Aquaponics: cultiver ses propres aliments (poisson et légumes) dans votre cour arrière ou sous-sol

Aquaponics: cultiver ses propres aliments (poisson et légumes) dans votre cour arrière ou sous-sol

L'Epiphanie Aquaponics: Growing Fish & Légumes dans le sous-sol!

La pluie était un cadeau. J'avais mis de côté tout ce samedi au début d'avril pour faire du travail de jardinage, mais je cherchais plutôt quelque chose à faire à l'intérieur. En fait, mon fils 14, alors âgé d'un an, n'avait pas non plus de projet, et mon mari et ma fille étaient à l'extérieur de la ville. Hmmm. Que faire? Clairement quelque chose ensemble serait le meilleur, mais où était le chevauchement de nos intérêts actuels?

Je me suis souvenu que mon copain de longue date chez AeroGrow, John, l'avait essayé pendant des mois pour que je vienne voir son système aquaponique au sous-sol. Les poissons et les crawdads qui cultivent des plantes dans un sous-sol pourraient être intéressants. Le bonus supplémentaire de voir leurs nouveaux poussins scellé l'affaire. Nous sommes montés dans la voiture et nous sommes partis sans nous rendre compte que nos vies allaient être changées pour toujours.

Aquaponics: Pas de mauvaises herbes Plus, arrosage, la fertilisation ou les maux de dos

Quand mon fils et je suis entré dans le sous-sol de la maison de John ranch rural, nous avons été accueillis avec les sons de poussins grattent sur leur journal bordée revêtements de sol et l'eau qui coule entre les lits poussent. La chambre était bien éclairée et chaleureux de la part des feux de culture de plantes. L'air sentait humide et fraîche. Les plantes que j'ai vus étaient en bonne santé et énorme et le poisson étaient actifs et, évidemment, comme John faim jetés dans une poignée de nourriture. Il a été heureux de nous montrer son installation et de démystifier mon scepticisme.

Quand j'ai vu cette configuration de sous-sol, j'ai été immédiatement convaincu que l'aquaponie allait devenir une technologie de croissance très importante. J'ai conclu qu'il résout le problème des engrais chimiques coûteux et souvent dangereux en hydroponie. Il résout le problème de l'enlèvement des déchets en aquaculture. Il résout le problème de l'excès d'utilisation de l'eau dans l'agriculture traditionnelle. Et pour le jardinier d'arrière-cour, il résout les problèmes de mauvaises herbes, de sous-arrosage et de sur-arrosage, de fertilisation et de fatigue du dos.

La Communauté Aquaponics: l'apprentissage partagé et de soutien

Depuis ce jour pluvieux Avril, j'ai consacré ma vie à apprendre tout ce que je peux sur les aquaponique et passer le mot à propos de cette étonnante façon de faire pousser des plantes. En Décembre 2009, j'ai commencé à l' Blog jardinage aquaponique d'écrire sur mon voyage personnel à travers aquaponique. Les sujets ont varié de conseils pratiques sur les semences de départ et de croître la profondeur du lit de rêveries sur la certification biologique et des visites avec son compatriote toxicomanes aquaponique.

En Janvier 2010, j'ai commencé à l' Aquaponique des jardins communautaires site. Il est devenu un lieu de rencontre prospère pour des conversations autour de l'aquaponie dans le monde entier. Cette communauté, et d'autres communautés aquaponiques et sites de forum à travers le monde, sont une source incroyable d'apprentissage et de soutien partagés pour cette nouvelle technique et industrie florissante.

Accueil échelle Aquaponics: Jardinage Bricolage Fish Tank

Aquaponics: cultiver ses propres aliments (poisson et légumes) dans votre cour arrière ou sous-solLes jardiniers aquaponic à la maison ont évolué depuis les premiers bricoleurs installant des systèmes dans leurs cours et leurs sous-sols. Ils ont appris du travail académique en cours en Caroline du Nord et dans les îles Vierges, et se sont ensuite concentrés sur la création de systèmes plus simples et moins coûteux à construire et à exploiter. Ils voulaient des systèmes capables de cultiver une grande variété de cultures, pas seulement des feuilles de salade et du tilapia. Ils voulaient utiliser des matériaux recyclés et des pièces sur étagère. Ils voulaient le moins de surveillance et d'agitation possible.

Probablement l'un des premiers exemples a été à West Plains, Missouri, dans les 1990s début. Tom et Paula Speraneo créé un succès basé sur les médias ferme aquaponique appelé S & S AquaFarm et par la suite écrit un guide pour les autres à suivre ce qu'ils avaient appris.

Jardinage Aquaponically: La solution pour la pénurie d'eau, inondations, et les maux de dos

Au début des années Malcom 2000 Joel, un ingénieur de Perth, en Australie a commencé à expérimenter avec son système propre arrière-cour, a écrit un livre sur son expérience appelée Backyard aquaponique, et a fondé une société du même nom. Maintenant Joel gère également le plus grand site mondial de forum aquaponique et est l'éditeur de Backyard aquaponique Magazine, en plus de ses très réussis des systèmes aquaponique et les entreprises de fournitures.

Dans le même temps que Joël a commencé son aventure aquaponique, son compatriote australien Murray Hallam entendu parler aquaponique. Bien que Murray avait aussi une entreprise du système aquaponique de l'autre côté du pays, les deux hommes ont collaboré et ont appris les uns des autres. Murray entreprise, Pratique aquaponique, Vend également des systèmes aquaponique et fournitures, et il gère également un site grand forum. Murray est maintenant probablement mieux connu dans le monde entier pour sa série divertissante vidéo éducative aquaponique.

L'Australie a connu l'une de ses pires sécheresses dans l'histoire, de sorte que les avantages de l'aquaponie en matière de conservation de l'eau y sont particulièrement attrayants. Enfin, lors des récentes inondations dévastatrices au Queensland, l'aquaponie s'est de nouveau avérée être uniquement adaptée à l'Australie. Alors que les allées des épiceries étaient cueillies, les jardiniers aquaponic cueillaient des légumes frais dans leurs plates-bandes surélevées.

Media-Based Aquaponics vs Raft et systèmes NFT

Dans un système basé sur les médias, le lit de culture devient le système de filtration de tous les déchets. Si un système de médias est construit, stocké et exploité comme indiqué dans mon livre, Aquaponic Gardening, le seul retrait de solides qui sera nécessaire sera une injection mensuelle d'eau à haute pression à travers vos tuyaux et votre pompe pour faire tomber tout déchet solide accumulation à l'intérieur. Sinon, il n'y a pas de nettoyage régulier des lits de culture ou des aquariums. Déjà.

La deuxième raison pour laquelle les systèmes de médias sont plus appropriées pour le jardinage à domicile est qu'il n'y a presque pas de limite aux types de plantes que vous pouvez développer dans ces systèmes. Raft et les systèmes NFT ont des niveaux inférieurs de nutriments à cause de la séparation des matières solides et ils imposent des contraintes logistiques autour d'un ensemble de trous disposés sur une grille fixe sur un radeau flottant. Ces deux concourent à limiter les types de plantes qui poussent le mieux pour les petits, l'azote des plantes aimant comme la salade et les herbes.

Croître en termes absolus Tout ce qui ne nécessite pas un sol acide

En revanche, un système basé sur les médias peuvent se développer absolument tout ce qui ne nécessite pas un sol acide (bleuets, par exemple, ne font pas bien dans n'importe quel système aquaponique). Je connais une femme en Floride qui a grandi un bananier. Murray Hallam a augmenté papayers.

J'ai grandi plants de tomates 25-pied, cerises de terre, poivrons, concombres, fraises, céleri, brocoli ... ainsi que la salade et les herbes. Jardiniers cour ne veulent pas être limités dans ce qu'ils peuvent se développer.

© 2011 par Sylvia Bernstein. Tous les droits sont réservés.
Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
New Society Publishers. http://newsociety.com


Cet article a été adapté avec la permission du livre:

Aquaponique Jardinage: Un guide étape par étape à la culture des légumes et du poisson Ensemble
par Sylvia Bernstein.

Jardinage aquaponique: Un guide étape par étape à la culture des légumes et du poisson ensemble par Sylvia Bernstein.Une combinaison de l'aquaculture et la culture hydroponique, jardinage aquaponique est une manière étonnamment productive pour cultiver des légumes biologiques, des verts, des herbes et des fruits, tout en offrant les avantages supplémentaires de poisson frais comme un coffre-fort, bonne source de protéines. Aquaponique Le jardinage est le manuel demeure définitive do-it-yourself, centrée sur vous donnant tous les outils dont vous avez besoin pour créer votre propre système aquaponique et profiter de nourriture saine, sûre, frais, délicieux et toute l'année.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre.


A propos de l'auteur

Sylvia Bernstein, auteur de jardinage aquaponiqueSylvia Bernstein est le président et fondateur de La Source aquaponique et le président de la section américaine de l'Association aquaponique. Elle gère également AquaponicsCommunity.com, Le plus grand aux États-Unis site de la communauté en ligne dédiée au jardinage aquaponique. Un conférencier expérimenté et expert internationalement reconnu sur le jardinage aquaponique, Sylvia écrit et blogs sur le sujet pour la Blog jardinage aquaponique, Bord croissant et plus. Son inspiration est une grande configuration prospère aquaponique dans sa cour arrière à effet de serre à Boulder, CO alimenté par le tilapia, poisson-chat, et d'autres créatures-qui-nage.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Aquaponics: Growing Your Own Food (Fish & Vegetables) in Your Back Yard or Basement

Aquaponics: Growing Your Own Food (Fish & Vegetables) in Your Back Yard or Basement

The Aquaponics Epiphany: Growing Fish & Vegetables in the Basement!

The rain was a gift. I had set aside that entire Saturday in early April to do yard work, but instead was searching for something to do inside. As it happened, my then 14-year-old son also had no plans, and my husband and daughter were out of town. Hmmm. What to do? Clearly something toget­her would be best, but where was the overlap in our current interests?

I remembered my longtime buddy at AeroGrow, John, had been for trying for months to get me to come over to see his basement aquaponic sys­tem. Fish and crawdads growing plants in a basement might be interesting. The added bonus of seeing their new baby chicks sealed the deal. We got in the car and drove off without realizing that our lives were about to be changed forever.

Aquaponics: No More Weeds, Watering, Fertilizing or Back Strain

When my son and I walked into the basement of John's rural ranch house, we were greeted with the sounds of baby chicks scratching on their newspaper-lined flooring and water flowing among the grow beds. The room was well lit and warm from the plant growing lights. The air smelled moist and fresh. The plants I saw were healthy and huge and the fish were active and obviously hungry as John tossed in a handful of food. He was excited to show us his setup and to debunk my skepticism.

When I saw that basement setup, I was immediately convinced that aquaponics was going to become a very important growing technology. I concluded that it solves the problem of expensive, and often unsafe, chemical fertilizers in hydroponics. It solves the problem of waste removal in aquacul­ture. It solves the problem of excess water use in traditional agriculture. And for the backyard gardener, it solves the problems of weeds, under- and over-watering, fertilizing and back strain.

The Aquaponics Community: Shared Learning & Support

Since that rainy April day, I've dedicated my life to learning all I can about aquaponics and spreading the word about this amazing way to grow plants. In December 2009, I started the Aquaponic Gardening Blog to write about my personal journey through aquaponics. Topics have ranged from practical advice on seed starting and grow bed depth to musings about organic certification and visits with fellow aquaponic addicts.

In January 2010, I started the Aquaponic Gardening Community site. It has become a thriving meeting place for worldwide, round-the-clock conversations about aquaponics. This commu­nity, and other aquaponics communities and forum sites around the world, are an incredible source of shared learning and support for this burgeon­ing new growing technique and industry.

Home-Scale Aquaponics: DIY Fish Tank Gardening

Aquaponics: Growing Your Own Food (Fish & Vegetables) in Your Back Yard or BasementHome-scale aquaponic gardeners have evolved from the early tinkerers set­ting up systems in their backyards and basements. They learned from the academic work that was going on in North Carolina and the Virgin Islands, and then focused on making systems that were simpler and cheaper to build and operate. They wanted systems that could grow a wide variety of crops, not just salad greens and tilapia. They wanted to use recycled materials and off-the-shelf parts. They wanted the least amount of monitoring and fuss possible.

Probably one of the earliest examples was in West Plains, Missouri, in the early 1990s. Tom and Paula Speraneo created a successful media-based aquaponics farm called S&S AquaFarm and subsequently wrote a guide for others to follow what they had learned.

Gardening Aquaponically: The Solution for Water Shortage, Floods, and Sore Backs

In the early 2000's Joel Malcom, an engineer from Perth, Australia started experimenting with his own backyard system, wrote a book about his experience called Backyard Aquaponics, and founded a company by the same name. Now Joel also runs the world's largest aquaponics forum site and is the publisher of Backyard Aquaponics Magazine, in addition to his very successful aquaponics systems and supplies business.

At the same time that Joel started his aquaponics adventure, fellow Australian Murray Hallam heard about aquaponics. Although Murray also had an aquaponic system business on the other side of the country, the two men collaborated and learned from each other. Murray's company, Practical Aquaponics, also sells aquaponic systems and supplies and he also runs a large forum site. Murray is now probably best known worldwide for his entertaining educational Aquaponic video series.

Australia has been experiencing one of their worst droughts in recorded history so the water-conserving benefit of aquaponics is especially appealing there. Finally, in the recent devastating floods in Queensland, aquaponics again proved to be uniquely adapted to Australia. While gro­cery store produce aisles were picked over, aquaponic gardeners were picking fresh veggies from their raised grow beds.

Media-Based Aquaponics vs. Raft and NFT Systems

In a media-based system the grow bed becomes the filtration system for all the waste products. If a media system is constructed, stocked and oper­ated as instructed in my book, Aquaponic Gardening, the only solids removal that will need to be done will be a monthly shot of high-pressure water through your pipes and pump to knock lose any solid waste buildup inside. Otherwise there is no regular clean-out of the grow beds or fish tanks. Ever.

The second reason why media systems are more appropriate for home gardening is that there is almost no limit to the types of plants you can grow in these systems. Raft and NFT systems have lower levels of nutrients because of the solids removal and they pose logistical constraints around a set of holes arranged on a fixed grid on a floating raft. These both conspire to limit the types of plants that grow best to smaller, nitrogen-loving plants like salad greens and herbs.

Grow Absolutely Anything That Doesn't Require an Acidic Soil

In contrast, a media-based system can grow absolutely anything that doesn't require an acidic soil (blueberries, for example, don't do well in any aquaponic system). I know a woman in Florida who has grown a banana tree. Murray Hallam has grown papaya trees.

I have grown 25-foot tomato plants, ground cherries, peppers, cucumbers, strawberries, celery, broccoli ... as well as salad greens and herbs. Backyard gardeners do not want to be limited in what they can grow.

©2011 by Sylvia Bernstein. All rights reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
New Society Publishers. http://newsociety.com


This article was adapted with permission from the book:

Aquaponic Gardening: A Step-By-Step Guide to Raising Vegetables and Fish Together
by Sylvia Bernstein.

Aquaponic Gardening: A Step-By-Step Guide to Raising Vegetables and Fish Together by Sylvia Bernstein.A combination of aquaculture and hydroponics, aquaponic gardening is an amazingly productive way to grow organic vegetables, greens, herbs, and fruits, while providing the added benefits of fresh fish as a safe, healthy source of protein. Aquaponic Gardening is the definitive do-it-yourself home manual, focused on giving you all the tools you need to create your own aquaponic system and enjoy healthy, safe, fresh, and delicious food all year round.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.


About the Author

Sylvia Bernstein, author of Aquaponic GardeningSylvia Bernstein is the president and founder of The Aquaponic Source and the Chairman of the U.S. Chapter of the Aquaponics Association. She also manages AquaponicsCommunity.com, the largest US-based online community site dedicated to aquaponic gardening. An experienced speaker and internationally recognized expert on aquaponic gardening, Sylvia writes and blogs on the subject for the Aquaponic Gardening Blog, Growing Edge and more. Her inspiration is a large, thriving aquaponic setup in her backyard greenhouse in Boulder, CO powered by tilapia, catfish, and other creatures-that-swim.

Enjoyed this article? Share with your friends...


love-holds-no-grievances by Joyce Vissell. I like the anonymous quote, “Holding resentment is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.” This poison can...Read More
embracing-new-life-allowing-your-creative-intuitive-power-to-lead-and-support-you by Simone Wright. I invite you to promise yourself that, from this moment forward, you will pursue with power and confidence every dream or desire you...Read More
awakening-to-the-good-and-to-a-deep-sense-of-oneness by Ervin Laszlo. If we can choose the way we act, we have the responsibility to choose it wisely. Evidently, we can act to maximize our own...Read More
becoming-your-own-best-friend by Barbara Berger. One of the secrets of living a happy life is to become your own best friend. But you can only do this when you know who you are, when...Read More
you-don-t-have-to-find-your-path-you-re-already-on-it by Karen Maezen Miller. You stumble along thinking you don't know the way, and then one day you realize you're in the middle of it. I'd always thought...Read More
soaked by Kurt Koontz. If Noah were alive, this would have been a nice day to bring the ark out of retirement... I woke up early and started walking in the...Read More
blast-off-to-freedom-ellie-janow by Ellie Janow. I was aware for a long time of the miracles that resulted from practicing forgiveness and love before I tested this practice in my...Read More
quality-of-life-for-cancer-patients-does-massage-therapy-help by Gayle MacDonald, MS, LMT. At the end of the day, less pain, anxiety, and nausea, better sleep and more energy add to quality of life. That is what...Read More
how-to-gain-clarity-clearing-out-your-mind-and-your-unconscious by Daphne Rose Kingma. One process for attaining clarity used by the Quakers is called the clearness committee. In it a person convenes a group of at...Read More
making-herbal-medicine by David Hoffmann FNIMH AHG with Diana DeLuca. There is nothing mysterious or even particularly clever or skillful about making healing formulations...Read More
good-enough-to-be-true by Alan Cohen. When I began to teach classes on spiritual principles, I devoted time at the end of each class to pray for students and their loved ones....Read More
the-art-of-encouragement-how-to-encourage-yourself-others: The Art of Encouragement: by Mark Nepo. In many ways, to encourage is to help the heart unfold. And each time we do so, another aspect of our true self...Read More