10 تمتد لإبقائك مرتجلاً طوال حياتك وتغلب على "عدم المرونة"

10 تمتد لإبقائك مرتجلاً طوال حياتك وتغلب على "عدم المرونة"
الصورة عن طريق محمد حسن

(ملاحظة المحرر: على الرغم من أن كتابة هذه المقالة للحصول على الرجال، ومبادئ تطبق على كل من الرجل والمرأة.)

بشكل عام ، يكون الرجال أقل مرونة من النساء ، وهو موقف يضعنا في مجموعة متنوعة من المشاكل عندما نشيخ - من خلط العجوز (نتيجة عضلات مثنية الورك شديدة الضيق) إلى آلام أسفل الظهر وغيرها من التهيج آلام الجسم. لهذا السبب نحن على وشك كسب الكثير عن طريق إضافة تمتد إلى إجراءاتنا. (بالمناسبة ، واحدة من أفضل تمارين المرونة المتاحة هي اليوغا.)

فإن كثيرا من "المرونة" لدينا في أن تكون "رؤساء"، أو ربما لدينا في التركيب الجيني لدينا، من مخلفات الحرب أو استجابة الرحلة التي نحن الرجال يميلون إلى عقد التوتر في الوركين لدينا، والعضلات الألوية، وأوتار الركبة (عضلات كبيرة في ظهور أرجلنا) كما لو على وشك الربيع بعيدا في أي لحظة. عندما هيئتنا هي في هذا الوضع يميل إلى الأمام، فإنه يجعل ظهورنا العمل بجدية أكبر مما كانت عليه في، وخاصة إذا نحن تحمل شحنة أو أداء التمارين (مثل يتقرفص) أن مكان الحمل على العمود الفقري لدينا. النتيجة: آلام أسفل الظهر ومشاكل الظهر الأخرى.

وتمتد إلى التغلب على "عدم مرونة"

يمكن أن تمتد تساعدك على التغلب على هذه النزعة المتأصلة، ولكن معظم الناس - خاصة الرجال - تميل إلى أن تبخل على هذا الجانب من التدريبات الخاصة بهم. في هذا السياق بالالتزام روتين المرونة، ومع ذلك، يمكنك منع الإصابات التي يمكن في الواقع تهميش كنت في سنوات لاحقة، وبدلا من الاستمرار في استخدام الجسم بشكل كامل، لأنك سوف الحفاظ على أكبر مجموعة من الاقتراح في العضلات والمفاصل.

وهذا هو السبب وتمتد الآن روتينية لجميع الرياضيين - وينبغي أن تكون روتينية بالنسبة لنا جميعا. معظم المدربين ومدربي العاب القوى السائدة تعليم مساحات التي يتم اشتقاق من اليوغا يشكل، سواء للرياضيين أدرك ذلك أم لا. بعض المدربين تقديم تقييم مرونة، والتي يمكن أن تساعد في تحديد أي أجزاء من الجسم تحتاج إلى عناية خاصة. في كثير من الأحيان، فهي المناطق التي عانت من بعض الإصابات السابقة أو الإهانة المتكررة - الكفة التي مزقتها من رحلة تزلج عدة سنوات إلى الوراء، إلى إصابة كرة القدم من الكلية، والجزء الخلفي شديدة من عدد كبير جدا من ساعة من التحديق في شاشة الكمبيوتر.

منهجي وآمن التدريبات التي تمتد

فإن أفضل المدربين مساعدتك تمتد أطرافه الخاص بك عن طريق دفع أبعد مما كنت قد تأخذها لنفسك، على الرغم من انها ليست فكرة جيدة السماح لشخص غير مدرب القيام بذلك نيابة عنك، لأنه يمكن أن يؤدي إلى وقوع إصابات. وأنا شخصيا قد وجدت باستخدام آلة تمتد مفيدة جدا في عمل تمتد منهجية وآمنة، وأنا أمر آلة لأقل من دولار 500 أن رأى الإعلان الأول في مجلة وأنها عملت بشكل جيد بالنسبة لي.

هناك المئات من تمتد التدريبات. وأفضل برنامج دمج تمتد لجميع المجموعات الخاصة بك العضلات الرئيسية. لقد قمنا في عدد من الخيارات الجيدة في الصفحات التالية. أيهما كنت تستخدم، وهنا بعض الأشياء أن نأخذ في الاعتبار.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


  • لا تمدد عندما تكون باردًا. كثير من الناس يجرحون أنفسهم من خلال إطلاق في امتداد قوي دون الاحماء أولا. العضلة الباردة لا تملك الكثير من العطاء وإذا حاولت إجبارها ، فقد ينتهي بك الأمر إلى إجهاد عضلة أو تمزق الرباط بدلا من ذلك. (وهذا هو السبب في أن عادة ما يتم الاحتفاظ استوديوهات اليوغا في 80 درجة فهرنهايت أو أكثر دفئا.) قبل التمدد ، والمشي أو الركض ببطء لبضع دقائق للحصول على جسمك الدافئ ويتدفق الدم إلى عضلاتك.

  • التنفس كما تقصد ذلك. يميل الأمريكيون إلى تحطيم كل نشاط في الأجزاء المكونة له ، لذا سيمتدون ولكن لا يتنفسون. لكن التحكم في التنفس هو جزء لا يتجزأ من التمدد (واليوغا) لأنه يساعدك على عمل عضلاتك بشكل أكثر فعالية. أثناء التمدد ، تأكد من الاستمرار في التنفس بعمق في جميع أنحاء امتداد. يساعدك الهدوء الناتج على الاسترخاء في كل مكان والحصول على المزيد من كل خطوة.

  • خذها ببساطة. المرونة نسبية والتغيرات من يوم لآخر ومن ساعة إلى ساعة. تريد تمديد العضلات وليس الأربطة ، ويجب عليك القيام بذلك ببطء. (يتحدث اليوغيون عن "احتضان العظم" الذي يقصدون من خلاله التعاقد العضلي ، والتعرف على طوله بالكامل قبل محاولة استطالته.) وفي نهاية المطاف ، مع التمدد المنتظم ، ستظل عضلاتك أكثر مرونة وأكثر مرونة. ولكنك تستطيع أيضًا أن تفرط في التمدد ، مما يجعل الأربطة مفيدة مثل شريط مطاطي ممتد. هناك الكثير من أحزمة الكاراتيه السوداء التي كانت في يوم من الأيام فخورة بالانقسامات التي يمكن أن تقوم بها وهي الآن تقترب مثل الرجال المسنين.

  • لا تفكر حتى في التنافس. في مقابلة تلفزيونية حديثة ، تحدث زوج من الشخصيات الذكورية عن حضور دروس اليوغا معا. أشار أحدهم بإصبعه إلى الآخر ، وبصوت عدواني ، "سأركل مؤخرتك في اليوغا!" كانت لحظة كوميدي ، ولكن مثل معظم لحظات كهذه تحمل الكثير من الحقيقة. يميل الرجال إلى البحث عن الهدف النهائي ، والتفكير في الوصول إلى الأرض بأطراف أصابعهم بدلاً من تحديد مدى ضيق أرجلهم وظهرهم. إن التمدد ليس حدثًا تنافسيًا ، وإذا حاولت أن تجعله واحدًا ، فستكون هناك احتمالية أن تصيب نفسك.

  • اسمح لنفسك بالاسترخاء. تمتد هي يين إلى يانغ تدريب القوة. بدلًا من دفع نفسك للتمدد ، اسمح لنفسك بالاسترخاء فيه ، والذهاب فقط بقدر ما يمكن لجسمك أن يرحل. (لا ترتد أو تمدد الباليستية.) ثم تنفس. سوف تكون مندهشًا من الشعور بالحيوية التي تشعر بها عندما تنتهي.

  • عقد كل امتداد 20 إلى 30 ثانية. من خلال البقاء على امتداد لفترة طويلة ، يمكنك إعطاء عضلاتك الوقت للرد وإطالة. أي وقت أقصر وأنت قد تضيع وقتك.

10 تمتد الى ابقاء لكم مقدمة عربة المدفع

هنا تمتد 10 التي من شأنها أن تساعد على إبقاء كنت رشيق طوال حياتك. منذ أن أدخلت تمتد إلى ممارسة روتينية بلدي، لقد لاحظت مرونة أكبر في جسدي للأنشطة اليومية مثل تحول رقبتي للتحقق من حركة قدوم عند مفترق طرق. أنا فعلا استخدام آلة تمتد المستخدمة من قبل لاعبي الغولف، والتي أعلن عنها في العديد من المجلات الغولف. أجد روتين الجهاز، الذي أقوم به في حوالي دقيقة بعد دقيقة 5 بلدي 25 المعتاد على الجهاز عبر بلدي، هو وسيلة سهلة للغاية ومنظم على امتداد كل ما عندي من مجموعات العضلات الرئيسية. ومع ذلك، يمكنك تحقيق نفس الهدف مع التمارين البسيطة، مثل ما يلي.

وتمتد هذه تركز على أجزاء الجسم حيث الرجال الاستمرار على معظم التوتر - الوركين والظهر وأوتار الركبة. تذكر في عملية الاحماء قبل تمتد الخاص بك، ويجب الحرص على عدم دفع عضلاتك أكثر من اللازم.

1. تمتد الكتف. عقد حزام أو ربطة عنق فوق رأسك مع المرفقين الخاص بك على التوالي ويديك عن عرض الكتف بعيدا. ابق معاصمك مستقيمة وسحبها بلطف دون أن تجتاحها بإحكام بحيث تتحول مفاصلك إلى اللون الأبيض. عقد بعيدا 10 بعيدا على الأقل (وهذا هو مدى حاجة العضلات لتمتد مع أي أهمية). احتفظ بها لمدة 30 من ثانية إلى دقيقة إذا كنت تريد المزيد من المرونة ؛ تحسينات تميل إلى التقليل بعد ذلك. ثم ، قم بتوسيع قبضتك على الحزام ، مع الحفاظ على السحب ، اترك يد واحدة تسقط خلفك ببطء نحو ارتفاع الخصر. رفع كلتا اليدين والسماح للجهة الأخرى أن تسقط خلفك ، نحو ارتفاع الخصر. أخيرًا ، خفّض كلتا يديك خلفك وأمسك بالتمدد. يجب أن تشعر بفتح شفرات كتفك.

2. اوتار الركبة والظهر. استلق مع ظهرك مسطّحًا على الأرض والساقين على الحائط. قد لا تكون قادرًا على تقويم ساقيك تمامًا. فقط تصويبهم حتى تشعر بتمدد لطيف في ظهرك وأوتار الركبة. هذا هو امتداد أكثر سلبية من امتداد في اوتار الركبة مع الحزام الذي يتبع - وامتداد أوتار المأبض. لتعميق التمدد ، تكمن داخل مدخل مفتوح ، مع رفع ساقك على الحائط. لزيادة التمدد ، اسحبي نفسك خارج الباب ، باتجاه قدميك ، وأنت تترك ساقك على الحائط. سهل يفعل ذلك ، على الرغم من.

3. اوتار الركبة مع الحزام. أثناء الاستلقاء على ظهرك ، حافظ على ساقك اليمنى مباشرة على الأرض وعانق ركبتك اليسرى إلى صدرك. قم بفك حزام حول قدمك اليسرى عند قاعدة أصابع قدميك. قم بتصويب ساقك اليسرى وسحبها على الحزام حتى تأتي القدم على صدرك أو رأسك. (إذا شدّ ظهرك وأقواسك عند رفع ساقك اليسرى ، قم بثني ركبتك اليمنى واسترخي القدم اليمنى على الأرض). هذه واحدة من أفضل تمارين أوتار الركبة التي يمكنك القيام بها - أفضل من تلك التي تفعلها أثناء الوقوف . لإضافة امتداد الفخذ الداخلي ، استمر في سحب الحزام مع ترك ساقك اليسرى تنجرف للخارج. ثم التبديل الأيدي وخفض الساق نحو الداخل لتمتد الورك الخارجي. لا تلمس القدم على الأرض ؛ النقطة ليست للوصول إلى الأرض (التي سترفع الساق الأخرى عن الأرض) ولكن لتذوق الامتدادات وزيادة قدرتك على التوازن في جذعك.

في حين تمتد، ومحاولة للتنفس داخل البطن بحيث تشعر ظهرك التوسع والتعاقد مع كل نفس. يجب أن تشعر بآثار في الوركين والظهر، واحتل القطنية (في الجزء الأمامي من الفخذ)، وكذلك في أوتار الركبة الخاص بك. كرر على الجانب الآخر.

4. عجل تمتد. تواجه خطوة ، مع قدمك اليمنى بقوة على الخطوة ، وترتيب قدمك اليسرى بحيث يكون النصف الأمامي من القدم على حافة الخطوة ، مع النصف الخلفي شنقا قبالة الحافة. عندما تكون متوازناً ، دع الكعب الأيسر يتساقط بحيث تشعر بتمدد في الجزء الخلفي من ساقك اليسرى. لا ترتد - فقط حافظ على امتداد مدة 10 إلى 30 ثانية. ثم التبديل وتمتد الساق اليمنى.

5. العمود الفقري الإمتداد. الاستلقاء على ظهرك مع ساقيك على التوالي ، أصابع مدببة ، والأذرع تمتد فوق ، والنخيل معا. صخرة ذراعيك بلطف صعودا وهبوطاً في قوس قصير 8- إلى 12-inch. ستشعر بعمودك الفقري الممتد بين ريش الكتف.

6. مواجهة لأسفل الكلب. بدءا من يديك وركبتيك ، ارفع مؤخرتك بحيث يشكل جسمك رأسا على عقب. حاول أن تصحح عمودك الفقري بحيث لا يتم تدوير أسفل ظهرك. إذا كان لديك سلاسل لحم الخنزير الضيقة ، ربما لن تتمكن من وضع كعبك على الأرض على الفور. لبناء المرونة بوتيرة معقولة في هذا الموقف ، ثني ركبة واحدة وتصويب الساق الأخرى ، وتخفيف الكعب نحو الأرض. انتظر لمدة 10 ثانية وبديل. دع وزن جسمك العلوي يستقر عند قاعدة أصابعك ، وليس راحة يديك. يوغي يسمى هذا "الكلب المتجه لأسفل".

7. أخيل تمدد. ثني الركبة مرة واحدة والرجوع مع الساق الأخرى للوصول إلى وضع الاندفاع ، مع قدمك الأمامية بين يديك والساق الخلفية عازمة قليلاً أو مستقيمة ومتعامدة على الأرض. استرخ الورك الخلفي. خفض الكتف نحو الأرض إذا كنت ترغب في إضافة امتداد أعمق للأربية. كرر على الجانب الآخر.

8. الفخذ الداخلية تمتد. اجلس على الأرض مباشرة واضعي باطن القدمين أمامك. لف يديك حول كاحليك وادفع برفق على فخذيك باستخدام مرفقيك. تجنب توتر الجزء العلوي من جسمك للقيام بذلك. اسمحوا الجاذبية ووزن مرفقيك فتح الفخذين.

9. الورك والظهر تمتد. اجلس بشكل مريح على الأرض مع ساقك اليمنى أعلى يسارك. انحني الجزء العلوي من جسمك للأمام وامش قدميك أمامك. إذا كان لديك ما يكفي من المرونة ، ضع كلا المرفقين على الأرض. انحني للأمام حتى تشعر بتمدد لطيف في الوركين والظهر ، ثم توقف. عكس ساقيك ، ووضع الساق اليسرى في الأعلى ، وتكرار

10. الإعصار تمتد. اجلس على الأرض مع ساقك اليمنى أمامك ، ثم عازمة الساق اليسرى ، والقدم اليسرى مسطحة على الأرض على السطح الخارجي للركبة اليمنى. ضع يدك اليسرى خلفك وقم بالتواء على خصرك بعيداً عن ركبتك. إذا كنت تستطيع ، ضع ذراعك اليمنى على الجزء الخارجي من ركبتك اليسرى. كرر على الجانب الآخر.

© 2002. أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
هايبريون. http://www.hyperionbooks.com

المادة المصدر

الدكتور تيموثي جونسون على دليل الدعوة لصحة الرجال ،
جونسون تيموثي د.

الدكتور تيموثي جونسون في الدليل دعوة لصحة الرجلمن الدكتور تيموثي جونسون ، السلطة الصحية المحترمة والمراسل الطبي لـ ABC News ، يأتي دليل شامل يمكن الوصول إليه للعافية الرجالية التي لا يجب أن يخلوها أي إنسان. بالاعتماد على التقنيات الطبية المتطورة والخبراء الطبيين الرائدين والحسابات المباشرة ، فإنه يوفر للرجال من جميع الأعمار إرشادات للبقاء بصحة جيدة ، لتطوير علاقات جيدة مع أطبائهم ، والتعامل بفعالية مع المخاوف الطبية عند ظهورها.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب

كتب ذات صلة

عن المؤلف

الدكتور تيموثي جونسون

الدكتور تيموثي جونسون هو المحرر الطبي لـ ABC News ويظهر بانتظام في World News Tonight و Nightline و Good Morning America و 20 / 20. وهو يشغل مناصب مشتركة في الطب في جامعة هارفارد ومستشفى ماساتشوستس العام في بوسطن ، وهو المحرر المؤسس لكتاب الصحة في كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد ومعاون كتاب كتاب الصحة في كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد.

معلومات إضافية

تمت إضافة التالي إلى المقالة الأصلية لمعلوماتك ، بواسطة InnerSelf.com

فيديو: تمتد لإيقاف الترهل مع د. ترافيس ستورك

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

10 Stretches To Keep You Limber Throughout Your Life

10 Stretches To Keep You Limber Throughout Your Life

(Editor's Note: While this article is written for men, the principles apply to both men and women.)

In general, men are less flexible than women, a situation that sets us up for a variety of problems when we age -- from the old-man shuffle (the result of too-tight hip flexor muscles) to low back pain and other irritating body aches. That's why we stand to gain so much by adding stretching to our routines. (By the way, one of the best flexibility workouts available is yoga.)

Much of our "inflexibility" may be in our "heads," or maybe in our genetic makeup, a relic of the fight or flight response in which we men tend to hold tension in our hips, gluteal muscles, and hamstrings (the big muscles at the backs of our legs) as if poised to spring away at any moment. When our body is in that forward leaning position, it makes our back work harder than it has to, especially if we're carrying a load or performing exercises (like squats) that place a load on our spine. The result: low back pain and other back problems.

Stretching to Overcome "Inflexibility"

Stretching can help you overcome this inherent tendency, but most people -- men especially -- tend to skimp on this facet of their workouts. By committing to a flexibility routine, however, you can actually prevent injuries that can sideline you in later years and instead continue to use your body more fully, because you'll maintain greater range of motion in your muscles and joints.

That's why stretching is now routine for all athletes -- and should be a routine for all of us. Most mainstream coaches and athletic trainers teach stretches that are derived from yoga poses, whether the athletes realize it or not. Some trainers offer a flexibility assessment, which can help determine which parts of your body need particular attention. Often, they are areas that suffered some previous injury or repeated insult -- the torn rotator cuff from a ski trip several years back, the football injury from college, the stiff back from too many hours of staring at a computer screen.

Systematic and Safe Stretching Exercises

The best trainers will help you stretch out by pushing your limbs farther than you could take them yourself, though it's not a good idea to let an untrained person do this for you, because it could result in injury. I personally have found using a stretching machine very helpful in doing systematic and safe stretching; I ordered a machine for under $500 that I saw advertised in a magazine and it has worked well for me.

There are literally hundreds of stretching exercises. The best program will incorporate stretches for all of your main muscle groups. We've listed a number of good options on the next pages. Whichever you use, here are some things to keep in mind.

  • Don't stretch when you're cold. Many people hurt themselves by launching into a vigorous stretch without warming up first. A cold muscle doesn't have a lot of give and if you try to force it, you may end up straining a muscle or tearing a ligament instead. (That's why yoga studios are usually kept at 80 degrees Fahrenheit or warmer.) Before you stretch, walk or jog slowly for a few minutes to get your body warm and the blood flowing to your muscles.

  • Breathe like you mean it. Americans tend to break every activity into its component parts, so they'll stretch but not breathe. But breath control is an integral part of stretching (and yoga) because it helps you work your muscles more effectively. While you're stretching, make sure you continue to breathe deeply throughout the stretch. The resultant calm helps you relax all over and get more from each move.

  • Take it easy. Flexibility is relative and changes from day to day and hour to hour. You want to stretch muscle, not ligaments, and you have to do so slowly. (Yogis talk about "embracing the bone," by which they mean contracting the muscle, becoming aware of its whole length before trying to elongate it.) Eventually, with regular stretching, your muscles will stay looser and more flexible. But you can overstretch, too, which makes ligaments about as useful as a stretched out elastic band. There are plenty of karate black belts who were once proud of the splits they could do and are now hobbling around like old men.

  • Don't even think about competing. On a recent television sit-com, a pair of male characters talked about attending yoga class together. One pointed a finger at the other, and in an aggressive voice blurted out, "I'll kick your ass in yoga!" It was a comic moment, but like most such moments bore a lot of truth. Men tend to look for the end goal, thinking about reaching the floor with their fingertips rather than about how tight their legs and back are as they reach. Stretching is not a competitive event, and if you try to make it one, chances are you'll injure yourself.

  • Let yourself relax. Stretching is the yin to the strength-training yang. Instead of pushing yourself into a stretch, allow yourself to relax into it, going only as far as your body can comfortably go. (Don't ever bounce or do ballistic stretches.) Then breathe. You'll be amazed at how rejuvenated you feel when you're done.

  • Hold each stretch 20 to 30 seconds. By staying in a stretch for that long, you give your muscles time to respond and lengthen. Any shorter time and you may be wasting your time.

10 Stretches To Keep You Limber

Here are 10 stretches that will help keep you limber throughout your life. Since I have introduced stretching into my exercise routine, I have noticed much more flexibility in my body for everyday activities such as turning my neck to check oncoming traffic at an intersection. I actually use a stretching machine used by many golfers and advertised in golfing magazines. I find the machine routine, which I do in about 5 minutes after my usual 25 minutes on my cross-country machine, is a very easy and organized way to stretch all my major muscle groups. However, you can accomplish the same goal with simple exercises, such as the following.

These stretches focus on the body parts where men hold the most tension -- the hips, back and hamstrings. Remember to warm up before your stretch, and be careful not to push your muscles too far.

1. Shoulder Stretch. Hold a belt or necktie above your head with your elbows straight and your hands about shoulder-width apart. Keep your wrists straightened and pull gently without gripping so tightly that your knuckles turn white. Hold far at least 10 seconds (that's how long muscles need to stretch with any significance). Hold it for 30 seconds to a minute if you want even more flexibility; improvements tend to diminish after that. Then, widen your grip on the belt and, while maintaining the pull, allow one hand to drop slowly behind you to about waist height. Raise both hands and allow the other hand to drop behind you, to about waist height. Finally, lower both hands behind you and hold the stretch. You should feel your shoulder blades opening.

2. Hamstring and Back Stretch. Lie with your back flat on the floor and your legs up against a wall. You may not be able to straighten your legs completely. Just straighten them until you feel a gentle stretch in your back and hamstrings. This is a more passive stretch than the hamstring stretch with the belt that follows -- and a great starter hamstring stretch. To deepen the stretch, lie inside an open doorway, with your leg up on the wall. To increase the stretch, scoot yourself further out the door, toward your feet, as you leave your leg up against the wall. Easy does it, though.

3. Hamstring Stretch with Belt. While lying on your back, keep your right leg straight on the floor and hug your left knee to your chest. Loop a belt around your left foot at the base of your toes. Straighten your left leg and pull on the belt so the foot comes over your chest or head. (If your lower back tightens and arches as you raise your left leg, bend your right knee and rest the right foot on the floor.) This is one of the best hamstring stretches you can do -- better than the ones you do while standing. To add an inner thigh stretch, keep pulling on the belt while letting your left leg drift open to the outside. Then switch hands and lower the leg toward the inside to stretch the outer hip. Don't touch the foot to the floor; the point is not to reach all the way to the ground (which would lift the other leg off the ground) but to savor the stretches and increase your ability to balance in your torso.

While stretching, try to breathe into your abdomen so you feel your back expanding and contracting with each breath. You should feel the effects in your hips and back, quads and psoas (in the front of the hip), as well as in your hamstrings. Repeat on the other side.

4. Calf Stretch. Facing a step, with your right foot firmly on the step, arrange your left foot so that the front half of the foot is on the edge of the step, with the back half hanging off the edge. Once you're balanced, let the left heel drop so that you feel the stretch in the back of your left leg. Don't bounce -- just maintain the stretch for 10 to 30 seconds. Then switch and stretch the right leg.

5. Spine Stretch. Lie flat on your back with your legs straight, toes pointed, and arms stretched overhead, palms together. Gently rock your arms up and down in a short 8- to 12-inch arc. You'll feel your spine stretching between the shoulder blades.

6. Downward Facing Dog. Starting on your hands and knees, raise your butt so that your body forms an upside-down Y. Try to straighten your spine so that your lower back is not rounded. If you have tight ham strings, you probably won't be able to put your heels on the floor right away. To build flexibility at a sensible pace in this position, bend one knee and straighten the other leg, easing the heel toward the ground. Hold for 10 seconds and alternate. Let the weight of your upper body rest at the base of your fingers, not the palm of your hands. Yogis call this "downward facing dog."

7. Achilles Stretch. Bend one knee and step back with the other leg to get into a lunge position, with your front foot between your hands and your back leg slightly bent or straight and perpendicular to the floor. Relax the back hip. Lower your shoulder toward the ground if you'd like to add a deeper stretch for the groin. Repeat on the other side.

8. Inner Thigh Stretch. Sit up straight on the floor and place the soles of your feet together in front of you. Wrap your hands around your ankles and gently push down on your thighs with your elbows. Avoid tensing your upper body to do this. Let gravity and the weight of your elbows open your thighs.

9. Hip and Back Stretch. Sit comfortably cross-legged on the floor with your right leg on top of your left. Lean your upper body forward and walk your arms out in front of you. If you have enough flexibility, place both elbows on the floor. Lean forward until you feel a gentle stretch in the hips and back, then stop. Reverse your legs, placing the left leg on top, and repeat

10. Twister Stretch. Sit on the floor with your right leg in front of you and your left leg bent, left foot flat on the floor on the outside of your right knee. Place your left hand behind you and twist at your waist away from your knee. If you can, place your right arm on the outside of your left knee. Repeat on the other side.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Hyperion. http://www.hyperionbooks.com

Recommended Book:

This article is excerpted with permission from the book:

Dr. Timothy Johnson's On Call Guide To Men's Health, ©2002,
by Dr. Timothy Johnson.

Dr. Timothy Johnson's On Call Guide To Men's HealthFrom Dr. Timothy Johnson, respected health authority and medical correspondent for ABC News, comes a comprehensive, accessible guide to men's wellness that no man should be without. Drawing on cutting-edge medical techniques, leading medical experts, and first-hand accounts, he provides men of all ages with guidelines for staying healthy, for developing good relationships with their doctors, and for dealing effectively with medical concerns as they arise.

Info/Order this book

About the Author

Dr. Timothy Johnson

Dr. Timothy Johnson is the medical editor for ABC News and appears regularly on World News Tonight, Nightline, Good Morning America, and 20/20. He holds joint positions in medicine at Harvard University and Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, and is the founding editor of the Harvard Medical School Health Letter and coeditor of the Harvard Medical School Health Letter Book. He lives in the Boston area.