في حين أن التوت البري صحي ، فإنها لا تظهر لعلاج التهابات المسالك البولية

على الرغم من أن التوت البري غير صحي ، إلا أنها لا تظهر لعلاج التهابات المسالك البولية

التوت البري ، والتوت الأحمر القليل من أمريكا الشمالية ، ليست فعالة لعلاج التهابات المسالك البولية. هذه المعلومات من المؤكد أنها ستخيب آمال النساء اللواتي ابتلع كبسولات التوت البري لسنوات على أمل أن تكون. لكن ، للأسف ، هذا ما يظهره العلم.

هذه النتائج ونشرت في أكتوبر 27 في المجلة الطبية المرموقة JAMA. بالنسبة للتجربة ، كانت النساء المسنات اللواتي يعشن في دور رعاية المسنين تدار كبسولات التوت البري لمدة عام ، في حين تم إعطاء الآخرين حبوب منع الحمل. لم تكشف المقارنة عن أي اختلاف كبير في وجود البكتيريا في البول.

هذا العمل هو أحدث مثال على نشر دراسة تعطي نتائج كانت العكس ما كان متوقعا.

في الافتتاحية ذلك تم نشره في نفس المجلة، باحث كندي يعترف بخيبة الأمل هذه ويكتب أن التوت البري مرة واحدة شكلت أملا لطيفا في مكافحة التهابات المسالك البولية ، ولكن هذا هو الوقت الآن للانتقال إلى شيء آخر.

هذا يثبت أن ما يسمى بـ "الدراسة السلبية" هو شيء غير ذي جدوى.

الدراسات السلبية مثل هذه نادرة في المجلات العلمية اليوم. في الواقع ، يميل الباحثون إلى ممارسة الرقابة الذاتية. حتى أنهم لا يقدمون دراسات سلبية للنشر. لذا فقد قمت مع زملائي بإنشاء مجلة على الإنترنت مكرسة بشكل حصري للموضوع ، تسمى نتائج سلبية.

We أربعة مؤسسين جميع الباحثين الفرنسيين الشباب في علم الأحياء: أنطوان موشير ، ريمي ثوماسون ، يانيك تانجوي وتيباوت ماريه. نحن مدفوعون لنفس الغرض ، أي أن المهام العلمية الناتجة عن الفشل يجب أن تؤخذ بعين الاعتبار لما تستحق. و يجب أن تكون النتائج متاحة للجميع.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


انضمت شخصيات دولية رائدة إلى لجنة التحرير لدينا وسوف تساعدنا في ضمان جودة المنشورات التي سيتم نشرها عبر الإنترنت. باحث الزهايمر الأمريكي جورج بيري، من جامعة تكساس في سان أنطونيو ، قرر الانضمام إلى فريقنا ، كما فعلت أخصائية أمراض الكلى بجامعة كولومبيا سيمون سنا-شيرتشي. نهدف إلى نشر مقالاتنا البحثية الأولى بحلول نهاية العام.

لماذا تنشر نتائج سلبية؟

قبل عام واحد ، كان الأربعة منا يجلسون في مدرج في جامعة بيير وماري كوري في باريس. كانت زميلة تدافع عن أطروحة الدكتوراه هناك. في مجالنا ، تمثل الأطروحة ثلاث سنوات من العمل الشاق الذي يتم إنفاقه بين مقاعد المختبر وشاشات الكمبيوتر.

الهدف هو التحقق من فرضية أصلية ، والتي تؤدي بسرعة إلى فرضيات ثانوية متعددة يجب اختبارها أيضًا. كل هذه التجارب يجب أن تؤدي إلى منشورات علمية إذا أراد طلاب الدكتوراه كسب الاعتراف من المجتمع العلمي وتحقيق التقدم. يعتمد مستقبلهم الوظيفي بشكل كبير على هذا.

في ذلك اليوم ، مرر طبيب المستقبل في علم الأحياء بامتياز. لكن على الرغم من جودة بحثها ، إلا أنها فشلت في نشر مقال واحد في المجلات التي خضعت لاستعراض الأقران. لماذا ا؟ لأن النتائج التي حصلت عليها لم تؤكد فرضية البدء. لقد أبطلت فرضيتها ، مما يدل على أنها زائفة.

لا تكرار التجارب من دون جدوى

بدا لنا أنه لا يمكن تصور أن هذا العمل والجهد الكبير للطالب يجب أن لا يترك أي أثر في مجال البحث ، ولا يجب أن يعلم أحد خارجنا ، أي جمهور ذلك اليوم ، أن القيادة التي اتبعها هذا الباحث لم تؤد إلى أي مكان.

ماذا لو حاول باحث آخر القيام بنفس المشروع غداً ، فقط لتنتهي عند نفس الطريق المسدود؟ في علم الأحياء ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار المعدات وزمن الباحث ، تكلف سنة واحدة من الأبحاث متوسط ​​60,000. من المريح تكرار التجارب غير المجدية.

ظهرت نتائج سلبية من الفكرة المشتركة التي مفادها أنه يجب أن يكون هناك طريقة لتجنب مثل هذه النفايات. كثيرًا ما يقول الناشرون إن البيانات "السلبية" تفشل في اجتذاب القراء وبالتالي فهي ذات قيمة قليلة للمجلة لأنها تحد من تأثيرها وملاحظاتها. فنحن لدينا رأي مختلف: حتى أن الفرضيات الباطلة يجب أن تكون متاحة للجميع.

في بعض الأحيان ، يتم نشر الدراسات السلبية ، مثل فضح JAMA للتطبيقات الطبية للتوت البري. لكنها مجرد قمة جبل الجليد. وفقًا لمقالة 2014 في Nature، فقط 20٪ من الدراسات السلبية ترى ضوء اليوم ؛ يبقى 80٪ الآخر في أعماق غامضة.

نحن لا ننكر حقيقة أن بعض الجهود قد بذلت في السنوات الأخيرة للتغلب على هذه الصعوبة. لقد أعاد نمط النشر المفتوح الوصول إعادة تشكيل منظر المنشورات العلمية. وهنا ، تقبل المجلات النتائج السلبية.

الأدوية

هذا صحيح بشكل خاص في بحوث الأدوية الصيدلانية. في هذا المجال ، من الناحية التاريخية ، تعتبر التجارب السريرية "تقدمًا" فقط عندما تسمح نتائجها النهائية بإطلاق عقاقير صيدلانية جديدة في السوق.

ولكن في 2007 جعلت الولايات المتحدة من الإلزامي للمختبرات الدوائية أن تنشر نتائج جميع تجاربها في السجل العام. صوت الاتحاد الأوروبي لصالحه حكم مماثل في 2014 ، ولكنها لم تدخل بعد حيز التنفيذ.

على الرغم من هذه التحسينات ، يتم نشر النتائج على أنها بيانات بسيطة ، وليس كمنشورات سهلة الفهم ، أو جدلية أو مشروحة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن هذا التقدم يتعلق فقط بالدراسات السريرية. أما بالنسبة للدراسات الأساسية وما قبل السريرية ، فهناك القليل جدا.

جزيئات غير فعالة أو سامة

إن ازدراء النتائج السلبية يؤدي إلى إفقار المعرفة العلمية ، ويعبئ الموارد (الوقت ، والموظفين ، والمال) دون جدوى. هذه أمور مؤسفة ، لكن هناك تداعيات أسوأ أيضًا.

في بعض الأحيان ، لا يتم نشر حقيقة أن النتائج السلبية تشكل خرقًا أخلاقيًا. في القطاع الخاص ، تجري الشركات الناشئة ومختبرات الأدوية تجارب الخلايا والأنسجة لاختبار جزيئات معينة ، فقط لتكتشف أنها غير فعالة ، أو حتى سامة. ولكن في أكثر الأحيان ، على الرغم من أن هذه النتائج ستزيد المعرفة العلمية ، إلا أنها لا تنشر. بدون هذه المعلومات ، كيف نعرف أن تطوير هذه الجزيئات قد توقف؟

قد نكون مثاليين ، لكننا بالتأكيد ليسوا طوباويين. فبدلاً من معاقبة الباحثين الذين ينتجون نتائج سلبية ، أو توجيه إصبع إليهم ، نقدم لهم بديلاً مرضياً. نأمل أن يساعد إنشاء النتائج السلبية الناس على إدراك الاهتمام بكل النتائج ، السلبية والإيجابية.

نحن نهدف إلى توفير قاعدة بيانات يمكن لكل من الباحثين وشركات الأدوية الرجوع إليها لتحسين أبحاثهم. وبالتالي سيكونون قادرين على تلبية توقعات المجتمع ، أي زيادة المعرفة في جميع مجالات البيولوجيا الحية ، مع الحفاظ على صحة ونزاهة المرضى الذين يوافقون على المشاركة في التجارب السريرية.

المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريمي توماسون، Docteur en sciences et techniques des aptitudes physiques et sportives، Université Paris Descartes - USPC . أنطوان موتشير، chercheur à l'Institut de myologie، Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) - Sorbonne Universités

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = recipes recipes؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

While Cranberries Are Healthy, They Don't Appear To Cure Urinary Tract Infections

While Cranberries Are Otherwise Healthy, They Don't Appear To Cure Urinary Tract Infections

Cranberries, the little red berries from North America, are not effective for curing urinary tract infections. This piece of information is bound to disappoint the women who have been swallowing cranberry capsules for years in the hope that it was. But, alas, this is what science shows.

These results were published on October 27 in the prestigious medical journal JAMA. For the experiment, older women living in nursing homes were administered cranberry capsules for a year, while others were given a placebo pill. The comparison did not reveal any significant difference in the presence of bacteria in their urine.

This work is the latest example of publication of a study yielding results that were the opposite of what was expected.

In the editorial that was published in the same journal, a Canadian researcher acknowledges this disappointment and writes that cranberry once constituted a nice hope in the fight against urinary tract infections, but that it is now time to move on to something else.

This proves that a so-called “negative study” is anything but useless.

Negative studies like this one are scarce in scientific journals today. Indeed, researchers tend to practice self-censorship; they don’t even submit negative studies for publication. So my colleagues and I have created an online journal exclusively dedicated to the subject, called Negative Results.

We four founders are all young French researchers in biology: Antoine Muchir, Rémi Thomasson, Yannick Tanguy and Thibaut Marais. We’re motivated by the same purpose, namely that scientific quests resulting in failure should be considered for what they are worth. And their results should be accessible to everyone.

Leading international figures have joined our editorial committee and will help us guarantee the quality of the publications that will be put online. The American Alzheimer’s researcher George Perry, from the University of Texas in San Antonio, has decided to join our team, as has Columbia University nephrologist Simone Sanna-Cherchi. We aim to publish our first research articles by the end of the year.

Why publish negative results?

One year ago, the four of us were sitting in an amphitheatre at Pierre and Marie Curie University, in Paris. A colleague was defending her PhD thesis there. In our field, a thesis represents three years of strenuous work spent between lab benches and computer screens.

The point is to verify an original hypothesis, which quickly leads to a multitude of secondary hypotheses that must also be tested. All these experiments must result in scientific publications if doctoral students want to earn recognition from the scientific community and to make progress. Their future careers largely depends on this.

On that day, the future doctor in biology passed with distinction. But, despite the quality of her research, she had failed to publish a single article in peer-reviewed journals. Why? Because the results she obtained did not confirm her starting hypothesis. She had invalidated her hypothesis, demonstrating that it was false.

Not duplicating experiments to no avail

It seemed inconceivable to us that this student’s considerable work and effort should leave no trace in the field of research and that no one beyond us, the audience of that day, should ever know that the lead this researcher had followed led to nowhere.

What if another researcher tried to undertake the same project tomorrow, only to end at the same impasse? In biology, taking into account the equipment and the researcher’s time, one year of research costs an average of €60,000. It is costly to duplicate fruitless experiments.

Negative Results emerged from the shared idea that there must be a way to avoid such waste. Publishers frequently say that “negative” data fails to draw readership and is therefore of little value to the journal because it limits its impact and citations. We are of a different opinion: even invalidated hypotheses must be made available to everyone.

On occasion, negative studies do get published, like JAMA’s debunking of cranberries’ medicinal uses. But it’s just the tip of the iceberg. According to a 2014 article in Nature, only 20% of negative studies see the light of day; the other 80% remain in the shadowy depths.

We do not deny the fact that some efforts have been made in recent years to overcome this difficulty. The open-access publication mode has reshaped the landscape of scientific publications. And, here and there, journals do accept negative results.

Pharmaceutical drugs

This is particularly true in pharmaceutical drug research. In that field, historically, clinical trials are considered an “advance” only when their final results allow the launch of new pharmaceutical drugs on the market.

But in 2007 the United States made it mandatory for pharmaceutical laboratories to publish the results of all their trials on a public register. The European Union voted for a similar ruling in 2014, but it is not yet in force.

Despite these improvements, the results are published as simple data, not as easy-to-understand, argued and annotated publications. In addition, this progress concerns only clinical studies. As for fundamental and pre-clinical studies, there is very little out there.

Ineffective or toxic molecules

The disdain for negative results lead to the impoverishment of scientific knowledge, and mobilises resources (time, personnel, money) in vain. These are regrettable, but there are worse implications, too.

Sometimes, the fact that negative results are not published constitutes an ethical breach. In the private sector, start-ups and pharma labs are conducting cell and tissue experiments to test certain molecules, only to find that they are ineffective, or even toxic. But more often than not, even though these results would further scientific knowledge, they are not published. Without having this information, how do we know the development of these molecules is stopped?

We might be idealists, but we are certainly not utopians. Rather than penalising researchers who produce negative results, or pointing a finger at them, we offer them a gratifying alternative. We hope that the creation of Negative Results will help people realise interest in all results, negative as well as positive.

We aim to provide a database that both researchers and pharmaceutical companies can consult to optimise their research. They will thus be able to meet the expectations of society, namely to further knowledge in all the fields of biology of the living, while preserving the health and integrity of patients who agree to participate in clinical trials.

The Conversation

About The Author

Rémi Thomasson, Docteur en sciences et techniques des aptitudes physiques et sportives, Université Paris Descartes – USPC and Antoine Muchir, chercheur à l'Institut de myologie, Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) – Sorbonne Universités

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Cranberry Cookbook: Year-Round Dishes From Bog to Table
healthy dietAuthor: Sally Pasley Vargas
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Globe Pequot Press
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

Cranberry Cookbook: Hassle-Free & Delicious Recipes that can be Made with Cranberries
healthy dietAuthor: Martha Stephenson
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $12.99

Buy Now

Joy of Cranberries: The Tangy Red Treat (Fruits & Favorites Cookbooks)
healthy dietBinding: Spiral-bound
Publisher: Adventure Publications
List Price: $12.95

Buy Now