يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كان المفضل لديك هو سعيد؟

يمكنك معرفة ما إذا كان المفضل لديك هو سعيد؟

بدأ العلماء في قراءة تعبيرات الوجه الحيوانية بدقة وفهم ما يتواصلون معه.

تعبيرات الوجه تعبير عن مشاعرنا الداخلية للعالم الخارجي. قراءة وجوه الآخرين تأتي بشكل طبيعي وتلقائي لمعظمنا. بدون أفضل صديق لك يقول كلمة ، تعرف - من خلال رؤية التجاعيد الصغيرة حول عينيها ، خدودها المدورة ، المرفوعة وزوايا الشفاه المقلوبة - أنها حصلت على هذا العرض الذي تريده.

ماذا لو استطعنا بسهولة قراءة وجوه الكائنات الحية الأخرى؟ هل سيأتي يوم يمكننا فيه حمل هاتف ذكي لقطنا ونعرف كيف يشعر؟

يقوم الباحثون بتطوير أنظمة التشفير التي تمكنهم من قراءة تعبيرات الوجه الحيوانية بشكل موضوعي بدلاً من الاستنتاج أو التخمين في معناها.

يصف نظام الترميز بدقة كيف تتغير سمات الوجه المختلفة عندما يشعر الحيوان بعواطف معينة ، مثل التحديق في العين أو متابعة الشفتين. من خلال النظر إلى الصور وتسجيل مدى تغير كل من هذه الميزات أو "وحدات العمل" ، يمكننا تحديد مدى قوة الشعور بالعواطف.

التعرف على الألم أولا الحدود

حتى الآن ، تم تطوير أنظمة ترميز الألم فقط (جداول التجهم) للحيوانات غير الرئيسية. على الرغم من التشريح المختلفة ؛ فأره, الفئران, الأرانب, خيل . خروف (بما في ذلك الحملان) كل سحب وجه ألم مماثل. يشدّون عيونهم ، ينفخون أو يشدّون خدودهم ، يغيّرون موقع آذانهم ويشدّدوا أفواههم.

إن الدافع لتطوير مقاييس التجهم يأتي إلى حد كبير من رغبتنا وواجبنا الأخلاقي لتقييم و تحسين الرفاهية من الحيوانات المستخدمة في المختبرات أو المنتجات الغذائية.

من الناحية المثالية ، نريد طريقة للتعرف بدقة وموثوقية على كيفية شعور الحيوان بمجرد النظر إليه ، بدلاً من سحب الدم لإجراء فحوص أو مراقبة معدلات ضربات القلب. من خلال معرفة حالاتهم العاطفية ، يمكننا تغيير المساعدة لتقليل الألم والملل أو الخوف ، وبشكل مثالي ، تشجيع الفضول أو الفرح.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الحيوانات ، ولا سيما الاجتماعية منها ، قد تكون قد تطورت تعابير الوجه لنفس السبب الذي فعلناه - للتواصل مع بعضهم البعض أو ، في حالة الكلاب ، معنا.

خاصة بالنسبة للحيوانات الفريسة ، فإن الإشارات الدقيقة التي يمكن لأعضاء آخرين من مجموعتها (ولكن ليس من الحيوانات المفترسة) التقاطها مفيدة للسلامة ، على سبيل المثال. قد يتسبب جرب سلوك الألم في المساعدة أو الراحة من أعضاء المجموعة الآخرين ، أو بمثابة تحذير للبقاء بعيداً عن مصدر الألم.

إذا استطعنا فك شفرات التجشؤ ، يجب علينا نظريا أن نفهم تعابير الوجه لمشاعر أخرى مثل الفرح أو الحزن. نحن أيضا نريد أن نفهم تعابير الوجه للحيوانات الأقرب إلى قلوبنا: حيواناتنا الأليفة.

تطبيق الهواتف الذكية لعواطف الحيوانات

في يوم من الأيام ، يمكن لأصحاب الحيوانات الأليفة أو المزارعين أو الأطباء البيطريين حمل هاتف ذكي إلى كلب أو خروف أو قطة ولهم تطبيق يخبرهم بالعاطفة التي يظهرها الحيوان.

ومع ذلك ، يتطلب الوصول إلى نظام تحديد العواطف الآلي العديد من الخطوات. الأول هو تعريف العواطف بطريقة قابلة للاختبار وغير خاصة بالأنواع.

والثاني هو جمع بيانات خطية وصفية عن التعبير العاطفي في بيئة تجريبية للرقابة. إحدى الطرق للقيام بذلك هي وضع الحيوانات في مواقف تثير انفعالات معينة وتعرف كيف تتغير وظائفها الفيزيائية وأنماطها الدماغية وسلوكها ووجوهها. يجب أن تحدث أي تغييرات موثوقة بما فيه الكفاية بحيث يمكن أن نطلق عليها تعبيرات الوجه.

لدينا بالفعل بعض التلميحات للاستمرار: الخيول المكتئبة أغمض عيونهم ، حتى عندما لا يستريح. أبقار خائفة وضع آذانهم مسطحة على رؤوسهم وفتح عيونهم واسعة. الفئران بهيجة لديك آذان متلألئة تشير إلى المزيد من الأمام والخارج.

وبمجرد جمعنا لهذه البيانات ، نحتاج عندئذ إلى تحويل تلك المعلومات العلمية إلى نظام تكنولوجي أوتوماتي. النظام يجب أن تكون قادرة على استخراج وحدات عمل الوجه الرئيسية من صورة وحساب كيفية اختلاف هذه الميزات عن تعبير خط الأساس المحايد.

سوف يحتاج النظام أيضًا إلى القدرة على التعامل مع الاختلافات الفردية في ملامح الوجه بالإضافة إلى الاختلافات الدقيقة في كيفية تعبير الأفراد عن الانفعال. وتصبح عملية استخلاص المعالم وحسابها أيضًا صعبة أو تفشل عندما يكون وجه مضاءًا ضعيفًا أو بزاوية أو مغطى جزئيًا.

بينما نحن نبذل التقدم في تحديد تعبير الوجه البشري الآلي، ما زلنا بعيد المنال عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحيوانات. الهدف الأكثر واقعية على المدى القصير هو فهم أفضل للمشاعر التي تعبر عنها الحيوانات غير البشرية وكيف. يمكن أن تكون الأجوبة تحدق في وجهنا مباشرة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ميرجام جويسغن ، زميلة ما بعد الدكتوراه في رعاية الحيوان ، جامعة ألبرتا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = animal communication؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

Can You Tell If Your Pet Is Happy?

Can You Tell If Your Pet Is Happy?

Scientists are starting to be able to accurately read animal facial expressions and understand what they communicate.

Facial expressions project our internal emotions to the outside world. Reading other people’s faces comes naturally and automatically to most of us. Without your best friend saying a word, you know — by seeing the little wrinkles around her eyes, her rounded, raised cheeks and upturned lip corners — that she got that promotion she wanted.

What if we could just as easily read the faces of other living beings? Will there come a day when we can hold up a smart phone to our cat and know how he’s feeling?

Researchers are developing coding systems that enable them to objectively read animal facial expressions rather than inferring or guessing at their meaning.

A coding system precisely describes how different facial features change when an animal feels a particular emotion, such as squinting an eye or pursing lips. By looking at photographs and scoring how much each of these features or “action units” change, we can determine how strongly an emotion is felt.

Pain recognition first frontier

So far, only pain coding systems (grimace scales) for non-primate animals have been scientifically developed. Despite their different anatomy; mice, rats, rabbits, horses and sheep (including lambs) all pull a similar pain-face. They tighten their eyes, bulge or flatten their cheeks, change the position of their ears and tense their mouths.

The push to develop grimace scales has largely come from our desire and ethical duty to assess and improve the welfare of animals used in labs or for food products.

Ideally, we want a way to accurately and reliably know how an animal is feeling by simply looking at them, rather than by drawing blood for tests or monitoring heart rates. By knowing their emotional states, we can change help to reduce pain, boredom or fear and, ideally, foster curiosity or joy.

Animals, particularly social ones, may have evolved facial expressions for the same reason we did — to communicate with one another or, in the case of dogs, with us.

Particularly for prey animals, subtle cues that other members of their group (but not predators) can pick up on are useful for safety, for example. A pain behavior cue may trigger help or comfort from other group members, or serve as a warning to stay away from the source of pain.

If we can decipher grimacing, we should also, theoretically, be able to understand facial expressions for other emotions such as joy or sadness. We would also likely want to comprehend facial expressions for the animals closest to our hearts: our pets.

Smart phone app for animal emotions

One day, pet owners, farmhands or veterinarians could hold up a smart phone to a dog, sheep or cat and have an app tell them the specific emotion the animal is showing.

However, getting to an automated emotion-identification system requires many steps. The first is to define emotions in a testable, non-species-specific way.

The second is to gather descriptive baseline data about emotional expression in a controlled, experimental environment. One way to do this might be to put animals in situations that will elicit a particular emotion and see how their physiology, brain patterns, behavior and faces change. Any changes would need to occur reliably enough that we could call them a facial expression.

We already have some hints to go on: Depressed horses close their eyes, even when not resting. Fearful cows lay their ears flat on their heads and open their eyes wide. Joyful rats have pinker ears that point more forward and outward.

Once we have gathered this data, we would then need to turn that scientific information into an automated, technological system. The system would have to be able to extract the key facial action units from an image and calculate how those features differ from a neutral baseline expression.

The system would also need to be able to deal with individual differences in facial features as well as subtle differences in how individuals express emotion. The process of feature extraction and calculation also becomes difficult or fails when a face is poorly lit, on an angle or partially covered.

While we are making progress in automated human facial expression identification, we are still a long way off when it come to animals. A more realistic short-term goal would be to better understand which emotions non-human animals express and how. The answers could be staring us right in the face.

About The Author

Mirjam Guesgen, Postdoctoral Fellow in Animal Welfare, University of Alberta

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Animal Lessons: Discovering Your Spiritual Connection with Animals
petsAuthor: Danielle MacKinnon
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Animal Lessons Discovering Your Spiritual Connection with Animals

Publisher: Llewellyn Publications
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

Animal Communication Boot Camp: A step by step program to help you achieve a deeper communication with your pets and the animal world.
petsAuthor: Debbie McGillivray
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Animal Communication Boot Camp A Step by Step Program to Help You Achieve a Deeper Communication with Your Pets and the Animal World

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $12.99

Buy Now

Animal Talk: Interspecies Telepathic Communication
petsAuthor: Penelope Smith
Binding: Paperback
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Publisher: Atria Books/Beyond Words
List Price: $14.00

Buy Now

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}