مذبحة هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية تتخيل يوتوبيا نباتية حيث تعيش الحيوانات على قدم المساواة

مذبحة هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية تتخيل يوتوبيا نباتية حيث تعيش الحيوانات على قدم المساواة

سوف ينظر أحفادنا إلى الوراء ، بعد سنوات من الآن ، في وقت كان فيه البشر يأكلون حيوانات أخرى كواحدة حيث أجدادهم كانوا "متواطئين في حمام دم من المعاناة غير الضرورية" ، وهو عرض رعب لعنف متواصل "لا يمكن تخيله" معهم؟ هذا هو الفرضية المثيرة للاهتمام مذبحةوهو فيلم جديد طويل المدى بهيئة الاذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) يصور فيلم 2067 الفاضل حيث لم يعد البشر يزرعون الحيوانات للاستهلاك. المحادثة

كارنيج هو موسيقي ، كتبه وأخرجه الممثل الكوميدي سيمون أمستل ، ولكن دعونا نفكر في فرضيته بجدية للحظة. هل عالم "ما بعد اللحم" ممكن؟ هل يمكننا إدارة الانتقال إلى مجتمع يتم فيه تحرير الحيوانات المستزرعة ومنحها منزلة متساوية ، حرة في العيش بالتساوي بين البشر؟

هناك بعض الأسباب الجيدة التي تجعل هذه الرؤية غير محتملة للمستقبل. كبداية ، يزداد عدد الحيوانات المذبوحة عالمياً. على الرغم من أن هذا يشمل الصيد ، والصيد غير المرغوب فيه ، والحيوانات الأليفة غير المرغوب فيها ، فإن أكبر نقطة للتفاعل بين البشر والحيوانات الأخرى هي الزراعة الصناعية. الإحصاءات مذهلة: على الأقل تقتل حيوانات 55 مليار من قبل صناعة الزراعة العالمية كل عام ، وهذا الرقم ينمو كل عام. على الرغم من القصص التسويقية للرفق بالحيوان و "لحم سعيد"زراعة المصانع تعني العنف وعدم الراحة والمعاناة على نطاق هائل.

هذا هو السبب في أن يوفال نوح هراري ، مؤلف العاقل، تاريخ الجنس البشري ، يدعو علاجنا من الحيوانات المستأنسة في المزارع الصناعية "ربما أسوأ جريمة في التاريخ".

إذا انتقلنا إلى رغبة المستهلكين في أكل اللحوم ، البحث النفسي في هذا المجال يبدو أن يلقي مزيدا من الشك على الرؤية الطوباوية للمذبحة. معظم الناس الذين يأكلون اللحوم يعبرون عن قلقهم فيما يتعلق بالرعاية الحيوانية ، ويشعرون بعدم الارتياح عندما يرتبط موت أو إزعاج الحيوانات باللحم على طبقهم.

يشير علماء النفس إلى هذا التوتر بين المعتقدات والسلوك "التنافر المعرفي". نحن نريد تقليل الانزعاج من هذا التنافر ، ولكن الطبيعة البشرية تعني أننا نبحث في كثير من الأحيان عن أسهل الطرق للقيام بذلك. لذا بدلاً من تغيير السلوك ، نغير تفكيرنا ، ونطور استراتيجيات مثل التقليل من ضرر السلوك المسيء (الحيوانات لا تملك القدرة على المعاناة مثلما نفعل ؛ لا يهم ، لديهم حياة جيدة) ؛ أو إنكار المسؤولية عن ذلك (أفعل ما يفعله الجميع ، إنه ضروري ؛ لقد أُجبرت على أكل اللحم - إنه أمر طبيعي).

ﻏﺎﻟﺒﺎً ﻣﺎ ﺗﺆدي اﺳﺘﺮاﺗﻴﺠﻴﺎت ﺧﻔﺾ اﻟﺘﻨﺎزل إﻟﻰ زﻳﺎدة اﻻﻟﺘﺰامسلوك مزعج أخلاقيا"مثل أكل اللحوم ، لتبريرها. ثم يتعين علينا العمل بجدية أكبر للحد من التنافر ، وخلق الحاجة للدفاع عن سلوك الفرد بقوة أكبر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هذا الالتزام يصبح اعتياديًا ، وجزءًا من روتيننا وتقاليدنا وأعرافنا الاجتماعية المشتركة. إنها عملية دائرية يمكن أن تنتهي بآراء مبالغ فيها ومستقطبة اجتماعيًا ، ربما تنعكس في محاولات مألوفة لـ سخرية علانية للنباتيين. في هذه القراءة لبحث علم النفس ، يبدو التغيير على المقياس الذي تصوره كارنيج غير محتمل.

الطريق إلى عالم خالٍ من اللحم

هناك أسس للتفاؤل ، ومع ذلك. التحدي الأول يأتي من النمو مخاوف صحية المتصلة اكل اللحوم، وحركة نمط الحياة المصاحبة التي تحتضن "النظام الغذائي النباتي". أصبحت بدائل اللحوم أيضا معقدة على نحو متزايد ، كما تدرك صناعة التكنولوجيا القيمة السوقية المحتملة مصادر البروتين البديلة.

هذا يقابله انبعاث قلق لرفاهية الحيوانات غير البشرية بشكل أعم. وتشمل الأمثلة الحملات الناجحة ضد الحيتان أراكا الأسير و حيوانات السيرك، استجواب واسع النطاق من الغرض من حدائق الحيوان، وحركة قانونية مزدهرة الدفاع عن حقوق الحيوانات في المحكمة. يتم تعزيز هذا الاتجاه من خلال الاعتراف المتزايد من التعقيد العاطفي والمعرفي والاجتماعي من الحيوانات غير البشرية.

لكن ما قد يكون أكبر عامل على الإطلاق هو التأثير على المناخ. اللحوم هي استخدام غير فعال للموارد (حيث أن حيوانات المزرعة تأكل الطعام الذي يمكن أن يذهب مباشرة إلى البشر) ، في حين أن الأبقار تشتت الكثير من الميثان. ال يقول الامم المتحدة تعتبر الزراعة الصناعية على نطاق واسع واحدة من "أهم اثنين أو ثلاثة مساهمين في أكثر المشاكل البيئية خطورة ، على كل المستويات من المستوى المحلي إلى العالمي". ا انخفاض عالمي في استهلاك اللحوم هي واحدة من أفضل الطرق لمكافحة تغير المناخ. ومع زيادة الضغط على الموارد ، قد يتكلف الأمر أيضًا ، مما يؤدي إلى تقليل استهلاك اللحوم.

إن أيًا من هذه الاتجاهات ، التي تم أخذها بمعزل عن غيره ، تشير إلى حدوث تغيير اجتماعي على المستوى الذي تخيله المذبحة. لكن معًا ، قد يفعلون ذلك. إنه مزيج يمكن أن يفسر نمو كبير في عدد النباتيين والنباتيين على سبيل المثال.

هذه الزيادة ملحوظة بشكل خاص بين الأشخاص الأصغر سنا - وهي نقطة مهمة يجب مراعاتها فيما يتعلق بمسارنا 50 المتخيل. ودعونا نواجه الأمر ، فإن الحاجة إلى القيام بأي شيء نستطيعه للحد بشكل جماعي من انبعاثات الكربون والتخفيف من أسوأ آثار تغير المناخ لن تصبح أكثر إلحاحًا عندما نقترب من 2067. يبدو أن الحكومة الألمانية قد أدركت ذلك مؤخرًا يحظر اللحم من جميع الوظائف الرسمية لأسباب بيئية.

تشير هذه الاتجاهات إلى أن الديناميكيات النفسية والاجتماعية والثقافية المتشابكة التي تبقينا معتادًا على تناول اللحوم بشكل روتيني قد تبدأ في التخفيف. تساهم أفلام مثل Carnage أيضًا في هذا الانهيار ، فتفتح خيالنا إلى مستقبلات بديلة. إذا كنت تشاهده ، آمل أن يثير ذلك بعض الضحك ، ولكنه يقدم أيضًا بعض الطعام (النباتي) للفكر.

مقطورة ناقلة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماثيو آدامز ، محاضر رئيسي في علم النفس ، جامعة برايتون

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = vegetarianism ethics؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

التنبؤ بمستقبل أزمة المناخ
هل بإمكانك توقع المستقبل؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

BBC's Carnage Imagines A Vegan Utopia Where Animals Live As Equals

BBC's Carnage Imagines A Vegan Utopia Where Animals Live As Equals

Will our grandchildren look back, 50 years from now, at a time when human beings ate other animals as one in which their grandparents were “complicit in a bloodbath of unnecessary suffering”, a horror show of unremitting violence that is “wholly unimaginable” to them? That’s the intriguing premise of Carnage, a new feature-length BBC film which depicts a 2067 utopia where humans no longer raise animals for consumption. The Conversation

Carnage is a mockumentary, written and directed by comedian Simon Amstell, but let’s contemplate its premise seriously for a moment. Is a “post-meat” world possible? Could we manage a transition to a society where farmed animals are liberated and granted equal status, free to live equally among humans?

There are some good reasons why this is an unlikely vision of the future. For a start, the number of animals slaughtered globally is on the increase. Although this includes hunting, poaching, and unwanted pets, by far the biggest point of interaction between humans and other animals is industrial farming. The statistics are staggering: at least 55 billion animals are killed by the global farming industry each year, and this figure is growing every year. Despite marketing tales of animal welfare and “happy meat”, factory farming means violence, discomfort and suffering on an enormous scale.

This is why Yuval Noah Harari, the author of Sapiens, a history of the human race, calls our treatment of domesticated animals in industrial farms “perhaps the worst crime in history”.

If we turn to consumers’ willingness to eat meat, psychological research in this area appears to cast further doubt on the utopian vision of Carnage. Most people who eat meat express concern in relation to animal welfare, and experience unease when the death or discomfort of animals is associated with the meat on their plate.

Psychologists refer to this tension between beliefs and behaviour as “cognitive dissonance”. We want to reduce the discomfort of such dissonance, but human nature means we often seek the easiest ways of doing so. So rather than changing behaviour, we change our thinking, and develop strategies like minimising the harm of the offending behaviour (animals don’t have the capacity to suffer like we do; they do not matter; they have a good life); or denying one’s responsibility for it (I am doing what everyone does; it is necessary; I was made to eat meat – it is natural).

Dissonance-reduction strategies often lead, paradoxically, to an increase in commitment to “morally troublesome behaviour” such as eating meat, to justify them. We then have to work harder to reduce dissonance, creating the need to defend one’s behaviour even more vigorously.

This commitment becomes habitual, and part of our shared routines, traditions and social norms. It’s a circular process that can end up with exaggerated and socially-polarised views, reflected perhaps in familiar attempts to publicly ridicule veganism. On this reading of the psychology research, change on the scale envisioned by Carnage seems unlikely.

The path to a world without meat

There are grounds for optimism, however. A first challenge comes from growing health concerns related to eating meat, and an accompanying lifestyle movement that embraces a “plant-based diet”. Meat substitutes are also becoming increasingly sophisticated, as the tech industry recognises the potential market value of alternative protein sources.

This is matched by a resurgent concern for the welfare of nonhuman animals more generally. Examples include successful campaigns against captive orca whales and circus animals, the widespread questioning of the purpose of zoos, and a burgeoning legal movement defending the rights of animals in court. This trend is strengthened by growing recognition of the emotional, cognitive and social complexity of nonhuman animals.

What might be the biggest factor of all, however, is the impact on the climate. Meat is an inefficient use of resources (as farm animals eat food that could go straight to humans), while cows famously fart out lots of methane. The UN says the large-scale industrial farming of animals is one of “the top two or three most significant contributors to the most serious environmental problems, at every scale from local to global”. A global reduction in meat consumption is one of the best ways to fight climate change. And, as pressure for resources rise, so too might cost, leading to less meat eating.

Taken in isolation, none of these trends suggests social change on the scale Carnage imagines. But together, they just might. It is a combination that could explain significant growth in the number of vegetarians and vegans for example.

This increase is especially marked among younger people – an important point to consider in relation to our imagined 50-year trajectory. And let’s face it, the need to do anything we can to collectively reduce carbon emissions and alleviate the worst effects of climate change is only going to become more pressing as we approach 2067. The German government seems to have recognised this, recently banning meat from all official functions for environmental reasons.

These trends suggest the interlocking psychological, social and cultural dynamics that keep us habitually and routinely eating meat might be beginning to loosen. Films like Carnage also contribute to this unravelling, opening up our imagination to alternative futures. If you watch it, I hope it raises a few laughs, but also offers some (plant-based) food for thought.

Carnage trailer

About The Author

Matthew Adams, Principal Lecturer in Psychology, University of Brighton

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Radical Vegetarianism: A Dialectic of Diet and Ethic (Flashpoint)
petsAuthor: Mark Braunstein
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Lantern Books
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

Vegetarianism and Animal Ethics in Contemporary Buddhism
petsAuthor: James Stewart
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $49.95

Buy Now

Stuff Every Vegetarian Should Know (Stuff You Should Know)
petsAuthor: Katherine McGuire
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Quirk Books
List Price: $9.95

Buy Now