مسح الدماغ قد يتوقع أفضل علاج للاكتئاب

مسح الدماغ قد يتوقع أفضل علاج للاكتئابقد تساعد أنماط معينة من النشاط على فحوصات الدماغ الأطباء على تحديد ما إذا كان العلاج النفسي أو الأدوية المضادة للاكتئاب أكثر قدرة على مساعدة المريض على التعافي من الاكتئاب.

لإجراء دراسة جديدة ، قام الباحثون بتعيين المرضى بشكل عشوائي إلى أسابيع العلاج 12 مع واحد من اثنين من الأدوية المضادة للاكتئاب أو مع العلاج السلوكي المعرفي (CBT). في بداية الدراسة ، خضع المرضى لفحص دقيق للدماغ بالرنين المغناطيسي ، والذي تم تحليله بعد ذلك لمعرفة ما إذا كانت النتيجة ل CBT أو الدواء تعتمد على حالة الدماغ قبل بدء العلاج.

"جميع المنخفضات ليست متساوية ، ومثل أنواع مختلفة من السرطان ، فإن أنواع مختلفة من الاكتئاب تتطلب علاجات محددة."

حدد مسح التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي أن درجة التواصل الوظيفي بين مركز معالجة العواطف الهامة (القشرة الحزامية تحت الترقوة) وثلاث مناطق أخرى من الدماغ كانت مرتبطة بنتائج المعالجة.

على وجه التحديد ، كان المرضى الذين لديهم اتصال إيجابي بين مناطق الدماغ أكثر احتمالا بكثير لتحقيق مغفرة مع العلاج المعرفي السلوكي ، في حين أن المرضى الذين يعانون من الاتصال السلبي أو الغائب كانوا أكثر عرضة للتحويل مع الأدوية المضادة للاكتئاب.

تقول هيلين مايبيرغ ، أستاذة الطب النفسي ، وطب الأعصاب والأشعة في كلية الطب بجامعة إيموري: "إن جميع المنخفضات ليست متساوية ، ومثل أنواع السرطان المختلفة ، فإن أنواع مختلفة من الاكتئاب تتطلب علاجات محددة". "باستخدام هذه الفحوصات ، قد نتمكن من مضاهاة المريض بالعلاج الذي من المرجح أن يساعده ، مع تجنب العلاجات التي لا يُرجح لها أن تقدم فائدة".

يوصي إرشادات العلاج الحالية للاكتئاب الرئيسية أن يتم النظر في تفضيل المريض للعلاج النفسي أو الدواء في اختيار نهج العلاج الأولي. ومع ذلك ، في الدراسة الجديدة ، كانت تفضيلات المرضى مرتبطة بضعف فقط مع النتائج. التفضيلات توقع انسحاب العلاج ولكن ليس التحسن.

وتتفق هذه النتائج مع الدراسات السابقة ، مما يشير إلى أن تحقيق علاج شخصي للمرضى المصابين بالاكتئاب يعتمد أكثر على تحديد الخصائص البيولوجية المحددة في المرضى بدلا من الاعتماد على أعراضهم أو تفضيلات العلاج. تشير النتائج إلى أن فحوصات الدماغ قد تقدم أفضل طريقة لتخصيص العلاج في المستقبل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


للدراسة، التي نشرت في المجلة الأمريكية للطب النفسيقام الباحثون بتوظيف مرضى 344 الذين يتكونون من مجموعة أكثر تنوعًا من المرضى مقارنة بالدراسات السابقة الأخرى - نصفهم تم تعريفهم بأنفسهم على أنهم أمريكيون من أصل أفريقي أو من أصل إسباني.

وأوضحت بودي دنلوب ، مديرة برنامج اضطرابات المزاج والقلق لدى إيموري: "أظهرت عينة متنوعة لدينا أن العلاج النفسي القائم على الأدلة والعلاجات الدوائية الموصى بها كعلاجات أولية للاكتئاب يمكن أن تمتد بثقة أكبر من السكان البيض وغير اللاتينيين".

في نهاية المطاف ، أظهرت دراساتنا أن الخصائص السريرية ، مثل العمر ونوع الجنس ، وما إلى ذلك ، وحتى تفضيلات المرضى فيما يتعلق بالعلاج ، ليست جيدة في تحديد نتائج العلاج المحتملة مثل قياس الدماغ.

جورج إدوارد كريغيد ، أستاذ الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية هو أحد المؤلفين المشاركين للدراسة. منحت المنح من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة العمل.

مصدر: جامعة إيموري

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = علاج الاكتئاب ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

A Brain Scan May Predict Best Depression Treatment

 A Brain Scan May Predict Best Depression TreatmentSpecific patterns of activity on brain scans may help clinicians identify whether psychotherapy or antidepressant medication is more likely to help a patient recover from depression.

For a new study, researchers randomly assigned patients to 12 weeks of treatment with one of two antidepressant medications or with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT). At the start of the study, patients underwent a functional MRI brain scan, which was then analyzed to see whether the outcome to CBT or medication depended on the state of the brain prior to starting treatment.

“All depressions are not equal and, like different types of cancer, different types of depression will require specific treatments.”

The MRI scans identified that the degree of functional connectivity between an important emotion processing center (the subcallosal cingulate cortex) and three other areas of the brain was associated with the treatment outcomes.

Specifically, patients with positive connectivity between the brain regions were significantly more likely to achieve remission with CBT, whereas patients with negative or absent connectivity were more likely to remit with antidepressant medication.

“All depressions are not equal and, like different types of cancer, different types of depression will require specific treatments,” says Helen Mayberg, professor of psychiatry, neurology and radiology at Emory University School of Medicine. “Using these scans, we may be able to match a patient to the treatment that is most likely to help them, while avoiding treatments unlikely to provide benefit.”

Current treatment guidelines for major depression recommend that a patient’s preference for psychotherapy or medication be considered in selecting the initial treatment approach. However, in the new study, patients’ preferences were only weakly associated with outcomes; preferences predicted treatment drop-out but not improvement.

These results are consistent with prior studies, suggesting that achieving personalized treatment for depressed patients will depend more on identifying specific biological characteristics in patients rather than relying on their symptoms or treatment preferences. The findings suggest brain scans may offer the best approach for personalizing treatment going forward.

For the study, published in the American Journal of Psychiatry, researchers recruited 344 patients made up of a for more diverse group of patients than other previous studies—roughly half self-identified as African-American or Hispanic.

“Our diverse sample demonstrated that the evidence-based psychotherapy and medication treatments recommended as first line treatments for depression can be extended with confidence beyond a white, non-Hispanic population,” says Boadie Dunlop, director of the Emory Mood and Anxiety Disorders Program.

“Ultimately our studies show that clinical characteristics, such as age, gender, etc., and even patients’ preferences regarding treatment, are not as good at identifying likely treatment outcomes as the brain measurement,” adds Mayberg.

W. Edward Craighead, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences is a coauthor of the study. Grants from the National Institutes of Health funded the work.

Source: Emory University

Related Books

Overcoming Depression: A Cognitive Therapy Approach (Treatments That Work)
healthAuthor: Mark Gilson
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Oxford University Press
List Price: $30.95

Buy Now

Depression: Causes and Treatment, 2nd Edition
healthAuthor: Aaron T. Beck
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press
List Price: $27.50

Buy Now

Depression: A Teen’s Guide to Survive and Thrive
healthAuthor: Jacqueline B. Toner
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Magination Press
List Price: $14.95

Buy Now