفسها واجهت المزيد من العمل القذرة ورتابة مدبرة منزل (والأم) إلى الأقزام. بعد عقد من الزمن ، نجد سندريلا (1950) في منزل مع زوجة أبيها الشريرة وأخواتها يتعرضون لطوابق تنظيف الحياة التي ترغب في حياة أفضل. و في النوم الجمال (1959) ، تم تدمير صناعة بأكملها ببساطة لحماية الأميرة ، أورورا ، من وخز قاتل للإصبع من عجلة الغزل التي تتوقعها الساحرة الشريرة Maleficent. ترعى ثلاثة جداتيات خرافية للأميرة الشابة ، لكنهن في النهاية يعطين موقعهن السري والآمن - بسبب الرتابة المطلقة لحياتهن والعمل في الغابة.

الرسالة واضحة في هذه الأفلام المبكرة: المرأة ضعيفة ويجب تجنب العمل بأي ثمن. إنها خطرة ورتيبة وغير مجدية. هذه الشخصيات النسائية تحتاج إلى الحماية والإنقاذ والدفاع عن عالم العمل من قبل الرجال وعادة ما تجد عزاءهم "النساء اللواتي يحفظن". وبدلاً من ذلك ، يجدون دورًا عمليًا كمقدم رعاية - وهي الأم التي بدورها تحمي صغارها ، وتعرضها للخطر من عالم العمل.

يمكن العثور على مواضيع مماثلة للنساء اللاتي لا يعملن في حاجة إلى إنقاذ من قبل المنقذات الذكور في أفلام ديزني الأخرى في ذلك الوقت مثل سيدة والصعلوك في (1955) و الأرستقراطيين (1970).

العبثون والعلماء

يمكن النظر إلى عصر النهضة ديزني (1989-1999) ، والمعروف باسم الاستديو الناشئ عن مجموعة من الأفلام السيئة ، كنقطة تحول بالنسبة إلى ديزني من حيث تمثيل عمل المرأة. فهي تزودنا بنساء يتمتعن بالذكاء والقدرة ، ولكنهن مقيدات في كيفية قدرتهن على استخدام هذه المواهب في مكان العمل.

في الداخل ليتل ميرميد (1989) على سبيل المثال ، نواجه آرييل ، كل من الأميرة والعبث ، وهو جامع للأشياء تحت البحر. وهي تود أن تهرب من والدها الذي يحظى بالحماية المفرطة ، ولكن على الرغم من رسالة التمكين واستقلال المرأة داخل الفيلم ، فإنها في النهاية تجد سعادتها في الأسلحة وحماية رجل آخر. وبالمثل ، في الجميلة والوحش (1991) و طرزان (1999) ، و Belle و Jane - كلاهما شابات جذابين وذكيان للغاية (وهما عالم شاب) يحلمان بشيء أكثر - في نهاية المطاف يجدان السعادة والرضا من خلال الرجال ، بدلاً من العمل أو الإنجازات الشخصية.

أفلام ديزني الأكثر جذرية في عصر النهضة في الاستوديو ، بوكاهونتاس (1995) و مولان (1998) ، تقدم لنا مرة أخرى النساء المستقلات بشدة. مولان يشكل رجلا في الجيش الصيني حتى تتمكن من دخول عالم العمل بدلا من والدها الضعيف. ولكن عندما تُتاح الفرصة لدخول العمل الدائم في نهاية الفيلم كجزء من الدائرة الداخلية للإمبراطور ، يحول مولان العرض إلى أسفل ويعود إلى قريتها.

وبالمثل ، بعد إحلال السلام في مجتمعها ، تكمن الرؤية الختامية لبوشاهونتاس في مشاهدتها بحزن وشوق ، حيث أن السفن تغادر بدونها - وهو ما يعني ضمناً أنه قد يكون هناك شيء أكثر "خارجًا" ، ولكنه لم يكن مكانًا لها … بعد.

أصحاب المطاعم والحكام

في العقد الماضي فقط ، بدأت ديزني في تصوير النساء اللواتي يعملن في مجال العمل ، اللواتي يعملن على تطوير هوياتهن من خلال خبرات العمل.

In الأميرة والضفدع (2009) ، تيانا - نادلة شاب أمريكي من أصل أفريقي - لديها حلم بأن تمتلك وتدير مطعمها الخاص في نيو أورليانز. وقد أخبرها المصرفيون أن "امرأة من وسائلها" يجب أن تتخلى عن مكانها وتعرفه ، ولكن رغم كل الصعاب ، فإنها تقاوم الإغراء بالتخلي عن حلمها وتأمينه - وفقاً لشروطها الخاصة. وضع هذا الفيلم نغمة لأولئك الذين تبعوا ذلك ، حيث لم تكن الشخصيات النسائية المركزية متمكنة ومستقلة فحسب ، بل اكتشفت من هم كذلك وتحقق إمكاناتهم من خلال العمل ، وليس الرومانسية.

نحن نرى هذا الموضوع استمر في مجمد (2013) ، التي تيتم فيها شقيقتان صغيرتان وتوجهان إلى أدوار العمل التي لا يستعدان لها - لحكم وحكم مملكة بأكملها. يمكن أن ينظر إلى قلق إلسا وخوفها على أنه مظهر من مظاهر تخويف الأنثى حول توليها لأدوار قيادية ، ولكن أيضا توفير درس عن في نهاية المطاف (بمساعدة أصدقائنا أو أخواتنا) التغلب عليها.

Zootopiaيبني (2016) شخصية نسائية طموحة للغاية وطموحة ، جودي هوبس - أول ضابط شرطة أرنب أرنب في المدينة - على هذا. وهي تعمل بجد داخل دائرة الشرطة الخاصة بها ليتم الاعتراف بها على قدم المساواة بين نظرائها من الذكور على الرغم من تعرضها للتمييز الشديد على أيدي رئيسها. وقيل لها إنها لن تكون خادمة إلا من قبل (مفتش وقوف) ، لكنها في النهاية تثبت أنها كلها خاطئة وتكسب مكانها كأرانب بين الأنداد.

وذلك ل موانا (2016) ، الرسوم المتحركة لـ 55th من إنتاج شركة ديزني ، والتي تواصل (وربما تحقق) رحلة ديزني من الأميرة "الخجولة" إلى الأميرة المستقلة. أثناء رحلتها الممتعة عبر المحيط الهادي ، تضمنت ملحمة ملحمية تتطور من خلالها الأميرة الشابة وتكتشف مواهبها كمتعلم رئيسي (يستطيع التحكم في البحر بشعرها) ، يقدم لنا الفيلم رؤية قوية وفعالة. شابة متعمدة من سيتولى كل ما يأتي لها أن تكون ناجحة. إنها مثال المرأة العاملة الحديثة.

قصة نجاح ، ثم. ولكن من المهم أن نضع في اعتبارنا أن استوديوهات الرسوم المتحركة الأخرى قد أكملت هذه الرحلة لتمثيل شابات متمكنات ومستقلة بقوة في العمل منذ عقود. على سبيل المثال ، يتميز استوديو جيبلي في اليابان بشخصيات نسائية متوازنة وكاملة في أفلام مثل Nausicaä من وادي الرياح (1984) و كيكي لخدمة التوصيل (1989) التي تعتبر متطرفة بالمقارنة مع أفلام ديزني في ذلك الوقت.

ومع ذلك ، تبني موانا على التقدم الكبير الذي حققته ديزني في السنوات الأخيرة في تمثيل الشخصيات النسائية المعقدة والمتعددة الأوجه والمثيرة في أدوار العمل.

المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

مارتن غريفين ، محاضر في السلوك التنظيمي ، جامعة ليدز. مارك ليرمونث ، أستاذ الدراسات التنظيمية ، جامعة دورهام، ونانسي هاردينغ ، أستاذ نظرية المنظمة ، جامعة برادفورد

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ Keywords = Empowered Women؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Movie Moana Fulfills Disney's Journey From Timid Princess To Empowered Woman

The Movie Moana Fulfills Disney's Journey From Timid Princess To Empowered WomanMoana Fan Art Friday by Angel-Robin, CC

Disney’s Christmas release transports us to the seas of Polynesia, where a young girl – Moana – takes on a leadership role and risks everything to save her tribe and her community. Such a strong female role is a far cry from Snow White’s work washing the dishes. As we found in our recent study of the depiction of the working woman in Disney films, animation tracks in all sorts of fascinating ways how visions of female empowerment at work have changed over the last century.

In Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937) we initially encounter the princess as a scullery maid – dominated by her wicked step mother – sullenly lifting pales of water from the well. She escapes only to find herself confronted with further dirty and monotonous labour playing housekeeper (and mother) to the dwarves. A decade on, we find Cinderella (1950) in a house with her wicked stepmother and sisters being subjected to a life scrubbing floors wishing for a better life. And in Sleeping Beauty (1959), a whole industry is destroyed simply to protect the princess, Aurora, from a fatal prick to the finger from a spinning wheel foreseen by the evil witch Maleficent. Three fairy godmothers care for the young princess but ultimately give away their secret, safe location – due to the sheer monotony of their life and work in the woods.

The message is clear in these early films: women are weak and should avoid work at all costs. It is dangerous and monotonous and unrewarding. These female characters need to be protected, rescued and defended from the world of work by men and generally find their solace as “kept women”. Alternatively, they find a working role as a caregiver – a mother who, in turn, protects her young, her vulnerable from the world of work.

Similar themes of workless women in need of rescuing by male saviours can be found in other Disney films of the time such as Lady and the Tramp (1955) and The Aristocats (1970).

Tinkers and scientists

The Disney renaissance era (1989-1999), so called due to the studio emerging from a rather dismal run of films, can be seen as a turning point for Disney in terms of the representation of women’s work. It provides us with women who are intelligent and empowered but restrained in how they are able to use these talents in the workplace.

So in The Little Mermaid (1989) for instance we encounter Ariel, both a princess and a tinker, a collector of objects under the sea. She wishes to escape from her overprotective father but, despite the message of empowerment and female independence within the film, she ultimately finds her happiness in the arms and protection of another man. Similarly, in Beauty and the Beast (1991) and Tarzan (1999), Belle and Jane – both attractive, highly intelligent young ladies (the latter a young scientist) who dream of something more – ultimately find happiness and contentment through men, rather than their work or personal achievements.

The most radical Disney films of the studio’s renaissance period, Pocahontas (1995) and Mulan (1998), again offer us fiercely independent women. Mulan poses as a man in the Chinese Army so that she can enter the world of work in lieu of her frail father. But when offered the opportunity to enter permanent work at the end of the film as part of the emperor’s inner circle, Mulan turns the offer down and returns to her village.

Similarly, after bringing peace to her community, the closing vision of Pocahontas is of her watching wistfully, longingly, as the ships leave without her – the implication that there might be something more “out there”, but it was not a place for her … yet.

Restaurant owners and rulers

It is only in the past decade that Disney begins to consistently portray empowered women in work who develop their identities through working experiences.

In The Princess and the Frog (2009), Tiana – a young, African-American waitress – has a dream to own and manage her own restaurant in New Orleans. She is told by the bankers that a “woman of her means” should quit and know her place but, against all the odds, resists temptation to give up and secures her dream – on her own terms. This film set a tone for those that followed, in which the central female characters are not only empowered and independent, but discover who they are and realise their potential through work, not romance.

We see this theme continued in Frozen (2013), in which two young sisters are orphaned and are thrust in to working roles that they simply aren’t prepared for – to rule and govern a whole kingdom. Elsa’s anxiety and fear can be seen as a manifestation of female trepidation about taking on leading roles, but also provide a lesson about eventually (with the help of our friends or our sisters) overcoming them.

Zootopia’s (2016) fiercely independent and ambitious female character, Judy Hopps – the city’s first bunny rabbit police officer – builds on this. She works hard within her police precinct to be recognised as an equal amongst her male counterparts despite experiencing extreme discrimination at the hands of her boss. She is told that she will only ever be a meter maid (parking inspector) but eventually proves them all wrong and gains her place as a bunny among equals.

And so to Moana (2016), Disney’s 55th animation, which continues (and perhaps even fulfills) Disney’s journey from timid, “kept” princess to empowered, independent princess. Whilst being a wildly enjoyable voyage across the Pacific Ocean, incorporating an epic quest through which the young princess develops and discovers her talents as a master navigator (who can control the sea with her hair), the film offers us a vision of a powerful and wilful young lady who will take on everything that comes at her to be successful. She is the epitome of the modern working woman.

A success story, then. But it is important to keep in mind that other animation studios completed this journey to representing empowered, fiercely independent young women in work decades ago. Japan’s Studio Ghibli, for instance, featured balanced and complete working female characters in films such as Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind (1984) and Kiki’s Delivery Service (1989) that are radical in comparison to Disney’s films of the time.

Nevertheless, Moana builds upon the significant progress Disney have made in recent years in representing complex, multifaceted and intriguing female characters in working roles.

The Conversation

About The Authors

Martyn Griffin, Lecturer in Organizational Behaviour, University of Leeds; Mark Learmonth, Professor of Organization Studies, Durham University, and Nancy Harding, Professor of Organization Theory, University of Bradford

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Empowered Wife: Six Surprising Secrets for Attracting Your Husband’s Time, Attention, and Affection
leisureAuthor: Laura Doyle
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: BenBella Books
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

The Empowered Woman’s Guide to Divorce: A Therapist and a Lawyer Guide You Through Your Divorce Journey
leisureAuthor: Jill Murray PsyD
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: iUniverse
List Price: $23.99

Buy Now

The Empowered Woman: Restoring women to their true identity
leisureAuthor: J Nicole Williamson
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: King's Lantern Publishing
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now